RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Has anyone tried Extran?(10 posts)

Has anyone tried Extran?AllisonHayes
Jul 15, 2002 6:17 AM
It claims to be easy to digest with no aftertaste and is the best supplement available for long events. How would this compare with Cytomax, Accelerade or other sports drinks?
yes - bad experienceDougSloan
Jul 15, 2002 6:20 AM
It's attaction is that you can dissolve a great deal of it in water, making is very "calorie dense."

The problem is that your body can't use it that way, unless diluted with a lot of water. It made me horribly sick, bloated, gasey, and gave me the runs, and this is used at the recommended strength. It caused my to DNF a favorite event 2 years ago. Plus, it's expensive.

Sustained Energy from Hammer Nutrition seems to work the best for me. Something about longer chain carbo molecules...

Doug
Hammer Nutritionjromack
Jul 15, 2002 6:39 AM
All of their stuff is excellent, especially their gels!
yes - bad experiencefirstrax
Jul 15, 2002 9:31 AM
I'll second the hammer nutrition. Good stuff.
re: Didn't work well for me.dzrider
Jul 15, 2002 6:51 AM
I liked the taste but found it hard to drink enough of it without getting nauseous. The last time I used it I found myself sitting on a rock 400 yards from the end of a trail marathon waiting for cramps to subside so I could limp to the finish. Extran may not have caused the problem, but it didn't prevent it, and it's hard for me to forget the painful and pathetic experience.

Lately, I've been filling one bottle with water and one with full strength Ultima. It's not the best tasting stuff and tastes worse to me if it's dilluted, but it does work to hold me together. I've used Succeed when it's been free on the course and liked it, but haven't used it regularly. When the sweet drinks become unappetizing I eat a little Hammer Gel and an Endurolyte cap.
Accelerade sucksColnagoFE
Jul 15, 2002 7:27 AM
Had to choke some of that stuff down this weekend during the Triple Bypass. Reminded me of Endurox...nasty. Really sweet and heavy tasting. I'll stick with Cytomax personally.
re: Has anyone tried Extran?No_sprint
Jul 15, 2002 7:40 AM
I haven't tried it. I prefer Accelerade over all that I have tried. Cytomax was really thick and supersweet. Accelerade is much less thick and sweet and has the added benefit of protein in it.

Note: I recommend using about half the recommended amount of any powder to add to water.
Extran drink boxesBipedZed
Jul 15, 2002 10:32 AM
I use them in road races that last around 3 hours or more. The 7 oz. drink boxes are pre-mixed and I use them as an energy source like gel rather than as hydration. One drink box is 300 calories and 80g of carbs and is equivalent to 3 or 4 gel packets. It goes down really quick and easy.

Extran boxes are extremely popular in the Euro peloton. Perhaps the bad results are due to mixing too strong from the can?
I am a big fanDoubleK
Jul 15, 2002 11:49 AM
I have been using the carbo drink boxes and the thirst quencher drink mix for about a year with great results. I use the citrus drink mix and the peach boxes. The orange drink mix is the most vile tasting substance known to man imo, so beware. The carbo boxes are great for rides of 3 hours or more and the drink mix works great for me with a four scoops to 20oz H2O mixture. (Directions say 3 scoops but the citrus is way too sour for me at that concentration.) For me, Extran will stay down even under the hardest efforts, whereas I would be regurgitating Cytomax or Gatorade. I ride in the Mid-South so the humidity can be opressive and hydration is critical on those long, hard rides.

I do use Endurox R4 as a recovery drink and for me it works really well. Accellerade on the other hand, is sick. I just can't handle the thickness of it on the bike and if you dillute it to make is thinner then it is the second most vile tasting substance.

As you can see from all the different opinions, you are going to have to experiment, but for me Extran works very well.

Ride hard.
re: Has anyone tried Extran?Leak
Jul 15, 2002 7:25 PM
I use both Accelerade and Extran. In my opinion, Extran tastes better than Accelerade, especially once the temperatures heat up and the drinks get warm (obviously, they're both better really cold). Accelerade has that "creamy" taste due to the protein, but it seems to really help prevent cramps for me. Extran tastes like the old Tang orange drink and is easy to drink and digest, at least for me. It seems much better at quenching my thirst than Accelerade.

The one thing I don't like about Extran though, is that it stains your bottles, but that's about it.

Lee