RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Helmets are good for you.(14 posts)

Helmets are good for you.Mel Erickson
Jul 12, 2002 11:23 AM
Here's what Chris Carmichel has to say on the subject of helmets in le Tour, on your head and on Lance (taken from OLN):

"It is good to see more riders wearing helmets in the flat stages; it seems that almost everyone is wearing a helmet coming into the sprint finishes. Not only do helmets protect the riders, the new models also help keep their core temperatures down. This hasn't been much of an issue yet in this year's Tour, there has only been one really hot day so far. But the weather looks like it is going to clear up and the temperatures are sure to increase.

During hot and humid conditions in long stages of the Tour, it is very important for Lance to keep his body's core temperature normal. This is accomplished through sweating, the primary way the body cools itself. Lance's performance can be impaired by as little as a 2% loss of body weight due to dehydration. The head is a major dissipater of heat, and Lance's Giro helmet actually helps dissipate heat. His helmet helps insulate him from solar heat, which would otherwise be absorbed by his head. The vents allow body heat radiating from Lance's head to quickly escape from the top and the rear of the helmet. This technology provides a combination of insulation and ventilation not available with a cap or bare head.

Research has found there is a significant cooling advantage with the new helmets: head surface temperatures were up to 14 degrees cooler and riders' core temperatures cooled down up to 4 times more quickly. Keeping Lance's core temperature lower with new Giro helmet technology on the hot, humid days of the Tour de France helps reduce the chance of performance-sapping dehydration, which can be compounded by multiple days of competition.

That said, Lance will probably still be seen sans helmet on several climbing stages. He does that for a variety of reasons, habit being the primary one. Lance wears a helmet nearly 95% of the time he racing, and nearly 100% of the time when he is training. It is kind of ironic that so many Tour photos used throughout the year show him climbing without a helmet on."

Anybody have a link to the research he mentions?
re: Helmets are good for you.flying
Jul 12, 2002 11:47 AM
Im not knocking helmets but I have always found the opposite to be true about the heat.
When I wear a helmet on a long climb I really heatup more than wearing a cap.
I think it is because a cap once wet with sweat or a squirt from the water bottle keeps my core temp lower.
I think it is the same with the pro's & what he said about Lance not wearing one during climbs is a habit. I think thats crap. Habits are easy to break when you have the iron will of most pro bikers. But I think with the reduced air flow of a climb a helmet overheats you or least me ;-)
Lances Head.128
Jul 12, 2002 11:52 AM
Pardon my cynicism, but shouldn't the next paragraph begin:

"Lances new personally endorsed helmet line this fall will be..."

What he describes sounds helmets riders used 2, 5, 10 years ago...??
Sans helmut is just Euro-poseur de rigeur. (just talking trash so all you serious people please don't get upset). C'mon Carmicheal, isn't this all somewhat platitudinous??

I had a bug fly into my helmet, when that bug becomes a bee, I'm doomed. There's a helmet drawback.

Sometimes I can't scratch an itch on my own head. "Lance can asorb solor radiation with his head". That was my favorite part of the article...World class athlete's can do this sort of thing.

My point I have not well made...oh well
Maybe one too many falls sans helmet? nm ; )Mel Erickson
Jul 12, 2002 12:52 PM
TFFWgrzy
Jul 12, 2002 1:33 PM
Yeah, love the part about how it's very important to keep Lance's head cool. How about the rest of us little people? Some how I think that keeping my head cool is more important to me. Just a lot of shameless plugs for one of their sponsors - that I happen to like.
Semi-related threadEug
Jul 12, 2002 12:12 PM
here:

http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.ef5b388
Semi-related threadbikedodger
Jul 12, 2002 12:44 PM
I don't think that a helmet would have made any difference in a broken neck.

Mike
Perhaps or perhaps not, but one should still wear a helmet.Eug
Jul 12, 2002 2:21 PM
A helmet may have helped. Even if it didn't, it's always a good idea to wear a helmet.
Yep, read that oneMel Erickson
Jul 12, 2002 12:48 PM
Some are suggesting he wouldn't have benefited from a helmet. That's utter BS. A helmet would have absorbed some of the shock by either deforming or cracking or both and it would likely have been enough to prevent a broken vertebrae.
?? Staged ??filtersweep
Jul 14, 2002 5:30 AM
That video seems staged. It looks like he tried to plant his head into the ground- and we are talking grass. Call me cynical, call me paranoid... but something is just not right about posting three links to a video of a broken-neck accident- even if the guy is alright. Then again, it was mtnbike review .....
I think I'll market a new sticker, "<b>WWLD?</b>"Tig
Jul 12, 2002 1:58 PM
"What Would Lance Do?"/"WWLD?" stickers will take the cycling world by storm if/when he wins #4! LOL

In all seriousness, I can't recall hearing many useful arguements against helmets. I'll never ride without one again, no matter how long the climb or what the reason.
I don't even WATCH the tour w/out a helmet. nmseyboro
Jul 12, 2002 2:52 PM
Here's some research to the contrary...Tele_Pathic
Jul 12, 2002 4:12 PM
I read this yesterday. Down the page it mentions helmets with ultra-cooling properties and how unsafe they may be in an accident. Read for yourself. www.bhsi.org/helmet01.htm
Well, not really researchMel Erickson
Jul 12, 2002 5:57 PM
Just informed opinions. I generally agree but I don't think you sacrifice much in safety for more ventilation and style. They meet the same standard. There critism is more along the lines that manufacturers could use in shell molding to make a well ventilated and more protective helmet and that's true. However, manufacturers give the public what they want and the public thinks helmets are hot and ugly, therefore the push to make cooler and cooler helmets.