RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Looking for a worthy replacement for Conti GP3000(13 posts)

Looking for a worthy replacement for Conti GP3000DrPete
Jul 20, 2002 7:46 PM
I've got about 700 miles on a pair of Conti GP3000s, and I absolutely LOVE the way the tire rides. They're fast, corner like they're on rails, and have great puncture resistance. Tread wear is good for such a high-end ride, but there's one problem. I noticed at the end of my ride that there was a 1-cm bulge in the sidewall around what looks like a crack. It's big enough that I'm not 100% comfortable riding on it again (it's the front). Needless to say I'm not too happy with the sidewall failure of an otherwise incredible tire.

I've been eyeing Michelin's new Pro Race, and Vittoria's Open all-weather--- any worthy contenders to dethrone my favorite GP3000's?
Just switched back to Vittoriatirider
Jul 20, 2002 8:18 PM
I've run GP 3000 for the last couple of years but I went back to Vittoria Open Corsa CX tires and love them. I think they have a bit of a more lively "tubular" tire ride than the Contis. My main complaint with the GPs were that the rear tires square off relatively quickly as they wore. They also tended to pick up glass if the road was at all wet. I've never cared much for Axial Pros. They had a somewhat dead feel to me. Maybe the new Race ones are different. I looked at some in a store and it seemed like the sidewalls were a bit more flexible than the older version. The best clinchers I've found for the ride are by Veloflex. They are undoubtedly less bombproof than the aforementioned ones but boy do they remind me of a good tubular.
Vredestein Fortezza TricompChaz_cycles
Jul 20, 2002 9:32 PM
Best tire I have found and you can get them for about $25.
Second that.look271
Jul 21, 2002 8:55 AM
I have been using tri-comps for the past 2 yrs and love them. Pump them up to a hideous 140psi and they roll real nice and I have done plenty of riding in the rain and these tires stick like glue. Wear pretty well, too.
another GP3000...C-40
Jul 21, 2002 2:18 AM
I would say you had a rare failure. I've used nothing but the GP3000 for years. Average about one flat every 5000 miles. Never had a structural failure. I've never had a cut failure. Of course, I don't ride through glass, I try to ride around it.

Totalcycling.com has them for about $25 each with a free Vittoria tube.
Rare? Maybe...DrPete
Jul 21, 2002 3:25 AM
What really prompted my search for a new tire was the number of people who have reported sidewall blowouts with the GP3000. Of course, all tire reviews on this site must be taken with a grain of salt, but it sounds like the sidewall blowout is something that happens occasionally. I also avoid glass and rocks, and have never had a flat on my GP3000s, but I have NO desire to blow out a sidewall while riding, something that I'm sure would happen at the worst possible time.

Maybe I am being overly cautious... Who knows.
Rare? Who knows.djg
Jul 21, 2002 6:14 AM
I've had pretty good luck with the Contis--no sidewall blowouts (or any other kind of blowouts) so far. Of course it's more-or-less impossible to isolate bad luck from bad construction on your own. Been trying a couple of Tricomps on my commuter and, although I like them otherwise, I seem to be flatting a lot. Again, I have no idea whether this is the tire or just bad luck.
If you're no longer comfortable with the ContiJekyll
Jul 21, 2002 9:48 AM
Don' ride it. The evidence seems to be anecdotal but it does seems as thought there have been a number of posts in recent history about sidewall problems with the Conti (or maybe I'm nuts).
I ran Axial Pros for the last couple of years and recently switched to Pro Race on my training wheels and back to Vittoria Open Pro CX on my K's. I honestly like the Vittoria better than either the Conti (only used up one set a year and a half ago) or the Axial Pro or Pro Race. They do seem to ride nicer and more "tubular" like than other clinchers. The Pro Race does seem a bit more supple than Axial Pros - nothing on the tune of a revelation but they feel a little better (or it could be in my head).
All of the above are great tires. If one does not give you the confidence level you require because of previous experience, you won't go wrong with any of the others. Just my .02
I had a "bulge" tooBike Mike
Jul 21, 2002 4:26 AM
A month or so ago I hit a larger-than-normal pothole on a ride. When I got home I noticed a bulge in the sidewall similar to the one you described. I replaced the tire with another GP3000 and have been perfectly happy again.

My LBS, who's been more-than-upfront with me and has talked me out of buying some things, recommended the 3000's and said that sidewall damage will happen to any tire occasionally, usually as a result of a large bump, but often not immediately after the hit.

I don't think you're overly cautious...who wants to see their tire explode 20 miles from home???

MB
Michelin Pro Race recommendationgs6769
Jul 21, 2002 4:51 AM
I'll weigh in for the Michelin P.R. More lively feel than the Axial Pro or Conti 3000 IMO, corner great, seem to pick up very few cuts. A bit tough to mount on my Rolf Vectors, but that that could just be the tire/wheel combo. Nothing a carefully applied tire lever can't deal with.
I too had a sidewall bulge on a Conti 3000. It does seem to happen more often than with other tires, even though anecdotal evidence is always suspect. That said, I'd give the Pro Race a shot.
34.95 at Supergo or Colorado Cyclist.
Another choicecoonass
Jul 21, 2002 9:43 AM
would be my favorite: Panaracer Stradius Pro...I can't find a cut on them, but the Mich. Axial Pros looked like they were born to be cut...I did get a free pair of GP3000, and they ride good, but (IMHO) the Panaracers deliver a superior ride (for me) I pump the front to 120psi and the rear to 140psi..
Ive got themishmael
Jul 21, 2002 5:15 PM
Just got put them on two weeks ago and I flatted already. They were a great price and they go up to 150 which I like but I'd have to say one flat and three slices isnt encouraging. I'm not counting them out yet but my contis hadnt flatted for 6 months. They do square off quickly though.
What you have here is failure...Lone Gunman
Jul 21, 2002 10:40 AM
of a sidewall thread. A fiber in the sidewall has torn and it allows the little buldge. I had one on my rear wheel do the same thing last year, relatively new tire, suspect it was caused by hitting a hole hard. I left it alone and kept an eye on it. And watched it and it never changed, never got bigger or worse. 1500 miles later the tire got a big slice in the center of the tread about 3/4 inch long to the threads. Then I tossed the tire. Put it on the rear and watch it each time you inflate. The casing has not been compromised, just bruised.