RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


?? Pinarello Prince or Merckx Team SC ?? (nm)(10 posts)

?? Pinarello Prince or Merckx Team SC ?? (nm)pben
Jul 16, 2002 7:05 AM
re: ?? Pinarello Prince or Merckx Team SC ?? (nm)niteschaos
Jul 16, 2002 8:26 AM
Bicycle Magazine gave the Merckx Team SC its highest rating of five stars, the only bike to recieve the "close to perfect" rating. I remember reading about how responsive and confidence inspiring the ride was. They gave the prince 4 stars, but didn't have so much niceness to thier review.
re: ?? Pinarello Prince or Merckx Team SC ?? (nm)pben
Jul 16, 2002 8:34 AM
Thanks, I'll try to find the article
They're probably both excellent, but as for the reviews...djg
Jul 16, 2002 1:26 PM
I think the bike reviews in Bicycling Magazine are all but worthless.

It's interesting that, on the one hand, the board seems nearly universal in being down on Bicycling as a publication, but that, on the other hand, we often see people cite reviews from the mag. when it's convenient. I don't think this is dishonest. I think it's an example of what a colleague of mine once called the "Time Magazine Phenomonon." He described it roughly as follows: "Whenever they write about something I really know about, they completely botch it. But on everything else they seem pretty good." YMMV.
re: ?? Pinarello Prince or Merckx Team SC ?? (nm)dirthead
Jul 16, 2002 8:55 AM
I have a Team SC and it is an awesome bike! I have never ridden a Pinarello, so can't give you a comparison. Cbike.com has the Team SC for $1650 right now, pretty good price (you have to put the bike in your shopping cart to see the lower price).

The Team SC absorbs shock quite well, is extremely light, and the geometry is very comfortable for longer rides. You probably won't be disappointed with either bike, but from experience, I can tell you the Merckx is AWESOME!
Team SCalansutton
Jul 16, 2002 9:59 AM
I just bought a Team SC last month. Love it. I rode the Price and a ton of other frames and decided on the Team SC. Actually I would have bought the Calfee but I didn't want to wait 3 months. I got the Domo paint on a 48cm slopping frame. It's not that light however. My small frame weighed a dead 3lbs and the fork was 485grams. Not super light. Also, the carbon chain stays look pretty cheesy, like stickers. But it rides well, even though it weights more than my Giant TCR.
re: ?? Pinarello Prince or Merckx Team SC ?? (nm)Franchise
Jul 16, 2002 10:18 AM
I have had a Pinarello Prince for the past two seasons. I love it. I have ridden the Team SC, but I find that the Prince is more responsive as well as a better ride. I know that the oversize aluminum tubes in the Prince may be too rigid and some may say they beat you up, but I love the ride. I currently use a CF seatpost and I do not have any problems with vibrations. Let me know if you would like more information.
Can't go wrong with eitherNo_sprint
Jul 16, 2002 10:36 AM
And neither is decisively better in my opinion. The decision might come down to which geometry fits you better.
re: ?? Pinarello Prince or Merckx Team SC ?? (nm)EYT
Jul 16, 2002 10:41 AM
I also ride a Prince and I love it very much. It's one of the best all rounder. There are two reviews at www.bethelcycle.com which might help you to decide.
Thanks to all for responses - will post chosen framepben
Jul 16, 2002 10:51 AM
btw - it will be outfitted w/campy - No Question. if anyone cares