RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


My Appologies.....(33 posts)

My Appologies.....magnum
Jul 23, 2002 8:35 PM
All I know to say is - I'm sorry.

I posted a question on this forum and simply got ripped a new one by a few posters here. I don't know what you expect me to say?????

I guess my Mountain Biking buddies are right about one thing - some roadies are just obnoxious.

I simply came here for experience and life learned lessons and some advice - not a hate fest. Which seems to be what I have created.

Most of you that have answered my questions and have been kind and respectful of a newbie - Thank you! You are a asset to this sport. To the rest of you that had fun picking at my words and twisting my posts in order to make me look stupid - well - aren't you proud of yourselves.

Again thank you to those who took the time to be kind to someone starting out. The rest of you can kiss my fat ass. I'm not trying to start anything but the last time I checked most message boards were for people to gain information and help others with information - not slam individuals for limited knowledge and budgets that don't meet some of your criteria. I know I'm not a 10 year cycling veteran, but just because I'm seeking knowlegable information doesn't mean that some of you must act like snobbish elitist.

just my thoughts - take em or leave em

Regards
magnum
Now...just don't come over to MTBR.Zonic Man
Jul 23, 2002 9:01 PM
I read your stuff, and you're just too predictable.
Zonic, are you a closet roadie?? (nm)gregg
Jul 24, 2002 9:23 AM
Shhhhh.....Zonic Man
Jul 24, 2002 9:54 AM
Francis predicted it would come to this.....

I'm becoming more of a cyclist.
This board is filled with jackasses.spankdoggie
Jul 23, 2002 9:03 PM
Get the C-40. Get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it, get it.

Get the C-40.

I understand your progression as you look at bikes and finally settle on one. At first I wanted a Litespeed, then I read some of lazywriter's posts, and changed my mind.

I then looked at Seven's bikes, and finally landed with a great $5,500 loaded Serotta CSI. You will soon make your decision grasshopper. Get the best.

This board is filled with jealous jackasses.

Love and tears,

Spankdoggie
This board is filled with jackasses.spankdoggie
Jul 23, 2002 11:47 PM
I read ol's post below on your thread magnum. You are a fatass. That is true, but we all love you.

I recommend a steel bike for you.
You are fat as hell. We do love you.

I spent $5,500 on a steel road bike. Check out Serotta.com. Actually, check this out:

http://www.hydromedia.com/phorum/index.php?f=0

Explore, and learn. If everyone wants to be a jackass here, so be it. Learn grasshopper learn. Ignore the jackasses.

When you can ride the bike over the rice paper without leaving a track, you have arrived.

I remain,

spankdoggie
you spent $5500 on a CSI?ColnagoFE
Jul 24, 2002 5:55 AM
How? Did you get the gold plated edition?
you spent $5500 on a CSI?spankdoggie
Jul 24, 2002 7:28 AM
Throw in the Sidi 4's and other accessories...
Never "Appologize" and don't take it personally.spyderman
Jul 23, 2002 11:59 PM
You're more than welcome here. All newbies are welcome. Stick around, there's a lot of good people on this board.

I haven't taken the time to read your entire thread, but you might want to develop a slightly thicker skin. When it comes to posting we all expose ourselves. Like all internet message boards, there are always a few bad apples who like to flame or insult you just for pleasure. Don't take 'em to heart. You'll learn quickly who the good ones are.

It's like gardening, you always get a few weeds.

Since a lot of us do both, mtb and road, I seriously don't think it's a mtb vs roadie thing.

Again, I haven't read your entire thread so I don't know how badly they ripped ya. And since you're new here, you might want to tone down the 'snobbish elitist' thing. It might be a little difficult for the people who helped you to receive your appreciation and thanks with all that hostility mixed in. It comes across a bit insincere.

Now go out and buy your C-40, or whatever bike your 'fat ass' wants, and enjoy yourself!

Safe riding and come back again!

