RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Looks like you guys ran poor Leanne out of Dodge yesterday.(55 posts)

Looks like you guys ran poor Leanne out of Dodge yesterday.AllisonHayes
Jul 12, 2002 7:18 AM
Do you think she will ever return? You guys are just ruthless--and you sure know how to spoil a good party.
Ruthless, Good Party, Please explain. nmLen J
Jul 12, 2002 7:24 AM
You jumped all over her faster than a June bug in heat...AllisonHayes
Jul 12, 2002 7:37 AM
What do you mean, "please explain?"

(as LenJ takes on his famous naive and innocent boyish look, while behind his back he is sharpening his knive looking for the next victim to eviscerate.)
"victim to eviscerate?"Len J
Jul 12, 2002 8:19 AM
I didn't jump on anybody. I merely expressed doubt about the veracity of her claim that she was a supermodel. If you read the thread, it was not personal, I didn't name call & I expressed an oponion.

How is that "jumped all over her faster than a June bug in heat..."?

Len
"victim to eviscerate?"AllisonHayes
Jul 12, 2002 8:36 AM
I didn't say you were personal...please don't read into my comments things I didn't say.

To use your own words, you "called them on their scam." and you were the first one to cast doubt, "yea, right and I'm really Tom Cruise. Its a good schtick though..."

I am not being critical whatsoever, least of all towards you. I found the whole thing kind of strange as the threads went through their stages of degeneration until they reached denouement. Almost classic.

I am curious as to whether this put a stop to any future posts. What do you think?
Couple of possibilities.Len J
Jul 12, 2002 8:48 AM
1) She was real, and upset that we (I) didn't believe her. Unlikely but possible. She'll either come back to prove us wrong, or stay away.

2.) She/He was trying to create a character to see how people reacted. Most Likely IMO. She/He has two choices:
a) Come back the "Abused victim", which I think people would play to, or, b) Create an entirely new character learning from the "transparancy" of Leane Wilde" to try to suck us all in again (A la RRP).

I suspect that Leane is a creation of one of the regular posters (As was RRP). If true, they may do both a & b and interact with each other, (wouldn't that be fun to watch). Wonder if they could keep the characters straight (remember Theodisk/Trollman).

It is amusing to try to guess which are real & which are creations. (Or should I say more real). I sometimes wonder if 90% of the posters are one Middle aged, sedentary, bored, ex-programmer, with too much time on their hands.

Len
no wayDougSloan
Jul 12, 2002 7:25 AM
I took her posts as intentional attempts to provoke some innuendo and some perveted comments. She did the same thing with the "stem" thread a few months ago. Those softballs she throws uplow and outside are just too perfect to have been unintended ("Nice rack"???). If not, she's a little dense and naive.

Doug
I thought she got exactly what she asked fordzrider
Jul 12, 2002 7:30 AM
and most of it was good spirited. I'd like to see more of her.
'Leanne' is a teen age boy, for God's sake.scottfree
Jul 12, 2002 7:30 AM
I thought she got exactly what she asked fordzrider
Jul 12, 2002 7:30 AM
and most of it was good spirited. I'd like to see more of her.
I thought she got exactly what she asked forstik__boy
Jul 12, 2002 7:39 AM
i'd REALLY like to see more of her. i thought it was funny and entertaining..... she seems good natured. she trhew out the worm and everyone bit. some just didnt like the taste and spit it out.
Never did get a good pic. n/mfracisco
Jul 12, 2002 8:18 AM
n/m
Never did get a good pic. n/mAllisonHayes
Jul 12, 2002 9:18 AM
...there was a link provided to the "Whos who on Roadbike Review"
LOL! The troll continues! n/mfracisco
Jul 12, 2002 10:06 AM
n/m
Read her/his posts closely....bnlkid
Jul 12, 2002 8:22 AM
The posts were most likely written by a male. Leanne has disappeared because everybody figured her/him out.
I Sent the Posts to a Psychologist Friend...jromack
Jul 12, 2002 8:52 AM
and he said the posts were definitely written by a male...or Janet Reno.
LOL &........Len J
Jul 12, 2002 8:54 AM
Did you hear that the FBI took Janet Reno into a room, cleaned off all her makeup, and found.........

