RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Trainers & Rollers Discussion(10 posts)

Trainers & Rollers DiscussionGK
Jul 22, 2002 1:46 PM
There was a promising, if truncated, trainer vs. roller thread started by Joshua from a couple days ago. I think it got buried under a lot of new messages later in the day before many people got to see it.

I thought I'd continue the question, since I KNOW there are more informed opinions out there, and I happen to be in search of some to help me decide whether to get a trainer or a roller.

So far, I've seen some strong, but qualified endorsements of rollers, e.g. promotes better form but less of a toasty workout compared to trainers. For the trainers, I've seen a lot of endorsements of fluids over anything else mags and air. Someone also suggested using a different skewer since they can get chewed up.

Anyway, I'm no closer to even knowing what I want to try.

Can anyone chime in with some intel?

GK
re: Trainers & Rollers DiscussionIseemo
Jul 22, 2002 2:15 PM
I can chime in ...but you'll have to judge if it's with any intelligence or not! This topic comes up frequently and a search of it would serve you well.

I'm a strong advocate of rollers, rollers, rollers. You will be a skilled rider after a season on rollers and everyone loves a skilled rider. They'll also help your spin. I don't buy into the argument that you can't get a good workout - if that's the case - you're not riding them correctly. Admittedly, intervals may be difficult on rollers, but you shouldn't be doing intervals during the winter, anyway, when indoor training is a must. Rollers do require you to constantly pay attention - but after a period of time you'll be able to watch TV and ride them without problems.

If you have a friend with rollers - go try them, but don't judge by the first time out, as there is a learning curve.
re: Trainers & Rollers DiscussionCFBlue
Jul 22, 2002 2:46 PM
I have tried the trainers and not particularly enjoyed using them, I'm not sure why.

I recently got a set of rollers and I love them. I had a muscle injury, so I didn't want to go out and get tempted to hammer and hurt the it again, so I took the time to learn the ride the rollers. I got 3-4 hours time on them so far. It has been a hoot to learn how to stay on them and once going I have really enjoyed the sense of accomplishment.

I took an easy ride this weekend and I was really impressed with how my pedaling has changed. I can reach for the water bottle without inducing a wobble, and my speed has increased a bit. I feel so much more in control of the bike. I wish I would have skipped the trainers completely.
YMMV, of course
My $.02Breakfast
Jul 22, 2002 2:59 PM
I think you can go either way and I advocate having both a fluid trainer and a good set of rollers (don't scrimp, buy quality).

Here are some observations:

A trainer is very portable and can be taken to races and TT's for warm-ups. A trainer can handle some pretty hard intervals without worry of balance or falling off like on rollers. Pretty easy to set up in house, or garage and storage is easy. An extra skewer and a wheel with a cheap tire for wearing out on trainer is advisable. For MTB, an extra wheel with slick tire is best for low noise.

Rollers, you will graduate to these anyways so get good ones. A set of rollers can be portable but not as portable. Same with storage, a little more space needed to store out of the way. Can be taken to races. Rollers are more active and require a little more attention than trainers and can be less of a mindless activity (if that's how you view it in the first place).

Get the trainer first, then the rollers later like next winter season. But buy in the off season (summer) for better prices.
re: Trainers & Rollers DiscussionJoshua
Jul 22, 2002 4:36 PM
Good looking out!! I was going to repost ina few days. Anyways I have decided on rollers. I am not too worried about interval training and just want to log base miles while the kids are upstairs sleeping. I like the potential of rollers to help me become a better over-all rider. Plus its easier to get my wife to let me spend the money if i can convince her that the rollers will hold some entertainment value for her too (mainly watching me learn how to use them).

I am considering the Nashbar rollers for a hundred bucks and possibly the resistance unit for another 20.00. I know they are PVC drums. If any one has experience with this product or can reccommend something else modestly priced
please let me know..... Thanks, Josh
Low end rollers <> sleeping childrenScot_Gore
Jul 22, 2002 7:15 PM
If your goal is to roll while the kids sleep I'd recommend looking a couple of quality steps up from the $100.00 level. What you're paying for in a roller is the quality of the bearings. At the $100.00 price point they are going to be loud.

If your not in hurry, watch e-bay. Some people buy rollers, find them frustrating and dump them in short order.

Good luck

Scot
re: Trainers &amp; Rollers DiscussionMr Good
Jul 22, 2002 8:39 PM
I got the TACX folding rollers for about $100 or so, they are just fine. $300 or $400 would have got me some very refined Krietler rollers (quieter, smoother), but I don't regret the TACX purchase. I'd suggest rollers with small diamater drums, if you have a choice (no matter what brand you buy). The larger drum offers no resistance. With smaller diameter drums, you can get a good range of efforts just by shifting gears. When you get fit, even your hardest gear will be too easy on the rollers (that's when you'll need the resistance unit), so go ahead and get the smaller diameter.
re: Trainers &amp; Rollers Discussionlt
Jul 23, 2002 12:07 AM
Kreitler rollers are the quietest and smoothest. I bought a dynolyte unit on ebay for less than half retail. You have to be patient until the appropriate model is listed. Kreitlers are worth the wait and price.
Check Labicicletta.com, alu rollers $100Lone Gunman
Jul 23, 2002 5:52 AM
MHO: Rollers.djg
Jul 23, 2002 1:55 PM
Smaller diameter rollers are, in my opinion, better than the larger ones. Quite simply, it's more work. Rollers give you a steady load, help your spin, help your balance, help your line, and, not incidentally, can give you a pretty good workout.

Trainers have their points: higher top end, and much easier to stand and crank it. But overall I think rollers do more good.