RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any PT Cruiser owners?(14 posts)

Any PT Cruiser owners?AaronL
Jul 18, 2002 11:14 AM
Am thining of getting one but my major issue is if I can get my bike in the back with the seat(s) folded forward.

I want to be able to get it in with the front wheel off and have the bike standing up. It seems tall enough and the rear hatch opening is quite large. I just wondered if any of you have some real-world experience with one.

TIA
AL
re: Any PT Cruiser owners?Snyderman
Jul 18, 2002 11:33 AM
I've got a PT Cruiser but I installed the hidden hitch and use a rack on the back.

I can check it out and let you know.

Steven
re: Any PT Cruiser owners?ClydeTri
Jul 18, 2002 11:41 AM
I also have a hidden hitch with a Hollywood Pro Rider rack, however, I will need to stash a bike inside in the future. You know the rear seats remove completely quite easily?
Here's a threadSteve_O
Jul 18, 2002 1:15 PM
You might want to contact this guy over on MTBr...

http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.ef5cda2
re: Any PT Cruiser owners?Snyderman
Jul 18, 2002 4:18 PM
Okay, I did some playing around with my bike and here are the results:

You will have to remove the back seats to get your bike to fit in the back. There is not enough room with the seats in. The roof is also high enough that I didn't have to muck around with the saddle either.

Hope this helps!
why a PT Cruisergregario
Jul 19, 2002 4:56 AM
basically you're buying a Neon with cool sheet metal over it. It's gotten bad reviews. My nephew worked as an engineer intern for Crysler and said it was junk.
Why is it any of your &$&$$ business?AaronL
Jul 19, 2002 8:02 AM
Nothing pisses me off more than posts like yours. I didn't ask for your opinion of the vehicle, so why do you feel the need to chime in with a WORTHLESS opinion?

Stick to the topic and offer a RELEVANT opinion when asked.

AL
you're right.gregario
Jul 19, 2002 8:28 AM
it was a bullshit move on my part, sorry. After I posted I thought, "now why did I do that?" Just further evidence of my lack of social skills. Actually, I think they are extremely cool looking. Enjoy it.
Oh, I dunnogrzy
Jul 19, 2002 8:32 AM
The guy is thinking of getting one - I'd sure want to know if it was a POS - even if my bike did fit inside.

It's kinda funny how people ask a question in a general forum and then get all pissed off when they don't hear the answer they want to hear. Shoulda posted in www.iluvptcruzers.com
naw...gregario
Jul 19, 2002 8:38 AM
my message would have offended me too. Let's say I wanted to buy a Colnago...I think they are cool looking, and asked a question about sizing. If some dick started spouting off about how ugly they were I might be a little annoyed...he didn't deserve my opinion on the quality of his choice.
Oh, I dunnoAaronL
Jul 19, 2002 9:42 AM
What you are missing here is that when someone posts a question, there are many who just feel the need to respond, regardless if the response is actually pertinent to the question; whether it's positive or negative, is not the issue.

Sure, I want to know if my money will be well spent on the vehicle. But, this is a cycling forum, not a car forum.
There are times when there is thread drift, and it's appropriate, but this is not the case.

How many times has someone asked about bike X and then some joker comes in and says " I don't know crap about bike X, but my bike, bike Y, is the bomb." Who gives a rat's ass about this guy's bike Y? Maybe the guy asking the question already knows about bike y and just wants to know about X.

So, you see, I'm asking about the bikes fitting inside a PTC becuase this is a bike forum. When I want to learn about the car itself, ie, performance, reliability... I'll go to a site that is for cars only.

So please, don't assume your opinion, when it's off topic, is valid or even wanted if it's not asked for.
Wellgrzy
Jul 19, 2002 11:13 AM
One of the beauties of the 'net and news groups like this in general is that sometimes you get more than you ask for and stuff that you really don't want. The big assumption here is that you're adult enough to deal with it. Obviously another mistake on our part.

If you really cared about the fit issue as much as you claimed, wouldn't it make a huge difference as to what size bike you're trying to squeeze into the car? Are you riding a 52 cm frame a 64 cm or something else? Gee, don't you think a visit to a dealer with your bike would answer all of your questions - that's probably way too much work for someone like yourself. Tell me what you ride and I'll go visit the dealer for you and give you the exact answer you're looking for. At the end of the day any bike will fit inside that car - it's quite large and people get their bikes in all sorts of things like Honda sedans, Toyotas, BMWs. etc. I stuff my 56 cm in both the back seat and the trunk of my Subaru 2.5RS Impreza - have you seen the size of one of these things compared to a PT Cruiser? If you're too lazy to find things out for yourself then you at least ought to be prepared to deal with the varried repsonses and opinions. Afterall, they're at least worth what you paid for them.

Put it another way - how would you feel if one of the reposnes said "no problem" you went out and bought the car *without* checking get home only to find that you bike doesn't fit? Kinda stupid? Gee some poster said it would work....

Anyone thinking of buying that car is more interested in making a fashion statement anyway. In the end you may still buy it even if you have to take off both wheels or move a seat. What's your alternative?

Be glad anyone responded to you at all even though you didn't hear exactly what you wanted to hear. Otherwise qualify your question or FO.
First, you can FOAaronL
Jul 19, 2002 11:56 AM
Secondly it seems as if you are intent on getting the last word in so I'll give you some food for thought.

I did QAULIFY my original question. It was clear and to the point. I NEVER ASKED you our anyone else his/her opinion of the vehicle.

Don't assume I'm too lazy to go check things myself, don't assume I'll take an opinion here as gospel and go purchase a car based only on one's post. Don't assume I don't already have a car that I can put my bike into. And, finally don't assume that I'm not adult enough to filter out the stupid ramblings of geeks like you.

You support the BS by doing nothing more than starting and perpetuating flame wars on this board. You pathetic loser.

It's your opinion dickhead, it's surely not gospel.
You go F&&$ OFF!
First, you can FOClydeTri
Jul 19, 2002 11:59 AM
why cant we all just get along? :~)