Jmmy Hoffa.

Len
To paraphrase the Wizard of Oz, "And she's not onlyAllisonHayes
Jul 12, 2002 9:08 AM
merely male, she's really most sincerely male," the psychologist friend emphatically says of Leanne.
you're kidding right?terry b
Jul 12, 2002 9:02 AM
I am certainly not the most perceptive person on the planet but having read two of his/her posts it was pretty clear to me that this was someone merely making a play on words out of cycling lingo.

"hop on and I'll break wind"
"nice rack"

seriously
she was lame, uninventive, boring & too contrivedSpirito
Jul 12, 2002 9:32 AM
im all one for a good gag and bait. i applaud those who do it with syle and ingenuity and she/he was running out of ideas and imagination.

takes more than evarage wit to play the straight man/woman. but then there ae some here with the personality of a wet fish who wouldn't have cared and played along.

tedious. if you throw curve balls make sure they are over the plate otherwise its just wasted effort.

oh... i forgot to mention - i dont like blondes :-)

ciao
...and clearly not a match for your dizzying intellectAllisonHayes
Jul 12, 2002 9:51 AM
Vizzini to Man in Black

i You've beaten my giant, which means you're exceptionally strong. So, you could have put the poison in your own goblet, trusting on your strength to save you. So I can clearly not choose the wine in front of you. But, you've also bested my Spaniard which means you must have studied. And in studying, you must have learned that man is mortal so you would have put the poison as far from yourself as possible, so I can clearly not choose the wine in front of me.

i You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is "Never get involved in a land war in Asia." But only slightly less well known is this:

b "Never go in against Spirito when mendacity is on the line."

Ultimately, I really think it was the blonde that got your sausage in a boil though...LOL:)
tis true ...... blondes got no flava....Spirito
Jul 12, 2002 10:28 AM
but then again my intellect is far from dizzying. however, i am a snob and pretty opinionated. i will call it as i see it.

i will be unpleasant in stating that "men in black" films aint my thing baby. you should save your $'s and stay at home to watch something by kieslowski, or tarkovsky or a kubrik film. watch a david lean or orson welle's masterpiece or a clasic by hitchcock. get your thoughts in tune with a visual meandering by peter greenaway. anything but that pulp that comes from hollywood. even watch the deerhunter or brasil for the 15th time.

i dont mean to sound like a psychophant but when it comes to film i dont need to be entertained but stimulated and my thoughts opened to conjecture and musing.

there are so many good films and i dont see why pulp big budget crap is of any worth. then again Tom Hanks, Will Smith, Keanu Reeves are all considered actors. i suppose with sensibilities like those of Leanne Wilde they will continue to earn money for nothing and the world will remain a place with 90% of people like ostriches with their head stuck in the stand.

capture beauty. strive for truth. be not wastefull in your actions. stop to think often. be deafened by silence. appreciate adversity and diversity. you may only live once.......

garnering an interest for better things is always rewarding and makes you richer.

ciao
Quote is from the Princess Bride not Men in Black. nmLen J
Jul 12, 2002 10:31 AM
tis true ...... blondes got no flava....Spirito
Jul 12, 2002 10:29 AM
but then again my intellect is far from dizzying. however, i am a snob and pretty opinionated. i will call it as i see it.

i will be unpleasant in stating that "men in black" films aint my thing baby. you should save your $'s and stay at home to watch something by kieslowski, or tarkovsky or a kubrik film. watch a david lean or orson welle's masterpiece or a clasic by hitchcock. get your thoughts in tune with a visual meandering by peter greenaway. anything but that pulp that comes from hollywood. even watch the deerhunter or brasil for the 15th time.

