RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


how to keep sweat stinging the eyes ?(9 posts)

how to keep sweat stinging the eyes ?nn23
Jul 17, 2002 2:39 PM
With the summer really hot now, how do you keep the sweat off your eyes. I know there are headbands and bandanas out there but anyone used any of these? Any recommendations which is more effective and comfortable. Wouldn't they look too geeky?
re: how to keep sweat stinging the eyes ?PaulCL
Jul 17, 2002 2:47 PM
sweatbands: available at your LBS. Not the old terry cloth kind. They fill up too fast

Geeky....naahhh I have three (thank you Santa): one "TDF", one "Colnago" and one "Campagnolo" Now if one said "Huffy" or "Nascar" or "I love Martha Stewart" THAT would be geeky. By the way..how do you think Martha will decorate her jail cell???
Halo headbandDaveG
Jul 17, 2002 3:01 PM
I was really skeptical at first on this product but I picked 2 up last month on some positive reviews. The thing really works. Its a very thin headband with a rubber strip that channels sweat around to the back. Has worked for me in really hot weather as long as you are moving. Once you stop for a while the seat can build up and overcome the dam effect. I have not tried under these conditions but the same might be true on long slow hot climbs. I'm a heavy sweater but this product has worked for me.
Headsweats skull cap..DINOSAUR
Jul 17, 2002 8:20 PM
Light, fits comfortably under your helmet, sucks up the moisture and you can hand wash it after your ride and it will air dry by the next day. Stick to the coolmax material and avoid cotton.
Sunscreen causes stinging, usually. nmBreakfast
Jul 18, 2002 7:05 AM
the squeezeDougSloan
Jul 18, 2002 8:00 AM
Particularly when on long climbs, I'll look down and push against the front of my helment, squeezing the sweat out of the pads. It comes gushing out, making the pads absorbent once more. Lean a little to the side, or your computer gets doused. Works for me.

Doug
re: how to keep sweat stinging the eyes ?tarwheel
Jul 18, 2002 8:05 AM
Living in the Southeast, it's sweat country with the high heat and humidity. I always wear a sweat band or a Coolmax Headsweats dooraggie thing. I used sweat bands on shorter rides, but Headsweat on longer rides to prevent my bald top from sunburning. As others mentioned, the stinging might be caused by sunscreen. If that is the case, try using hypoallergenic sunscreen formulated for children. It's usually got a high SPF rating and really works.
Don't apply sunscreen above the eyes.nmBreakfast
Jul 18, 2002 11:32 AM
Thanksnn23
Jul 18, 2002 12:23 PM
Thanks for the suggestions. I searched and found a similar thread posted here a few days ago. Between all the responses received and those on the other thread I'v decided and ordered online the coolmax headsweats bandana. Lets see how it works out.