Spyder
re: My Appologies.....ripper
Jul 24, 2002 1:09 AM
hey...welcome back RadicalRon
Clowns & Cyclist, birds of a feather..... nmJuanmoretime
Jul 24, 2002 1:35 AM
You don't have to be experienced to be here,MXL02
Jul 24, 2002 3:31 AM
but you do have to be thick skinned. People speak their mind here, DO NOT take anything personal. We don't mind newcomers, as long as they don't mind spirited discussions. When somebody slams you rather than giving you advice, just ignore it.
PS-we have given you some very good information. Whether you like it or use it is up to you. If you stick around on this board you will learn a great deal, and improve your cycling and your cycling experience overall.
Don't worry about itpmf
Jul 24, 2002 4:16 AM
I don't know what you posted, but if it was in reference to a specific model of bike, component group, frame material, favorite food, etc., there is bound to be someone who will come out of the woodwork and flame you. Don't take it personally. Most of the comments I read here are completely groundless and uninformed. I'd guess there are a lot of people here who after plunking down some money for their first road bike and riding it for a year or two are instant experts. On the other hand, there are some folks who have a lot of experience and good advice to share. Often, their comments are worth sifting through 89% of the other garbage you'll get.
pmfelviento
Jul 24, 2002 6:54 AM
You might want to read that thread before taking sides.
stick around...ColnagoFE
Jul 24, 2002 5:54 AM
hey...MTBR has its share of flames as well. i'm sure if i went over there and posted how i was just starting out mountain biking, was a college student and wondered whether i should buy a custom Seven Sola with full XTR what would your advice be?
if i recall...rufus
Jul 24, 2002 6:21 AM
the people that ripped you did so because, once they offered their opinion to the question you asked, you immediately disregarded it, and went on to explain why you wanted the c-40. even though many people didn't think this was an appropriate bike for your weight, you seem dead set on getting it anyway. so why did you bother to even ask, if you aren't willing to listen.

go ahead, get the c-40. however, if it does fail under your weight, or you scratch the hell out of it in a crash, don't come back here begging for sympathy for your plight.
here's the dealrufus
Jul 24, 2002 6:37 AM
if you are truly serious about getting a new, quality bike, then stop posting here, and go out to as many bike shops as you can, ride as many bikes as you can, and then decide for yourself which one fits you the best, offers you the best ride, and is solid and stable under your weight. that's the bike to buy, not some image in a catalog or on a website.
I almost quit the board...jtolleson
Jul 24, 2002 6:54 AM
within my first few months here when I got flamed over something. After pondering it I realized that it was only 1 person and that I was being a baby. So, here I am... with only a few ruffles here and there.

Actually, in that thread you got a fair amount of decent advice about the cons of your approach to bike shopping, and it seemed pretty clear that you didn't want to hear that perspective. Fair enough. But those weren't necessarily flames.

You are welcome and wanted here. Sense of humor and rhinocerous hide (to borrow from Eleanor Roosevelt) helps.
re: Sorry I offended you.dzrider
Jul 24, 2002 6:55 AM
A C-40 seems to me to be pretty extravagant for a new rider. I've had my fill over the years of guys who talk for years about the bike they're gonna get or, worse, guys who act like going on a group ride is an opportunity to say "My bike's better than your bike." I'm sorry if I unfairly saw you in either category.

On the other hand all of us here feel strongly about bikes and riding. If you ask for opinions you will get them and not all will tell you what you want to hear. So, I'll try answering your question as if it were more open ended and recommend you get a Klein, a Cannondale, or a custom steel frame if you're willing to wait, with the best components you can afford and 32 hole Mavic Open Pro wheels. All are fine bikes, will work for a guy your size and be respected wherever you ride it.
dude...dustin73
Jul 24, 2002 7:02 AM
dude, what happened to the mtb idea?
Drama queenBill is in Denver
Jul 24, 2002 8:32 AM
I just read the post you are all upset over. People offered you good advice, sound judgement based on experience and tried to help you with a decision you've been laboring over for weeks. You got upset over it. Not their problem, yours. Now you're here doing it again. This is not a board meant to deal with your emotional issues over letting yourself go at such an early age. It is here to help spread biking info. Yes, some of the posters are egomaniacs and complete jerks but in the case of your last post nobody went off until you got plenty irritating. Want a C40...buy it. Then break it and call them crap. Nobody cares at this point, they tried to steer you the other way.

Life lesson #1 - if you ask people for advice, don't disregard them for giving it. If you disagree, say thanks for helping and drop it.

Bill
In other words, "Don't shoot the messenger."AllisonHayes
Jul 24, 2002 9:08 AM
Or to paraphrase Joan of Arc, "Don't flame the messenger." :)

(good points!)
Everyone just relax......magnum
Jul 24, 2002 9:19 AM
I have a few points to make in this post. I will not be vauge but to the point and precise as not to confuse ANYONE :)

1. I'm not at all a drama queen.

2. I really did appreciate all the advice and life learned experiences and took them to heart - not once was information disreguarded.