i dont mean to sound like a psychophant but when it comes to film i dont need to be entertained but stimulated and my thoughts opened to conjecture and musing.

there are so many good films and i dont see why pulp big budget crap is of any worth. then again Tom Hanks, Will Smith, Keanu Reeves are all considered actors. i suppose with sensibilities like those of Leanne Wilde they will continue to earn money for nothing and the world will remain a place with 90% of people like ostriches with their head stuck in the stand.

capture beauty. strive for truth. be not wastefull in your actions. stop to think often. be deafened by silence. appreciate adversity and diversity. you may only live once.......

garnering an interest for better things is always rewarding and makes you richer.

ciao
"am a snob and pretty opiniated..."klay
Jul 15, 2002 7:30 AM
...and nearly impossible to understand.

I think you said:

I'm not to smart. I am opiniated and a snob. I don't like movies from Hollywood (excpet the movies from Hollywood by directors I listed). 90% of the world likes bad actors and because of that, is closed minded.

(there's a bit of an brain fart in here that I'm not going to attempt to translate. "be deafened by silence"?)

Like good things.

Have I got it right?

K
Quote is from "The Princess Bride" - NMShad
Jul 12, 2002 10:36 AM
Ok, I admit it...amflyer
Jul 12, 2002 10:08 AM
I'm really Leanne Wilde.
And Doug Sloan
And RRP
And Lazywriter
PaulCL too
Hummah Hah is the name of my pet hamster
I'm definately Grzy
And MB1 also

(What? Someone's actually met him?)

As a matter of fact, the only "real" people on this board are PodiumBound.ca, Ishmael, and Spirito...and they are all Microsoft employees whom haven't ridden a bike since Space Invaders hit the malls.

Sorry to break the news,

Ta,

Steve (I'm not really me either)
oh no, he has been chronosynclasticinfundibulated by SpiritoAllisonHayes
Jul 12, 2002 10:11 AM
(just try and pronounce that one)

...he is the man who is in all places at all points in time.

Lets do the time warp again

and again and again
2 things ....(after LOL)Spirito
Jul 12, 2002 10:39 AM
im a mac user

and

Galaga was THE game.

well actually 3.... i love Grzy. if i met him i would ask for an autograpgh.

ciao
AllisonHayes=Leanne??? nmDougSloan
Jul 12, 2002 10:26 AM
Funny you mention that.....bnlkid
Jul 12, 2002 10:29 AM
The first time I read a post by Leanne, I thought it was Allison that posted. I think you figured it out Doug.
I was thinking the same. nmLen J
Jul 12, 2002 10:31 AM
sorry,AllisonHayes
Jul 12, 2002 10:35 AM
I am neither a dizzying blonde nor a dizzying intellect. But I do like to have fun, not at others expense, however. LOL:)
what? a 7th day adventist with a sense of humor!! puhlease NmSpirito
Jul 12, 2002 10:40 AM
...and give up my Saturdays? no way! nmAllisonHayes
Jul 12, 2002 11:03 AM
hmmDougSloan
Jul 12, 2002 10:41 AM
I didn't see a direct denial there.

How about you authorize Gregg to look at the IP's and tell us if they are the same? :-)

Doug
DougSloan=RRP=Leanne???AllisonHayes
Jul 12, 2002 10:44 AM
and lets do the same IP investigation. :)

while we are at it:

who is spoiler?
who is spankdoggie?
I miss the old days of IP proofing. I hate upgrades! (nm)Kristin
Jul 12, 2002 11:27 AM
okDougSloan
Jul 12, 2002 12:08 PM
I don't ever post under another handle. I may change once a year, but everyone knows it. Gregg is free to expose anything he wants.

You still haven't denied it.

