RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What is the best saddle?(13 posts)

What is the best saddle?Mauceri
Jul 12, 2002 9:12 AM
I just bought a Seven Axiom Steel and I just need to choose the saddle now. The one the guy at my LBS told me to get if I can part with the money is like $150.00. Says it is the most comfortable seat out there I think it is the Fizik Aliante? Says it is made of trampoline material inside and that he has been riding for 15 years....most comfortable saddle out he ever sat on.

I'm asking because it is about $150.00, but if it is that comfy i will buy it. Opinions?
re: What is the best saddle?jtolleson
Jul 12, 2002 9:22 AM
Most GOOD LBS's have a return policy that allows you some protection if you don't like a saddle... usually 30 days and undamaged.

I wouldn't drop $150 on a saddle at a shop that wouldn't let me return it if dissatisfied. I've heard good things about Fizik. If you are a distance rider you may want to consider the Koobi au enduro (www.koobi.com)
opinions are like bikeseatsSteveO
Jul 12, 2002 9:23 AM
everyone has one, and theyre all different.
Whats comfortable for the guy at the LBS (who, by the way, is trying to make a profit) may not be comfortable for you.

Personally, i wouldnt spend NEAR 150 bucks unless i KNEW it was comfortable (actually, not even then)

In many cases, proper bike fitting will eliminate the need for a magic saddle.
very trueelviento
Jul 12, 2002 1:04 PM
I wouldn't be surprised if someone spends $600 on saddles before figuring out it's more about the fit.

Our asses are more similar than we think they are.
Check out some reviewshrv
Jul 12, 2002 9:50 AM
Here's a link to several reviews that might help with your decision:

http://www.roadbikereview.com/Saddles/Fizik,Aliante/PRD_131548_2509crx.aspx
The one that fitsgrzy
Jul 12, 2002 9:52 AM
Problem is we're all different. In any event dropping $150 at the LBS on a saddle is a bit obscene. He must figure he's hooked a live one. The other thing to realize is that they haven't been making that saddle for 15 years. Your guy has a credibility problem.

Hey, I'll sell you MY saddle - it really is the best saddle in the whole world.....in my opinion. I also have about a half dozen other "sure fire" saddles that didn't work out so well.
The one that fitsda cyclist
Jul 13, 2002 8:55 AM
"your guy has a credibility problem"

I think you have a reading comprehension problem...
re: What is the best saddle?Aristotle
Jul 12, 2002 10:02 AM
Like everyone said, you can't really say there's a 'best' saddle. You can say there's a lightest or softest or hardest, etc. But not the best.

I just bought the new Selle Italia Prolink TransAm Gelflow. (longest saddle name I've seen!) It's hardly the lightest at >300g, but it's been very comfortable for me. I weigh about 145, though, so it may be a bad saddle for somebody who is 210.
re: What is the best saddle?aliensporebomb
Jul 12, 2002 11:34 AM
I have the Selle Italia Prolink (the non gel version
though) and I weigh 215-220 and it's VERY comfortable.

I thought for sure I'd have to go for something bigger and more padded but it really is great.

It's also sort of a dual position saddle - I can sit in
the middle or the rear where it fans out wider.

Not bad at all. Maybe some of the comfort is coming from
the fact that the fork and seatpost on my bike is carbon
but try it out.

The understated graphics are nice too, as opposed to some
of the more frenetic graphics in the saddle market. Some
of Selle's saddles look like magazine ads!
re: What is the best saddle?t-bill
Jul 12, 2002 10:25 AM
Check out the Selle Italia web-site. They have a description of different saddle types. The short version of their story is that if you move around on the saddle a lot, get one with a lot of slope to the sides (SI Flite, Gel, Trans-Am), but if you like to sit in one place get a flatter saddle (SI Prolink).

http://www.selleitalia.com/
then click products
then click "How to choose your saddle"
most ubiquitous saddle?DougSloan
Jul 12, 2002 10:30 AM
I'd say the default "try this first" saddle must be the Selle Italia Flite Ti. You can find them for about $50.

Doug
This is the only time you need to listen...klay
Jul 12, 2002 11:00 AM
...to what an ass is telling you.

K
The one that works for you. nmJuanmoretime
Jul 12, 2002 5:14 PM