3. This is where all of you are getting yourselves in a twist. I am simply getting contradicting information from different sources. EXAMPLE maestro tells me that i should only buy Carbon (alloy's will break and Titanium is an "american thing" according to the last email i got from him) You all suggest custom and other - which is fine. Not once did i disregaurd. Local Bike shops are very overpriced here and instead of trying to help me find a bike that will suite me and I will be happy with - no matter if it's an $800 dollar bike or a $5000 they seem keen on the idea of draining me of every penny.

3. I'm not disregaurding everyone's advice, I have no idea how you think I was disreguarding it - but I like to analytically make decisions. This Don't buy this - buy this business doesn't work for me. I need the facts. Not just opinion. I want to know why one thing works and why another doesn't.

4. It might seem like I was drilling the C40 bit into the ground. I'm sorry, but it's hard for me to read these posts and figure out which to be legitmate information that will aid in my decision and the rest to be BS.

5. I truly love this forum. Most everyone here is insightful and really cares about the sport.

I've read all the posts through the archive that have anything to do with bike purchases and component selection. I'm not ignorant - I sort of know what I'm doing. Maybe the best thing to do is buy a strong frame - (not a C40 persay) steel or something and invest in quality components, then later buy the frame I truly desire. This seems like the best route to take from my personal point of few. I just don't know where to start looking for what I would consider quality frames for guys starting out.

I'm not doggin you guys. You didn't hurt my feelings - but by no means is it necessary to shoot a guy in the knees for wanting to buy quality goods right off the bat. All I can say is please help me out. I feel like the LBS is out to robb me and my only source of quality information is the net.

magnum
"I am simply getting contradicting information..."Kristin
Jul 24, 2002 9:37 AM
Well welcome to cycing. If you don't want to be bombarded at every turn by an army of "experts" who know just enough about cycling and bikes to be dangerous, then don't take up this sport. Run very fast away. Cycling is anything but straight forward. (LOL-that sounds wrong.) If you want an activity that is simple to understand and won't confuse you with varying opinions, then take up macrame.

Since I started this a year ago, I have been informed by at least ten people that my bike does fit, 10 more said it does fit. Three people said I need a custom frame, while 2 recommended Aluminum, because it would be softer than steel. I was told to try at least 40 different methods for treating a knee injury. One of which--changing pedals--worked.
Everyone just loves to twist my words NMmagnum
Jul 24, 2002 9:46 AM
Okay.Kristin
Jul 24, 2002 9:55 AM
I was being facetious yes, but I was not twisting your words. I will not argue with you either.

My honest opinion, one newbie to another (and I am a nice person) don't buy a C-40. If some guy is trying to sell you one, all he see's is $$$$. A C-40 is the Z3 of road bikes. Its nice yes, but its a waiste of money if you don't know enough about bikes to know why you shouldn't buy it. I doubt anyone would contradict this: You should cap your budget at $2,000-$2,500 for a first road bike (Frame/Fork and components). Anything more than that is just excess. Two years from now, I gaurentee you that you'll be ready to buy a different frame.
I can see Bill rolling his eyes.Kristin
Jul 24, 2002 10:08 AM
Did he give me much similar advice last year? See, just because I'm think headed doesn't mean I can't learn.
"Think headed"?Len J
Jul 24, 2002 10:25 AM
Is this a freudian slip?

LOL

Len
personallySteveO
Jul 24, 2002 10:42 AM
I would cap closer to $1500 (which is still about $1200 than I'd prefer).

You can certainly get a 'quality' bike, which will last many moons, for 15.
Help, I hopegerwerken
Jul 24, 2002 10:57 AM
Hi Magnum,
I read the question you posted, but I didn't read the flames. From your posts today you just want some help, so here it goes.

You are a pretty big guy, and you are just starting out. There is a good chance that you will crash at least once. You will need a strong frame. Steel is a very strong material, but most people over 200 pounds usually feel that steel is too flexy. Aluminum is strong, stiff and affordable. It comes in both classic and compact frame geometry. It would probably be a good frame material for a beginner of your size. Titanium is a very strong and stiff material too, however it is more expensive then aluminum. If budget is an issue, as it is for most college students, then titanium may not be the material for you. Carbon is stiff; however it cracks under pressure. A person of your weight would likely crack the bottom bracket of a carbon frame. A bad crash would also likely break a Carbon frame, and since Carbon splinters when it breaks, it could make for a very messy crash. I would wait to get a Carbon frame until you have lost a little weight and have a little more experience on a road bike.

