RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Re; Jonathan Boyer.(9 posts)

Re; Jonathan Boyer.Len J
Jul 25, 2002 5:07 AM
Article in Velo news:
http://www.velonews.com/news/fea/2796.0.html

Boyer faces molestation charge

By VeloNews Interactive

This report filed July 24, 2002

Jonathan Boyer, the first American to compete in the Tour de France, has been charged with 10 felony counts of child molestation in Monterey County, in California.

According to a report in the Salinas Californian,Boyer, who first raced in the Tour in 1981, was arrested in May in Seaside, California, after a 16-year-old girl alleged that the 46-year-old Boyer had molested her for at least a year, beginning five years ago. Boyer posted $300,000 bail in the case and was released.

Last week Boyer made his first court appearance in the case, where the presiding judge scheduled a preliminary hearing for August 9, in Salinas, California.

Boyer is facing a total of ten felony charges that combined carry a maximum penalty of 80 years..

"It's a very unfortunate situation," Boyer told the Californian. "I don't really want to talk about it. I can't really comment."

Boyer began competing in the Tour in 1981, finishing 12th in 1983. Though a pioneer of sorts, Boyer's time in the European peloton was overshadowed by the appearance of another young American, Greg LeMond. The two engaged in an open battle after a controversial finish at the 1982 world championship in which Boyer charged that LeMond had actually chased him down as he was sprinting for a win. Giuseppi Saronni eventually won that race, while LeMond took the silver.

Boyer also made a name for himself in the U.S. when he returned in 1985 to win the Race Across America in convincing fashion, bettering a field of ultra-marathon specialists. Since his retirement from the sport, Boyer has been involved in several cycling business ventures and now runs a shop in Seaside, California.

The case outlined by the district attorney's office charges that Boyer began molesting the unnamed victim in the case in 1998, when she was 11 years old. The case also alleges that Boyer "engaged in substantial sexual conduct" with the girl.

Monterey County Deputy District Attorney Tim Roberts told the newspaper that the charges involve only a single victim and declined to comment on the relationship Boyer might have with the victim.

Say it ain't so!

Len
dat for real?DougSloan
Jul 25, 2002 5:44 AM
Ooooh. Doesn't look good.

Don't you just hate it when you can't count on your heros?

Doug
what's with the sports pages recently?ColnagoFE
Jul 25, 2002 6:02 AM
i mean it seems every day you hear of some sports star or other breaking into ex-girlfreinds places with guns, shooting someone, doing drugs, or other assorted crimes.
"count on your heros"Len J
Jul 25, 2002 6:14 AM
Your right.

I think the problem is that we count on our heros to be more than human. When they demonstrate human fraility, we are crushed.

It sure doesn't look good.

I wonder what the real story is.

Hope he gets whatever help he needs. Hope the girl gets the recovery help she needs too.

Ultimatly a very sad story.

Len
Don't look at athletes as heros.djg
Jul 25, 2002 6:31 AM
Don't get me wrong. This is a sad story, whatever the details prove to be.

It's nice when world-class athletes--especially the visible ones--conduct themselves well. In part, that's because it's nice when people in general conduct themselves well. In part, it's because children look up to athletes (also Ms. Spears, Justin Timberlake, yikes...). But I'm with Charles Barkley on this one: they aint role models and we shouldn't raise our kids to think they are.
but they are role modelsDougSloan
Jul 25, 2002 6:49 AM
Pro athletes, as well as most public figures, such as actors, get rich for one reason: a whole lot of people pay money to see them. If they weren't "popular", they would not be wealthy. In my opinion, if you make your money based primarily upon the fact of your popularity, then you do have an obligation to be a model citizen. I disagree with Barkley -- that's a cop-out. He's effectively saying, "sure, I'll take your money, but then ignore all the stupid stuff I do." They shouldn't have it both ways. IMHO.

Doug
Maybe. Of course EVERYONE has an obligationdjg
Jul 25, 2002 10:51 AM
not to be a child molester. Indeed--if less spectacularly--everyone has an obligation to be a decent person every damn day.

I'm not sure about the extra public obligation of celebrities. Certainly it would be a good thing if all public figures felt the way you suggest they should. And you've got no argument from me if you want to boycott a player/team/sport/what-have-you because you're just fed up with the conduct of, say, horrendously rich ball players deciding to strike for the umpteenth time (much less conspire to commit murder, etc.).

But when you consider how the market actually works (nobody gets picked in the NBA draft for being a good citizen, and assault and battery will not get you kicked out of the league or force you to settle for an artificially low salary), it's not surprising that athletes act as they do. Frankly, I think celebrity worship in our society is way out of hand and I hope that my kids will grow up to look to non-athletes (and non pop stars) as models for most of the important stuff. I love sports. I loved them in college (where cycling was not my first competitive sport) and I love them still (even though I've given up racing for now). But in the end being fast is just about being fast. And that's just not the most important thing I can think of.
The San Fransisco 49ers choose "good all-around guys".huez
Jul 25, 2002 12:59 PM
Unlike the Dallas Cowboys who seem to draft from the Texas State prison system, the 49ers put a lot of value on a good guy off the field as well as on. Just another reason why I love the organization. They'll be in the Superbowl this year. Watch.
It makes me sad...PdxMark
Jul 25, 2002 7:59 AM
Guilty or not it's a sad situation. If he is guilty, it's sad that the life of such a talented, accomplished guy slipped to the point he would do such a thing. If not guilty, his life will never be the same... very sad...