RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Help me find an affordable wheelset...(25 posts)

Help me find an affordable wheelset...jtkirk15
Jul 19, 2002 9:26 AM
Apparently I am a big guy for cycling. I am 6' 195. I ride a Bianchi Campione that came with Mavic CXP21s. I am looking to spend around $250. I found Krysium SSC Elite's for $300 (not including shipping/customs) at Parker International. I was considering Campy Protons but I was told they wouldn't be sturdy enough for me. Record/Chorus hubs with open pros has been recommended. Any other ideas? Thanks a ton.
re: Help me find an affordable wheelset...stevesbike
Jul 19, 2002 9:42 AM
i'm 185, have been riding shimano 535s for about a month--they've been flawless so far (I ride about 400/week). I've had a couple of hard hits (snakebit the tube and flatted) but the wheels are as true as when I bought them. supergo had a low price on them. they are being replaced by the 540s, which are supposed to be even stronger. One feature I like about them is that the nipples are at the hub not the rim, so though on the heavy side, the rotating weight is good. Hooked up with the new axial races, they are incredibly smooth riding
re: Help me find an affordable wheelset...tarwheel
Jul 19, 2002 9:43 AM
You can get very good prices on Open Pros with either Record/Chorus or DuraAce/Ultegra hubs from both coloradocyclist.com and excelsports.com -- I think about $250-270 a pair. I weigh about 185 and have had virtually no trouble with my Open Pro/ Chorus wheels from Excel (6,500 miles on one pair and 2,500 on the other). My brother weighs a lot more than me (230-240) and has had a lot of trouble with different boutique wheels (eg, Rolfs and some other brand I can't remember). He finally tried some Open Pros with DuraAce and has had no more problems. My wheels are 32 spoke, but if you are really concerned about durability get the 36 spoke wheels. The only problem with Open Pros are the dreaded click, which both sets of mine have developed. It goes away as you pick up speed but can be annoying to some. The good folks at coloradocyclist or excel might be able to give you some insight on alternatives to Open Pros if you are concerned about the click.
Agree , with one other suggestion.MXL02
Jul 19, 2002 9:51 AM
I ride at 200 lbs and had to replace my CXP 21 rims after less than 1000 miles. I called Campy and they recommended 36 spoke rear and 32 spoke front. Rather than open pro, get the CXP 33 rims...they are virtually bomb proof.
Agree , with one other suggestion.jtkirk15
Jul 19, 2002 10:04 AM
Thanks for all the great responses. Nobody has addressed my question about the Krysium Elites. How are they? I know Open Pros are proven winners but they seem a little boring (no offense intended). I just want to make the best decision possible and find the highest value. Thanks again!
Value? You want value?Kerry
Jul 19, 2002 5:27 PM
You will not find it in factory built wheels. If you want value, go with what has already been suggested - OP or Velocity Aerohead (my favorite) with Record or DA hubs from CC or Excel. If you price out the parts, you'll find that you are paying something like $150-$250 to have a factory wheel built. Many people like them, but to claim they are a good value reflects an inability to do the math.
I just got a pair of SLscoonass
Jul 19, 2002 8:04 PM
about a month ago ($475 @ www.xpedia.co.uk) Love them....(the 'motor' is still the same, but the machine just got lighter and easier to ride :) today I received a pair of Aero Speed Dream Wheels from Dave Thomas (www.speeddream.com ~$555 for all black)....going to ride them this weekend..(beautiful wheels;total weight for F/R = 1435gms....and that's w/SS spokes) I replaced Open Pros; one set w/DA hubs and the other w/Records; 28F/32R on both sets.....absolutely nothing wrong w/either set,just had the 'bug' to change.....Your best decision would be to put another $200± and get a set that you won't be wanting to upgrade in 2 years...that's the expensive route.
I second the CXP33 recommendation...Quack
Jul 19, 2002 10:35 AM
I built a set of CXP33 32-holes up for a 215lb. buddy for commuting and they are tough-ass rims. He's crashed twice on them at 20mph and even rode one flat for 3 miles and they are both still dead on true. I think the slight aero profile and bombproof reliability more than compensates for the additional 75g. over the Open Pro rims. I have yet to have a CXP-33 click. Four sets of them built over the past year and still no complaints.
I third the CXP 33 recommendationGregJ
Jul 19, 2002 11:13 AM
I have been riding a pair for 2 years. I think they are great wheels. I am 155 lbs and I built mine up with only 28 spokes. For you, use 32 in front and either 32 or 36 in the rear, use double butted spokes with brass nipples, you will have a great wheelset.
What is this click you speak of? (nm)wonderdog
Jul 19, 2002 10:03 AM
ahhh.....just checked the reviews....wonderdog
Jul 19, 2002 10:17 AM

that sux because i was thinking of getting a pair of those hoops. has anybody used Ritchey rims? if so, what do you think of them?

re: Help me find an affordable wheelset...Miklos
Jul 19, 2002 11:31 AM
Shoot, you're a light weight, compared to me. I weigh 235 lbs and when I commute, I also carry about 20 extra pounds on the bike. I have got about 1000 miles on a set of Shimano R535's. I am very happy with them so far. They were one of the few wheel sets that said they were good for riders over 200 lbs.