As for components..
Shimano 105 will give you a pretty good ride at a pretty good price. It is usually considered low end, but race able.
If you are sure you are going to race you may want to upgrade to Shimano Ultegra. It gives you a nice ride at a descent price.
Shimano Dura-Ace is the best ride, but also at a premium price.

I mentioned only Shimano components because I don't know as much about Campy components. Campy also offers similar groups that would work as well. The choice is a matter of preference that probably won't develop until you have ridden both for a little while.

Now fit..
The geometry of the bike you chose should be based on your body. If you have a long torso you will probably want a bike with a long top tube, and if you have a short torso, a short top tube (I know this sounds obvious, I just wanted to make my statement clear). There are on-line sizing guides that will give you a basic idea of the kind of geometry you will need. Wrenchscience.com has a very good sizing guide. It is always best to ride a bike to see how it fits, rather then relying on the geometry alone though. Try many local bike stores, and ride all the brands they carry to find the fit you like the best.

To keep costs down you might also try finding a quality used bike. The classifieds on this page are a good place to start.

Hope this helps.

Remember, everyone will have their own opinions, doing your own research will help you sort through contradictions.
tommasini sintesi from colorado cyclistrufus
Jul 24, 2002 11:08 AM
someone mentioned this on your other thread. now, i have never ridden a tommasini, but everything i have ever read about them says that they are well built, ride very well, and it's hard to find a better looking bike, with chromed lugs and fork. built in a small shop in italy, it may be even less of a mass-produced bike than colnago is.

it's steel, but not superlight, so it'll be good for your weight, and repairable if it does break, it's got a heritage almost as glorious as colnago, since you say you're looking for a quality bike. complete with an ultegra group(second best group shimano makes) from colorado cyclist for $1700 without pedals. believe me, this is more bike than you need right now, and may be the only bike you'll ever need.

others that people mentioned would be the steel eddy merckx(max leader?), which is purposely made for heavier riders, and either the titanium or steel offerings from colnago. of course, these will be more expensive.

save the c-40 till you know more about what you want from a bike, and more about how you ride, and how easy on equipment you are. get yourself fitted at a shop, and determine the correct size and seat angle for you.
re: My Appologies.....PhatMatt
Jul 24, 2002 11:21 AM
Magnum,
IMHO, part of the problem is it seems you are just looking at the status Quo. Trek, Colnago, ect. While these are all Awesome bikes, and I would give my 1st born for a C-40 (only if it fits), I would not in a million years consider this right off the bat. My reason is I have been cycling for about 16 mos now. I have learned a lot form all of these guys. My 1st bike was an inexpensive Trek 1000 (paid less than 500) I road this for a year, figured out what I did and did not like about the bike. Than at the first of this year cranked out the OT and purchased my current ride. It is a AL w/ full ultegra and a carbon fork and OP's. I can ride longer and harder. I am in a more aggressive position. I am a big guy 210 now. I am more of a sprinter than a climber and I have hammered the bike to the best of my ability. I think the best thing to go is put up with the LBS shit (I know there are only few good ones around here as well). Try some of the bikes. Ride a Cdale, Litespeed, Specialized Trek, anything and everything you can through a leg over. The problem you will find with analytically trying to find a bike is each body is different. We could be the same height with very similar dimensions and will find a different bike that is perfect. Good example of this My buddy and I ride Identical MTB's except for tires. He hates the ones I love. Just go out ride, ride and ride some more. Besides in a few years there will be them next wave of NEW and IMPROVED Widgets that we will all want. It is like computers what is cutting edge today is obsolete tomorrow.

Matt
What I would suggest.Leisure
Jul 25, 2002 3:55 AM
Spend on components now, but get a less-expensive frame for the time-being. A Gunnar Roadie, for example, is a nice 853 frame welded by Waterford that tracks true, is durable, has a nice mellow ride quality and handling, and can be had for about $600. It's nice enough that Record wouldn't look out of place on it, but not so expensive that you'll be kicking yourself when you finally learn that you would have preferred one size smaller than the professional fitting said to get the right top-tube length that would have allowed you to use a longer stem with a different rake of fork and seat setback to get just the handling you didn't realize you wanted. Get an expensive frame only after you feel you have a seriously good idea of every last detail of what you want, otherwise you're not getting your money's worth - a much bigger compromise IMO. When you finally buy that killer frame, you'll already have the components you want on hand to swap over. You can sell the old frame or keep it to build up as a beater bike later.