RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Dreaded shifter upgrade(9 posts)

Dreaded shifter upgradepkompath
Jul 15, 2002 5:25 AM
Need advice on upgrading from 7 spd downtube shifters to 105 STI shifters. Im not upgrading the cogs at all, so do I need spacers, etc. in order for it to work. What would be the most difficult work for such an upgrade? Any advice and/or info would be greatly appreciated.
http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@111.Ojdxanogh9J^10@.muncher
Jul 15, 2002 5:28 AM
Dreaded indeedMel Erickson
Jul 15, 2002 5:34 AM
Unfortunately, you'll need a bit more than STI shifters to make this work. I assume you mean 9spd STI. Check your frame spacing, you may need to spread the rear triangle. At a minimum you'll need a new rear hub, cogset, chain, cables, cable housing and possibly a new rear derailleur in addition to the shifters. The new hub means a rear wheel rebuild. Is the bike worth all this or would you be happy with 7spd until you get a new bike?
Dreaded indeedpkompath
Jul 15, 2002 5:45 AM
8 spd
Dreaded indeedGregJ
Jul 15, 2002 6:55 AM
8-9 speed hub spacing is the same. So same deal as 9-speed. You can get a pair of 7-speed STI levers for 91 bucks from Mud, Sweat and Gears. I think you can just slap these on and use your current 7-speed set-up. I certainly would consult a shop mechanic however. FWIW, I rode for 15 years with downtube levers, only having STI the last 5 of my cycling career. I survived the downtube era no worse for wear. I would save your money till you are ready for a more updated complete bike. Enjoy what you have till then.
http://www.bikeusa.com/MERCHANT2/merchant.mv?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=MSGI&Category_Code=RoadShiftLeversShimano
Yep, same issuesMel Erickson
Jul 15, 2002 7:23 AM
Unless you get 7spd STI shifters you have to change just about everything I mentioned for 8spd too. The problem is the spacing of the rear triangle. 8 and 9spd have the same spacing, 7 is narrower. Ride it like it is or find an inexpensive pair of 7spd STI (is there such an animal?) and stick with 7spd unless you want the expense of upgrading to 9spd and the frame is worth the investment.
Agree with MelNo_sprint
Jul 15, 2002 7:47 AM
You'll have some really shifting in my opinion. I'm not sure that 8 speed STI shifters will even work with the 7 speed setup. I'm sure others here know a bit better.

I recommend you email Sheldon. He responded to my email a while back.

Good luck.
It depends upon which cassette you have on the rearLone Gunman
Jul 15, 2002 2:41 PM
for starters. A shimano hyperglide 7 speed is the correct STI spaced cassette. The teeth also are cut to aid shifting. You may want to upgrade the RD to Ultegra or 105. Next you need to find a set of RSX STI shifters(7speed), preferably a double, but a triple will work, you just have to set it up so you don't use one of the shift positions for the FD. I have not mentioned anything about hubs yet because I assume that you want to use what you have. If you need more info, provide what you have in use and we can go from there.
re: Dreaded shifter upgradecurlybike
Jul 15, 2002 11:09 AM
8 sp STI shifters will increment a 7-sp Shimano der. the proper amount for a 7 cluster. That is the only change required, besides the cable stops on the downtube.