RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


bianchi ev2 xl(7 posts)

bianchi ev2 xlstevesbike
Jul 18, 2002 7:08 AM
Has anyone had any long-term experience with the durability of this frame? THere are good reviews of it, but nothing about how it has held up. I'm very tempted to try one--$900 with full carbon fork seems like a great value. thanks
re: bianchi ev2 xlDougSloan
Jul 18, 2002 7:19 AM
I have my 2000, but sold my 2001. The 2001 was the first one with the sloping tt, I think, and integrated head set.

My 2000 is just fine. I did break the carbon steer tube, but they replaced it with a different design fork.

I didn't like the 2001. I just don't care for sloping, and I got it in black instead of celeste. It was a bit stiffer and heavier.

Doug
re: bianchi ev2 xl853
Jul 18, 2002 7:38 AM
I've seen a few of these break(3).All of them where the BB meets the tubes, they were all diffrent breaks but in the same general area. Of course they were replaced by Bianchi but these guys went without there bikes for about a month.
I wanted one pretty bad till these started showing up, I guess if your a lightweight Pantani then there would be no problems. I would rather not risk it, Get a Cannondale, so stiff and an awesome climber. I would not get an expensive aluminum frame w/ out a lifetime or at least 5 year warranty
I believe Cannodale, Orbea and a few others offer this.
Lates
re: bianchi ev2 xlAaronL
Jul 18, 2002 7:43 AM
I have a 2002 EV2 and it's a great bike.

I cracked my second boron frame so Bianchi offered to give me a new EV2, I took them up on the offer and I'm very happy with it.

I would say the best thing about the bike is it's stability, it's much more stable on the downhills when compared to my Specialized E5.

I know that for '02 they changed to a 1 1/8 steerer and a better all-carbon fork. If you weigh over 150, I do not recommend the old 1" fork, it's a noodle.

For the money, it's tough to beat. Just make sure you get the shop to clean out all the threads in the bb, der hanger, water bottle bosses. Bianchi never does and they are loaded with paint.

AL
re: bianchi ev2 xlTim Field
Jul 18, 2002 8:07 AM
Ah I was wondering when someone would mention the E5 this is selling for 600 quid which is the same price (in offers, deals etc. ) as a Cannondale Cad5 frame. So how does the E5 compare to the worlds best. It seemed as if Specialized were claiming it's up there with Litespeed etc. Is this a sheep in wolfs clothing?

Thanks, Tim
if you are talking about the XL Boron...sprockets2
Jul 18, 2002 8:34 AM
which is the steel high-end Bianchi for those who didn't know, I have some experience with it. The direct experience is that it is amazingly light. When the dealer handed me the frame, my initial reaction (based on weight) was that it was the top-of-the-line aluminum model. Then I looked it over and it was steel. Very eye opening. The finishing and detailing was very nice, and the welds were nicely done. I pulled and prodded the rear triangle and I was similarly impressed with how strong it was given its amazing weight.

I rode one that day and while it may not have had that absolute unyielding stiffness of an aluminum racer, it was very stiff, and gave a very decent ride as well, more so than top aluminum bikes will give. I could not get the rings to grind, and I didn't feel very much going on down there at all, and I was stomping up some distressingly vertical streets with my 220 pounds.

Overall road behavior was very nice. It was stable but changed directions quickly, and at high speed could be manuevered with just a flick here or there. The one I rode was in full Campy and the components were excellent, having a nicer feel and better braking than my Ultegra group on my Litespeed. I was very impressed with the XL and felt that it was probably the best bike I had ridden, and had the stiffest BB of any non-aluminum bike that I have ridden.

Other experiences with the XL Boron are second hand. I have met two serious riders who put on many miles a year and they have had their XLs are year or so (I don't know how long they have been making it) and have had no problems at all. I had also worried over the frame-once I had hefted it and realized that it was so light-but I realized that light doesn't equate to fragile. The Dedaccai tubing is just amazing. When I rode the XL Boron I realized that this is as strong a steel frame as I might need-because it is stronger than any I have ridden. It was with a heavy heart that I ended up not getting the XL as I was in a cash flow situation-nobody wants to buy my Litespeed.

In summary, although I haven't seen any of the positive reviews that you cite, I have to say that if they gush enthusiastically, then I agree. Very nice bike.
I've got a little over 10kgrandemamou
Jul 18, 2002 8:40 AM
on an 01. I love the frame. Comfy for AL, light, stiff and handles like a go kart. There were many reports of breakages on 00 and below. I know that they made a few changes foam injection in seat tube, larger drive side chainstay etc. I don't know if it totaly fixed the problem but I am happy with mine.

It has a sloping top tube but is not a true compact frame ala Giant. FWIW I weigh 145 and ride a 51. If you are a large rider or need a large size you may want to go with an Alloro. It's made of sturdier stock. If not the EV2 is an excellent choice, fairly inexpensive and good history of honoring warranties.