RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Would you buy this frame?(9 posts)

Would you buy this frame?jtolleson
Jul 12, 2002 1:22 PM
And if you did, would you build it up with full Dura Ace, an EC90 fork, and a Zipp wheelset?

Well, a nutcase on another cycling board I visit is doing just that. Best warnings and advice aside.

The eBay listing says the frame is either "Raleigh or Diamondback." How long has DB been out of the road bike biz? How long since Raleigh used a 1 inch headtube?

Now the vendor is apparently assuring him that it is a Raleigh R700 frame, but it doesn't appear to have the aero downtube that Raleigh has been using for the last 4-5 years, so I'm very skeptical.
Whoops, hyperlinkjtolleson
Jul 12, 2002 1:22 PM
what is it? what is it worth? what are the risks? is he an idiot? (I already have my opinions about all of these things)

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1843391007
... it's definitely... something...Akirasho
Jul 12, 2002 1:52 PM
...perhaps it's a Univega (there has been some top and downtube manipulation... but my first impression is that it's not an R700)...

I guess the risks are relative to the final cost of the frame... you can hang high zoot components off a dog of a frame... and still have a box full of high zoot components... so that risk might be small.

If, however, the cost of the frame starts to rival some known standards... then it probably isn't worth the risk.

I notice that the frame has no warranty... and wonder what remedy the buyer has if he notes any damage upon receipt?

The photos show a relatively clean weld job... but such photos might not tell the whole story. On the other hand... I've found gems hanging in local shops with similar warranties.

Can you tell I'm on the fence here?

We abide.

Remain In Light.
Caveat Emptorgrzy
Jul 12, 2002 2:44 PM
It's not worth more than $100 to $150. No fork, uncertain pedigre, and no warranty. Figure you can get a new C'dale frame painted with fork and headset for $600. So how much could they possibly be buying a bare frame for? You still have to prime and paint this one, find a fork, etc. There's no assurance that the frame is even straight or if it's been heat treated. You can put Porsche wheels and a motor in a Yugo, but it's still a Yugo. There's a good reason why aluminum frames are used on every POS low end MTB at Costco. Then we haven't even gotten into how it rides....
Looks good to meNessism
Jul 12, 2002 6:14 PM
I agree that's not worth a whole lot, but it looks like a pretty nice frame to me. The seller has over 10,000 positive references with only 29 negatives so there is no reason to think they are BS'ing to make a sale.

On the positive side the frame is damn light (maybe too light!) and looks to be nicely constructed. The seller has done a great job of providing lots of high quality photos so the buyer can get a good look at the nude frame.

The only thing negative that I noticed is the riveted on rear derailleur cable stop. No biggie really.

To the person that has the capability to paint their own frame, I think this frame would make a great project. Slap on one of those discounted Easton carbon forks and you will have a nice light thrash about rig for very little cash.

Snobs need not apply.

Ed
Ed, $39.99 doesn't seem very high anyway.elviento
Jul 12, 2002 6:48 PM
But it would be a pain in the a55 to build it up. Not many sora kits lying around. And I wouldn't want to risk it with a $900 ULtegra kit.

On negative feedback thing: when someone has more than 4-5 negative feedbacks, you should start to be alert. Many people do not leave neg feedback even if they are not happy. I have done business with this seller. Bought a pair of Pearl Izumi shoe covers in size L, he sent me M, and took about 5 weeks to refund me and didn't compensate me for return shipping. I didnt want to get confrontational so didn't leave any feedback.

Bestgear4less received 4-5 hundred positive feedbacks and only 15 or so complaints, before they took my $178 with no goods or explanation and was suspended by ebay.
Making a silk purse out of a sow's ear? [nm]Leroy
Jul 12, 2002 4:50 PM
Howsa 'bout a coin purse out of a dead frog?Ahimsa
Jul 12, 2002 5:48 PM
~ribbet~
i bought...merckx56
Jul 12, 2002 6:03 PM
a thron steel frame from him and it came just fine. it was packed very well and is completely straight. for $100 you can make a complete beater/rain rig out of it. i got the steel one for $125 and put on a profile bsc fork and ultegra. it's a great beater/heavy training bike! i think he would stand behind what he sells!