RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


My new ride.(11 posts)

My new ride.Pennywise999
Jul 15, 2002 8:35 PM
Hey here is a pic of my new bike. After more than 10 years of mountain biking i decided that i really loved the speed of a road bike. So i got my new Cannondale R1000. I know some people have their opinions of Cannondales, but i've always wanted one and now i have one!! It's so fast and so light!! I'm now riding it more often than my mountain bike.
Congratulationsmickey-mac
Jul 15, 2002 8:40 PM
Road and mountain have their merits, but there's nothing quite like flying along a freshly paved road on a set of 700x23 tires. Others' opinions of your bike won't cross your mind when you're descending a mountain road at 50 mph. Have fun.
you'll come back...they always do...nmdustin73
Jul 15, 2002 8:52 PM
you'll come back...they always do...nmPennywise999
Jul 15, 2002 9:07 PM
Believe me there is no way i'm going to stop mountain biking. Flying downhill on my 5 inch travel Specialized FSR with my full face helmet is just too damn much fun!!
Welcome to the road, enjoy the bike (nm)Scot_Gore
Jul 15, 2002 8:54 PM
re: My new ride.Breakfast
Jul 15, 2002 10:31 PM
I love both mountain and road biking, and if I can indulge myself with an analogy that perhaps other firearms enthusiasts, like me, can appreciate, then road bikes are like rifles and mountain bikes are like pistols.

I've always considered rifles as far more interesting, and that seems true of road bikes as well. Pistols are basically a useful compromise.

Road bikes have an aesthetic value unmatched by MTB's. Sorry, just seems like that's the way it's supposed to be.

I'll probably be thought of as a little different here, but that's my analogy.
Interesting analogyMatno
Jul 16, 2002 5:05 AM
I think you got it right, except that you forgot to mention that pistols are more fun. I used to compete in action pistol competitions (before I moved to the communist city of New York where we can't even have guns in our homes), and I must say that there is nothing more fun than hitting a moving target with a handgun. However, it's equally difficult to match the satisfaction I get from drilling the bullseye at 200 yds with my ultra-accurate .300 magnum. If you think pistols are merely a useful comprimise, you haven't used them the way I have. Although I would never give up my rifle, if I had to choose just one, it would be my pistol (and my mountain bike) both for the fun factor and for being useful in more situations. (I've rarely, if ever, had as much fun as when I used to go rabbit hunting with my pistol, and I couldn't really carry the Winchester for self defense).

Then again, riding a bike doesn't cost money every time you pull the trigger (although it's close!)

By the way, I thought about comparing a shotgun to cyclocross, but that wouldn't be doing the shotgun justice. Sure, it's not as good as either a rifle or a pistol for some situations, but sometimes it's just the ticket. If the only thing shotguns were good for was skeet shooting, then I think the cyclocross comparison would be valid. (You know - basically not all that good for anything but very specific competition).
americans and gunsscruffyduncan
Jul 16, 2002 7:57 AM
I just can't see firearms as something to be used for sport.

When Osama Bin Laden was asked where he would go if chased out of Afghanistan, he said it would be somewhere where the locals are heavily armed and fiercely independent of authority, maybe he loves the good ole US of A after all!.
Ah, but that's not exactly correct.Matno
Jul 16, 2002 10:25 AM
First, we're not "heavily" armed. Somewhat armed would be more accurate. (That's speaking of the population at large, not individuals who, unfortunately, are becoming the exception). Just because other countries have naively allowed themselves to be disarmed does not make the USA heavily armed. As for countries in which firearms have been recently banned (i.e. in the last 10 years), every one of them has skyrocketing violent crime. (Canada, England, Australia, to name a few). Some people will never learn. It's just too difficult for them to vote with their heads instead of their (ignorant) hearts. I apologize if I offend anyone, but if you haven't grown up with firearms, there is no way that you can objectively view the issue. There is an unnatural fear associated with such unfamiliarity.

Secondly, we (Americans) are not fiercely independent of authority. We are strongly distrustful of too much authority concentrated in one place, but we do consider ourselves subject to the rule of law.
re: My new ride.Juanmoretime
Jul 16, 2002 1:25 AM
Excellent choice, I too venture in both worlds and disagree with some of the posters here. I started riding a road bike of thirty years ago and started dabbling in mountain bikes about ten years ago. There is something about being on my Santa Cruz superlight on the trail. The trail is a constantly changing enviorment compared to the road. You find a tree blown down, a new washed out section a new mud hole, nature always throws something new at you to change the trail and challenge your skills. Hey, maybe if I called sick to work todayyyy.....
re: My new ride.Pennywise999
Jul 16, 2002 3:33 PM
It's almost like my road and mountain bikes are polar opposites. My 18 pound road bike is light with titanium parts, carbon fork, and clipless pedals. My mountain bike on the other hand is about 35 pounds, seriously overbuilt with full suspension and platform pedals. But both are equally fun in totally diffrent ways!!