Miklos
re: Help me find an affordable wheelset...jtkirk15
Jul 19, 2002 11:31 AM
So does anyone here have an opinion on the Campy Scirocco's? I think they look incredibly cool (I know) but I don't want to screw up. They are somewhat cheaper than Open Pros or CXP 33's.
Mavic K'sPhatMatt
Jul 19, 2002 12:35 PM
Did you check the reviews on this site?

http://www.roadbikereview.com/Wheelsets/PLS_2490crx.aspx
Mavic K'sjtkirk15
Jul 19, 2002 2:13 PM
Yeah I did, but you can never have enough opinions. For some reason I don't like basing a decision solely on reviews like those. I prefer the interaction that allows me to ask questions. I really like the Scirocco's and Krysium Elites but I can't decided if the Krysiums are worth $100+ more.
I have a setChaz_cycles
Jul 21, 2002 10:09 AM
They are holding up fine over their first 1000 miles. I weigh 200lbs and use them as my everyday wheels. I even take them on rides over the Bay Trail a few miles of dirt roads on the way home from work no truobles at all. I also have a pair of Eurus wonderful wheelset but well over this price range.
re: I own 535 and cxp33bigrider
Jul 19, 2002 2:16 PM
I am 6'2 240lbs and own cxp21, shimano 535s, and cxp33s. I bought the 535s and knew they would hold up. I busted a spoke climbing after less than 2000 miles on them. They ping like I have the little balls on the spokes like a kid's bike when i climb. After a recommendation from this board i had cxp33s built up with a 36spoke 3x configuration. It is the ticket. The rim is the same weight as the open pros but stronger and more aero. They are holding up well. I have destroyed three rear wheels in the past four years and have been gettign 4000 miles a rear wheel at best. I have busted at least 10 spokes in the process. go with the CXP33s if you are worried and you can get them at Colorado Cyclist built to your specs with ult. for around 220.
Question about your 535'sjose_Tex_mex
Jul 19, 2002 3:24 PM
bigrider,
I have two sets of 535's and absolutely love them. I have over 2000 miles on one set and 1000 on another - they are both perfectly true. I am a lighter rider - 155 give or take.
I was wondering what happened when you broke your spoke. How bad was the wobble - would it have been a crash if you were at speed? Also, did you ever have to true the rims prior? Did you replace the spoke and if so what were they like to true.
Thanks for any feedback - there's not too many people around who have trued these rims...
reply about your 535'sbigrider
Jul 22, 2002 5:30 AM
The wobble was severe but I broke it going up a hill. I don't think it would have caused a crash at speeds below 30. My LBS replaced the spoke and they are easy to true when replacing a spoke. If you bend the rim in between spokes you are screwed. The spokes are too far away to take the wobble out.
Just a thought...Lone Gunman
Jul 19, 2002 2:33 PM
The wheelsets you are considering are all good to excellent.
Hard to miss with K's or open pros. Just as a thought, have you looked at oddsandendos.com? American Classic rear, Sun Ringle SOB front, your choice of color rim, spoke and nip type, and hub color. Your choice of build and spoke count. Probably $350 shipped or less, 1550grams for the set. Rims are Aerohead by Velocity. Mike Garcia knows his stuff and asks you for ride/rider characteristics and makes recommendations. Best thing is easily servicable wheels.

The only down side of K's is the spoke thing, it is possible to break them and not many shops keep them on hand, so you may have a wait should that happen.
Ambrosios, my friend!!seyboro
Jul 19, 2002 5:08 PM
An alternative might be the ambrosio focus, 30 mm deep, about $90 a pair over the net, black, sharp looking and at 245lbs., I haven't killed them yet. As for the ksyriums, I had a pair of SSCs and pulled the spokes right through the rear rim. P.O.S! The worst part was dealing with the Mavic customer service - talk about "French attitude"!!
Oh, that reminds me: Why did the French plant trees all along the sides of their roads?
...because the Germans like to march in the shade!!
Why?filtersweep
Jul 20, 2002 4:43 AM
Why are you looking for a new wheelset? $250 won't give you much of an "upgrade."
Why?jtkirk15
Jul 20, 2002 4:58 AM
So there isn't much difference between Mavic CXP21's and Krysium ELites (a little more than $250) or Campy Protons or Record/Open Pro? If not then I think the cycling community has been over paying for wheels as CXP21's aren't very expensive.

I guess if I want to upgrade my bike I should just buy a Seven or Colnago since nothing else is "much of an upgrade."

I was just looking for ideas on wheelsets, please leave the reason to me.

Sorry for the rant but I sensed a little snobbery there and I didn't ask for opinions on my decision making.

Thanks for all the ideas so far guys, I have a tough choice to make.
re: Eeeeewwwwwww.... CXP 33's..jrm
Jul 20, 2002 3:38 PM
i fifth the Open pro's with ultegra hubs.
re: Eeeeewwwwwww.... CXP 33's..jtkirk15
Jul 20, 2002 7:19 PM
My bike is Campy so I take it as a vote for Chorus laced to OPs.