RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Let's pray Ullrich comes back , Lance needs him, we all do(10 posts)

Let's pray Ullrich comes back , Lance needs him, we all doDjudd
Jul 26, 2002 1:18 PM
I love the tour, and love seeing it live. However, we need some kind of drama, so does LA. I thought the early stages would see a few riders do a Chiapucci and attack out of the blue, because there is no other way to rattle Armstrong. Instead no one did anything out of the ordinary and the Posties took the peloton apart like a young Muhammad Ali.
I hope someone emerges the remainder of the season or early next to at least take chance. If not hopefully Ullrich will get his stuff together and mount a real challenge.
Ullrich no different than Beloki...biknben
Jul 26, 2002 1:42 PM
This years tour looks the same as last. This year, Beloki has taken Ullrich's place. Last year, Ulrich matched armstrong's pace and then watched as he rode away.

Other big names aren't willing to train specifically for only one race. They're not willing to bet it all on the TDF with the risk of coming up short to LA. They rather try for the Giro and Vuelta. The gap between them allows recovery time. If they come up short in the Giro they can alter their training for the Vuelta.

This is the first year I really paid attention to the Giro. I found it really entertaining. There were dramatic changes in the GC every day (especially with the guys getting booted). The race went down to the wire and an unexpected rider took it all. Now that's how racing should be.

I'm growing tired of LA's one race per year schedule. Those two June races are clearly just training. I think many other riders could be as great and explosive as he is if they were willing to give everything for the TDF.

Lance is a great rider but he should be great for more than three weeks per year.
As contrasted with you, or me?morrison
Jul 26, 2002 3:07 PM
Come, now, and be sensible. This man has extraordinary gifts that we cannot begin to understand. Is competition more exciting? Sometimes, but pure mastery is fun to watch.

My apologies to those of you who may have ridden at the professional level, but for the majority of us, the worst of those on tour are better than the best of us on line. Every woman and man has her and his weaknesses, and each of us has our strengths as well. In my ever so humble opinion, the greatest of strengths is knowing one's own weaknesses, and if Mssr. Armstrong knows that he cannot race all year and still win the TDF, all the power to him.

Geoff
Competition is much more compelling than mastery...Djudd
Jul 26, 2002 3:25 PM
and the main reason to watch the tour (my own main reason), though there are others. LA'S extraordinary gifts would be much more on display if there were a rival.
Competition is much more compelling than mastery...Pecos
Jul 26, 2002 4:59 PM
"LA'S extraordinary gifts would be much more on display if there were a rival."

Sort of like the Tiger Woods arguement. He too has no real rival other than himself. He wins and loses on his own terms. Unlike a Jack Nicholas who had many great golfers to beat like Arnold, Gary Player, Tom Watson - all many time champions.

It would make life more interesting if LA had someone on his level, but that doesn't appear to be the case. So just sit back and appreciate his mastery for what it's worth because some day there may be just a bunch of domestiques out there vying for the Yellow Jersey.
agreecyclopathic
Jul 26, 2002 4:09 PM
no doubt mnt stage winners held back at the beginning to let Lance build 20min+ lead. If all you can get safely is a stage win that's the sure way to get Posties off your back. Look at Beloki, did he win any stage?

Tour is boring, noone but ONCE was even trying to challenge Lance, at least last year we had Ulrich. I'm afraid tour won't get interesting 'till Lance retire or some french nobody can and dare to outclimb Heras/Armstrong train. If you wanna watch real racing Giro or Vuelta is a better choice.
agree...notbic
Jul 26, 2002 6:02 PM
How about the fact that most teams are just doing a poor job. Where are the tactics? What happened to ONCE attacking with it's great climbers? It's not only about Lance! I say it's a great Tour. A lack of competition, yes. But not only in the cycling sense but every team has been out trained, out ridden, and out psyched. MS
re: team tactics?cyclopathic
Jul 27, 2002 5:52 AM
'02 tour tactics were
- give Lance the win and let him build 20-60min surplus
- attack early and hold on for the stage win

noone even thought about challenging Lance/Postal, all teams but ONCE were riding for a stage wins. Teams who had good sprinters were betting on flat stage final sprint, climbers on saving legs and early attack. Since Lance needed to build his lead they gave him first mnt stages. It was obvious Postal wouldn't let you if you were too close to Lance in standing, so "contenders" were falling of the bikes doing trackstands while Heras would blow by in first mnt stages. This is so cheesy. At least in Giro more then 2 teams were riding for win
StupidLazywriter
Jul 26, 2002 7:03 PM
remark. The other guys ride those other races becasue they know they cannot win the TDF. They have a better chance to win those races and increase their "value" to the team, sponsors and contracts knowing that all but one man will actually win the TDF. If they really thought they could win the tour by concentrating on the TDF only WHY WOULDN'T THEY DO IT???? It would be their best career move ever as one TDF win is better than any other achievement they could possibly make.
And most cyclists do "concentrate" on certain races that they think they have a shot of winning. Be it Vuelta, or the Giro. If it were that "easy" to do (simply concentrating on 3 weeks), then the TDF should have new winners each year as once a good thing is let out of the bag, everyone else follows suit. Rethink you theory.
My remark was to Biknben BTW. nmLazywriter
Jul 26, 2002 7:05 PM