RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ok, I bought a bike....am I fast yet?(9 posts)

Ok, I bought a bike....am I fast yet?Bill is in Denver
Jul 15, 2002 8:40 PM
Well, I just went from dirt to street in one fell swoop. Some of the advice on this board took me from the bottom of the line entry level bike to looking at more of the 1-1.5k range. I rode a lot of bikes, made a list of those I liked the best and started looking around. I had pretty much decided on a trek 2000 when I came accross this Litespeed Atlas on the net. Turns out I had ridden one, at an LBS earlier that day as a 'this one is a bit pricier than you're looking for but I want to show you a nicer bike for comparison'. The price was much better than I expected and what can I say...I impulse bid (last 30 seconds of course). So now I'm in the market for some clipless pedals...any recommendations?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1842900844

Dammit, I'm a roadie ...my friends are giving me hell ...but now I can commute to work on pedal power.

Bill
re: Ok, I bought a bike....am I fast yet?Pennywise999
Jul 15, 2002 8:47 PM
Congrats on your new ride!! I'm a mountain convert as well flying around at 50 mph is just as much fun as downhilling on a 6 inch travel mountain bike. You may want to look into the speedplay pedals. Thats what i got.
re: Ok, I bought a bike....am I fast yet?Bill is in Denver
Jul 16, 2002 12:41 AM
I have been looking into them...which ones did you get?

Bill
re: Ok, I bought a bike....am I fast yet?Pennywise999
Jul 16, 2002 2:42 PM
I bought the speedplay x-3's. One thing though, you can technically use your mountain shoes on your road bike, but you wont get the same amount of power you get with a stiff soled road shoe.
re: Ok, I bought a bike....am I fast yet?gregario
Jul 16, 2002 5:05 AM
unless i missed it in my quick scan of the e-bay listing, what components does it have?
re: Ok, I bought a bike....am I fast yet?Bill is in Denver
Jul 16, 2002 10:26 AM
Campagnolo centaur groupo. Being of the mountain bike shimano upbringing I expected to hate campy...but what can I say, it fealt pretty good to me shifting with my thumb.

http://www.roadbikereview.com/2002+Road+Bike/Litespeed+Atlas/PRD_102520_4229crx.aspx

Bill
Your friends will stop giving you hell when...biknben
Jul 16, 2002 5:33 AM
Your friends will stop giving you hell when you're spanking them all over the trail. Road riding is certainly the best training method for MT biking.

I race on dirt but spend 95% of my time on pavement. Drives them crazy!!! :-)
Are you gonna buy road shoes?off roadie
Jul 16, 2002 5:44 AM
You may want to get pedals that work with your MTB cleats / shoes, assuming you use clipless on dirt. Some road specific pedals will work with the mountain soes / cleets (Time is one I think), and some pedals are generally considered dual purpose (bebop, eggbeaters, frogs). I use plain double sided SPD'd on both my road and mountian bikes, but my road bike is very much the "poor cousin" of my stable, at least in terms of cash investment so far. On theo other hand, I've seen a fair number of folks with flashy bikes doing the same. Its up to you- I don't think "dirt" pedals are gonna slow you down any in a non-racing environment, and they are more conveieninet, especially if you have shoes set up for them already. On the other hand, if you already droped 12 benjies on a sweet road ride, what's another $150-$300 for the matching shoes and pedals?
Wow, she looks fast just sitting there.AllisonHayes
Jul 16, 2002 10:28 AM
I had no idea Litespeed made Al bikes. Nice color scheme as well. I am glad you got a good price for it and it was within your price range.

Give us a ride report on it.

Allison (who knows, I may have to rethink my opinion of Litespeed. NOT)