RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


campagnolo is amazing...(20 posts)

campagnolo is amazing...mike r
Jul 16, 2002 4:15 PM
went for my first proper ride with campag today after using shimano for years.
de rosa merak built with campag record (39-52, 21-11 cassette)

first impressions were that the hoods felt strange and it took more muscle power to change gear. soon got used to them though.
the speed of the gear changes is fantastic, cresting a hill you can shift across the cassette with just two pushes of the thumb lever while the guy with shimano has to click his lever 8 times.
i also love the clean lines of the components and the attention to detail.

don't mean to start another shimano vs campag war
Welcome into the light, grasshopper.PaulCL
Jul 16, 2002 4:41 PM
Couldn't resist. I love my Campy too and I rode Shimano for years.

Not to start a flame war - its' all personal taste. Paul
Duck, it's a train! (nm)grzy
Jul 16, 2002 5:23 PM
re: campagnolo is amazing...legs
Jul 16, 2002 5:20 PM
the funny thing is that your campy shifters will 'break-in' after a few hundred miles of shifting and man, you will really be smiling..
they get even better...and lighter responding...
re: campagnolo is amazing...koala
Jul 16, 2002 5:26 PM
I especially like approaching a hill in the big ring and shifting both thumb levers to simultaneously go to the little ring and upshift the cassette. With a little practice you can get it right every time. Love my campy.
YOU KNOW IT!!GK
Jul 16, 2002 6:21 PM
That's my favorite shift. So glad I joined the Italians on this one.

Only "complaint" is that I'm hard on the hoods, and the right one has managed to slide out of place on rare occasions, which fouls the rear downshifting. Anyone else have this?
i've never had one slipColnagoFE
Jul 17, 2002 7:47 AM
you sure yours are on tight enough?
Oops...I meant the rubber piece thatGK
Jul 17, 2002 11:06 AM
sheaths the shifter. The shifters themselves stay put (as they should).

The rubber hood on my Centaur shifters is held in place partially by resting in a groove on the shifter body I guess I put enough weight on it that it sometimes gets displaced (only a little bit), but enough to foul the downshift lever.

One of my friends joked that I should put Chorus shifters on the Christmas List and forget about the problem.
Welcome to our world (nm)tmguy
Jul 16, 2002 5:45 PM
You guys are making me jealousMr Good
Jul 16, 2002 6:36 PM
My shimano shift lever just crapped out--and it's not repairable, it's just an expensive item that goes in the trash--can't afford to upgrade the whole drivetrain to Campag, but it's still pretty expensive to drop the ca$h on a new set of STI levers!

As soon as I can, I'm going all Campy...
Testify!<nm>klay
Jul 16, 2002 7:57 PM
Thems fighting wordsol
Jul 16, 2002 8:26 PM
Why isn't TdF exclusively campy? Why does Lance use Shimano? nmRoyGBiv
Jul 17, 2002 4:58 AM
Why isn't TdF exclusively campy? Why does Lance use Shimano? nmkoala
Jul 17, 2002 5:21 AM
because he is paid lots of money to ride shimano.
they ride what they are paid to ride (nm)ColnagoFE
Jul 17, 2002 6:18 AM
they ride what they are paid to ridebic
Jul 17, 2002 6:43 AM
Yes that is true to some degree. But then why are there rebadged frames ridden by some. And by some who win the big races. If there was that great a difference between the two they would all ride what they want. If one bike were that much better or one grouppo were that much better you can't tell me that if a rider were able to win on that equipment they would not use it. It's all about winning and when you win you get paid more.
I doubt a race was ever won by having Campy OR ShimanoColnagoFE
Jul 17, 2002 7:50 AM
though i'm sure that pros get used to a certain system and are reluctant to use another. i know when i demoed a bike with D/A i hated it--very non-intuitive shifting and i kept hitting the brakes everytime i went for the big ring, but i imagine the same might be true for those that switch from shimano to campy.
the big guysgrandemamou
Jul 17, 2002 9:07 AM
get to ride what they want. The rest of the team is in full team kit. With frames, unless it's a radicaly different design, no one will know the difference, well almost no one.

I'm no Techno geek, but I could tell from a quick glance whether the rider is using S or C. No way to deny it by calling it a "proto-type" ala Klein.

The bottom line is they are both good enough to win. It just comes down to the execution and form. Every thing the original poster mentioned as advantages of C over S are true. However, the gate swings both ways. Which advantages do you most prefer? Which disadvantages can you not deal with? Once you answer, that the choice is made.
re: campagnolo is amazing...rengaracchi
Jul 17, 2002 7:05 AM
Me too. I have been riding Shimano for years and recently got a full set of Campy Record. It is very nice, however, I have to say that Shimano has better "sensible" touch on brake controls. My Ultegra feels much better than Campy Regord. But, this again, is a highly personal opinion. They both work equally well for what they are made for.
Good stuff isn't it? I love it. nmNo_sprint
Jul 17, 2002 7:27 AM