RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


New wheelset with Armidillo's (is that a waste?)(8 posts)

New wheelset with Armidillo's (is that a waste?)UncleMoe
Jul 24, 2002 1:25 PM
Thanks for the advice the other day on the Mavic Cosmos. After reading the reviews and doing some searches on them, they seem like a good deal.

Follow-up question.

I'd be putting these on a commuting bike and I'm hoping to get a small increase in speed/performance with them. I'm a recreational rider looking to spiff up my ride and get an increase my average speed, etc.

Because I hate getting flats on my 20 mile commute at 6:00 am, last year I started using Specialized Armidillo's and have had zero flats in 2000+ miles. You could say I'm sold on them, but realize the rotational weight trade off is high.

My question is, would buying a better wheelset with the Mavic Cosmos be a waste if I put the beefy Armidillo's on them?

I've also considered using the Continental Gatorskins that are less beefy, but don't get as high marks for flat protection. I do have one gatorskin that I could try out. If I did that, would it be best on the front whell, rear whell, or should I buy a 2nd so I can have them on front and back?
May the tire gods smile upon you!filtersweep
Jul 24, 2002 3:32 PM
I've ridden with both extremes and am convinced that flats are quite RANDOM in nature... and reading opinions and reviews about tires seems to support that- pick ANY tire and someone will SWEAR by it and someone else will HATE it based on flat protection.
Get these insteadAhimsa
Jul 24, 2002 4:36 PM
Try 'em out and give us a full report, eh?

http://www.rivendellbicycles.com/webalog/tires_tubes/10043.html

Cheers!

A.
re: New wheelset with Armidillo's (is that a waste?)MrCelloBoy
Jul 24, 2002 8:11 PM
I had hoped to put Rol-y Pol-y's on my Calfee Tandem (these are a lighter version of the Ruffy Tuffy) but clearance constraints nixed them. I settled for Gatorskin Ultras (25mm) and was happy until winter, when the flats began. We switched to Armadillos (26mm) and have't had a flat since, but they're definitely heavier (and a bit slower). Not having to stop to fix flats gets us there sooner though.
I disagree that all tires are created equally. Some, like the Armadillos, give better protection from road crap which is more evident in the Winter.
Let me clarifyUncleMoe
Jul 24, 2002 9:15 PM
First, thanks for the feedback. However, I am convinced that for my type of riding, the Armidillos are the best flat protection tire for me, foe whatever reasons.

But, with my desire to get incresed performance out of a new wheelset, would I be wasting my time in getting the Mavic Cosmos AND putting the armidillos on them?

I don't want to get involved in a $300 science experiment. I have too little experience to know any better though.
I wouldn't do it.Spoke Wrench
Jul 25, 2002 4:31 AM
I've got armidillos on my retro-grouch bike and on the tandem and I love them for what they are which is all but bullet proof. What they aren't, however, is high performance. I'd guess that the super stiff, heavy tires would nullify any performance gain from the Mavic wheelset. Some products just don't go together.
How about the gatorskinsUncleMoe
Jul 25, 2002 7:43 AM
Would that be your thought on the Cont Gatorskins too? They are a bit lighter and less beefy.
gatorskinsTomS
Jul 25, 2002 5:43 AM
I've been using a set of gatorskins for about 2500 miles. The only flat I've gotten in that time (except for a broken valve stem), I found a long staple stuck in my tire. No idea how that happened! I checked them over pretty carefully last weekend and only found a few small cuts, all pretty shallow.

I use them for both commuting and rec rides, and have accidentally ridden over broken glass more than once (ouch).