RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Good first bike?(8 posts)

Good first bike?daneil
Jul 18, 2002 6:26 AM
my lbs (or the only lbs around that accepts trade-ins) only carries Fujis, Jamis' and C-Dales. I'm looking at either this year's R700, maybe the or the 2003 R600. Any opinions? The highest i can go is around 1300 or so. the trade in is a ti mtb so i should get a pretty chunk of change back for it, plus $400-$500 cash. Thanks guys.

Also wondering if anyone has any opinions on the new Gipiemme Techno 4.24 wheels that come with it. never seen 3-paired spoke wheels before, any actual advantage? Thanks.

here's a link: http://www.cannondale.com/bikes/03/cusa/model-3RR6D.html

and a pic
Bike's fine, wheels a harmless gimmick, IMOcory
Jul 18, 2002 6:54 AM
I've owned a couple of Cannondales, and liked them both. The market is so competitive in that price range that the bikes are pretty similar anyway, in terms of quality and components.
Don't know anything specific about those wheels, but off the top of my head, they just rate a shrug: Look cool, probably don't hurt anything. I wouldn't buy them, but I'm a Clydesdale and tend to have problems with anything below 32 very well-tensioned spokes.
re: Good first bike?aliensporebomb
Jul 18, 2002 7:30 AM
Looks nice but my understanding is it's still a mixture of
105, and Tiagra.

Why? I got my full 105 bike for $1299 and I didn't have to compromise by going to lower gruppos for certain parts.

Certainly the frame is a nice one and it would likely be
a very nice bike (don't know about the wheels, they look
strange but may work well) but the fact that they charge
in the $1300-$1400 range and still don't give you full 105
is silly.
Giant Forks...miposy
Jul 18, 2002 1:15 PM
I have a buddy who has this bike, and his Giant Composite aero straightblade fork flexes laterally in a big, big way. He says he can feel it, but that it isn't "too" scary. I can tell you that it is really scary to watch, however.

In fact, it is the only thing he doesn't love about the bike.

Just an FYI...
Giant Forks... I'm big and I sprint, climb...tempeteKerouak
Jul 18, 2002 1:47 PM
No adverse feelings

I flew the bike over 75km/hre on long downhills, sprinted, climbed standing. Even with the brake pads very tight, I have not felt any flex... I have the fork that came with the 2001 TCR 2; alu steerer.

5'10 and a hair
175 lbs

I find the Giant is the best bike for the money, period.

Only the Mavic wheels are a taking a little slack now. But I've really beaten them.
re: Good first bike?Maggiefan
Jul 18, 2002 8:14 AM
Check out the Douglas Fusion from Colorado Cyclist for $1300. this week. It has the Ultegra grouppo, Velomax Comp wheel set, Reynolds Pro Ouzo carbon fork, carbon seatpost, and Easton ultralight 7005 aluminum with s-bend carbon seat stays. I have a 53cm frame and it weighs 17.5lbs. You can see it at: www.coloradocyclist.com. Good luck and keep us posted!
re: Good first bike?raboboy
Jul 18, 2002 9:01 AM
Oi! Talk about not answering the question... he didn't ask about Douglas or CC or Giants, he is trading in at his LBS and asking about C'dales because they don't have those others.

I'm a big fan of my C'dale. From the website, it looks like they both have a Tiagra/105 mix (though more 105 on the r700). You didn't mention $ so i'd say go with the r700. Although, choosing which color you like better would be the way to go. :)
re: Good first bike?daneil
Jul 18, 2002 10:15 AM
i don't think there's all that much more 105 on the 700. plus i like the look of the new slice ultra fork and the black is just sweet looking (although not with that big ole stem). the only tiagra is the ft. derailleur, cassette, and chain. In any event it will be an upgrade from my ti hardtail mtb with hutchinson top slicks. yeah, i think that's the way i'm gonna end up going if i can't scrape together the cash for the r900 or the new r1000. i'll let you know in 2 weeks. can't wait to head down to the lbs. thanks.