RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Re: Help!! Need advice on Colnago vs. Litespeed vs. Look(17 posts)

Re: Help!! Need advice on Colnago vs. Litespeed vs. LookATLien
Jul 23, 2002 5:07 AM
Ok, here's my problem: I abandoned road riding/racing years ago for the fat-tire crowd but now I'm back in the market for a new ride. I'm looking for something that I can do some serious training on and get back into entry-level racing and crits. I'm 6'4, 195lbs so I know I'm going to need a strong frame and am leaning towards Ti or carbon. After a ton of research I visited 3 LBS's yesterday and got 3 totally different opinions!! Basically I'm looking for some help/imput in choosing between several frames, and seeing as though it's near impossible to find a 63cm frame built up, it makes it even tougher to decide. Does anyone ride or have ridden any of these frames:

Colnago Oval Master
Litespeed Classic
Look 381i

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!
Carbon???Fez
Jul 23, 2002 5:32 AM
At your size, do you want a bike that will be real strong? I have known some lightweights that have no trouble with all-carbon, but at your size there is increased chance of frame failure. And Colnago and Look are nice bikes, but aren't known for having the longest warranties in the industry. Trek's OCLV has a lifetime warranty, but check the archives for some opinions.

Titanium may be the strongest material, especially for your size, but it may be a little flexy. The Litespeed Classic is not known to be one of the stiffer titanium frames.
www.deanusa.comJuanmoretime
Jul 23, 2002 5:42 AM
Dean will be the most cost effective for your money. Custom spec it and get a great bike. Dean has great pricing on the build kits and the frame.
Yeah, that's my only concern with Colnago. I don't want toATLien
Jul 23, 2002 6:26 AM
end up waiting 8mo for a frame repair. I have similar concerns about flex with the Look, and not sure the Litespeed is best as far as flex and geometry for me.

Haven't checked out DEAN but will at least look into them. Thanks for the input!
Pick a frame material or a brand you are comfortable with first,Fez
Jul 23, 2002 6:32 AM
then go from there.

Is money not a limiting factor? Serotta and Seven can build a Ti bike for you and they are based in the states. They also have off the rack bikes.

Litespeed takes a lot of heat on this board, but the bikes do the job and if you find one on sale, it can be a decent value. Just about any other Litespeed model will be stiffer than the Classic.

Colorado Cyclist has cheap Douglas titanium bikes as well.
I can't say money isn't an issue, but I'd like to keep it in theATLien
Jul 23, 2002 6:37 AM
$3k or less neighborhood. I think Ti is going to be my choice, but my problem with Litespeed is that not all models are made in a 62cm or larger, which limits my choices.

I actually spoke to a Serotta rep last night and while their Ti is a great bike, it's a little on the high side of my price range.
Do you need custom?Fez
Jul 23, 2002 6:45 AM
If you already have a bike, you know your measurements. To be overly simplistic, the top tube fit is probably the most important. So if none of the stock bikes can fit your top tube measurement, then you may have no choice but to go custom.

Obviously an ill fitting bike is the most expensive bike you can get, but maybe you should make sure you want or need a custom. The price difference might be huge, because in stock bikes are starting to get marked down for the end of year clearance.
I've been fitted at a couple of different shops and haveATLien
Jul 23, 2002 6:49 AM
all my sizing down, now it's just a matter of finding the right size in stock. Sure, Serotta can custom build a frame for me (as can litespeed) and it will fit like a glove, but you're right--it's expensive as hell. The problem now is that since it's the end of the year, I'm left with two options--1. Hope I can find a frame in my size and possibly get a closeout price 2. wait until the 2003's come out since no-one is building right now.
Sometimes you gotta bite the bulletFez
Jul 23, 2002 6:56 AM
I hear your dilemma. But it would suck to wait around until late fall or winter to get dibs on a 2003. There's an awful lot of good summer riding left so getting a bike now would be nice.

Try Colorado Cyclist. They should still be pretty deep in sizes, and you can't ask for better customization in their component packages unless, of course, you went full custom.
I plan on making that call today actually. I live in Atlanta, soATLien
Jul 23, 2002 7:05 AM
I can pretty much ride year round, but I'd still like to get something sooner than later.

Thx again for all the insight and advice!
of the 3 you mentionColnagoFE
Jul 23, 2002 6:03 AM
I'd say the Ovalmaster might be a good choice. The Classic is gonna be too flexy for your weight and frame size--at least for racing. Not sure about the Look, but that may be the case there as well. Do they even make a 63? You may need a bigger size in the Colnago though. I am 6'2" and about your weight and rode a 60cm Merlin XL, but now ride a 62cm Colnago MXL (might be another good choice at your weight).
Dittojtolleson
Jul 23, 2002 6:48 AM
The Classic would not be the choice for you, even within the Litespeed line. If a large and powerful rider is looking LS, I say check out Vortex or Ultimate, not Classic. Classic is a great century bike for the sub-200 lb. rider (IMO), but not a racer and not for the larger rider.
Which Litespeed for a fast recreational rider?Philharmonic
Jul 23, 2002 4:08 PM
Which Litespeed for a fast recreational rider for average 20-30 mile rides? 5'8" 150 lb. (assume I can get their stock bikes to fit me)
Thanks
Which Litespeed for a fast recreational rider?pmf
Jul 24, 2002 4:25 AM
I think the Tuscany is the best deal in their line up. Fancier tubing than the Classic and cheaper as well. Its a good all around bike at a decent price.

If you shop around, you can find their higher end (Vortex, Ultimate) frames on close-out for a good bit less than retail.

Unless you have a strange shaped body, the Litespeed (and most other frames) will fit you fine.
As much as I like Colnagos................JohnG
Jul 23, 2002 6:56 AM
The OM is a nice frame with one SUPER MAJOR design flaw.

The OM has an F'd up rear drop-out design. It's semi horizontal orientation can allow the rear wheel to break loose and jam in the rear chain stays. SOONER OR LATER IT WILL HAPPEN!!! :( And when it does, you run the risk of getting tossed over the bars. Especially with a big fellow like you I stay away from any bike with this type of rear drop-out.

JohnG

I own two Colnago's and love em.
My friend is 200 lbs, loves his 381i. I checked with ExcelPaul
Jul 23, 2002 10:06 AM
Boulder, and they told me there was no weight limit on the 381i. He bought it thru totalcycling. I also know big guys on C-40's, and they haven't had problems. Oval master should be no problem for you. I have a 386, and just love the carbon ride (I'm 160). My friend also has a Merlin x-lite, his second one. The first one gave up after 35,000 at the BB. He also says that the 381i is stiffer then the x-lite.
re: Re: Help!! Need advice on Colnago vs. Litespeed vs. LookJimP
Jul 23, 2002 10:31 AM
I am 6'4", wear a 36" pant inseam, and weigh 185-190. I had an 60cm Aegis Aro Svelt built up 3 years ago and have been very happy with the ride. I used to ride a C'dale and the Aegis frame is stiff enough but absorbs the vibration like no aluminium frame can. I was leary of the "small" 60 cm frame for my size but have come to appreciate it's handling characteristics.