Doug
"not at other's expense" .... rightterry b
Jul 12, 2002 10:43 AM
that twee quip about 531, 751 and 853 wasn't at the expense of someone asking a serious question, was it?
"not at other's expense" .... rightAllisonHayes
Jul 12, 2002 10:47 AM
Well, if I hadn't screwed up the 751 part, there should have been some obvious humor in it. Also, others had answered the question. Sorry that you may have inferred that from my post.
question for youterry b
Jul 12, 2002 10:57 AM
do you even own a bike?

seems like you spend all your time posting in the "social" messages and rarely if ever anything in the "cycling" messages. when you do answer a "cyclng" question it's usually some silly attempt at humor that I wonder if the person asking the question feels they deserve.

what brings someone to a cycling forum with no interest in cycling? do you frequent other topical forums and add non-topical "humor" to questions there too?
question for youAllisonHayes
Jul 12, 2002 11:45 AM
Yes I do own a bike; while I am not up to the high standards of a lot of you who post on this board, I have ridden approximately 1800 miles this year, which is primarily in two 30 mile rides twice a week.

I have reduced my posting in general biking forum because I personally don't like flaming and find there is a broader range of interests on the non-cycling forum. However, I find there is a lot of knowledge in the general biking forum that I do enjoy reading, but, due to my limited cycling knowledge relative to those who post here-- I am unable to add value to a lot of threads.

This forum is the first--and only--forum I have posted on.

But, hey, Terry, since you find my attempt at humor so silly, you don't have to read my posts now, do you?
well...terry b
Jul 12, 2002 11:57 AM
Of course I don't have to read your posts and frankly, I generally don't. While giving people the benefit of the doubt, it doesn't take me long to understand who has something of benefit to say and who doesn't.

However, I just had to ask and I'm not trying to flame you or ocik a fight. I really don't understand why people come to a themed forum and consistently add things that have nothing to do with that theme. (hence my question) It seems like all you want to do is crack jokes, and non-cycling ones at that. Are you in it for the attention? Or, are you trying to add some color to an otherwise bland board? Is it important that the faceless nameless participants like you? Help me out, I'm just trying to understand.
Here's how I look at it...AllisonHayes
Jul 12, 2002 12:58 PM
This is a facinating forum with a broad range of background and interests. There are a lot of smart and knowledgeable people who post here.

However, there also seems to be a lot of young alpha males who too often are trying to compete with one another. These are the ones who are so focused on the trees of cycling that they often do not see the forest around them.

I have no interest in "competing" in this manner. I hope this helps.

topic closed.
AllisonHayes=Leanne??? Absolutely true.spankdoggie
Jul 12, 2002 4:35 PM
Allison Hayes is Leanne. I am a regular over at http://wwww.golfreview.com and posted under 4 different names.

She is drawing attention to the post. That is one clue; also the number of replies in this post suggest it, as well. Allison wants to let her hair down here sometimes, and Leanne is a good way to do it.

I am an expert on the subject. I suggest Allison choose a new name like "cain'ttouchdis" or "ghettofabulous" or "kickyourass" or, well anything but a name that provides obvious clues towards her identity.

Allison also provides the question about whether she will come back. Since it is up to her, she thinks it is fun to pose the question. I don't get along with Allison. I tend to stay away from her. But she is having fun with it.
Spankdoggie=AllisonHayes=Leanne=Spoiler.Len J
Jul 12, 2002 6:43 PM
Read Spankdoggie over on Golfreview. It's allison with an attitude.

Len
Thank you.spankdoggie
Jul 12, 2002 7:24 PM
Thank you for reading at golfreview.com

You understand that I understand Allison, Len J. I respect you.

I own the "game." Allison is a weak sibling that I hit in the head once upon a time. I took my little sister's bike and rode it around the block after striking her in head... It, her bicycle, had white and pink streamers on the ends of the handlebars...

Posting "intellectual" words does not impress me, and does not an intellectual person make. I know many Allison Hayes...

I am quite the dumbfounded individual... because she gets all of you roadies so worked up...

It is cool.
I smell a shakedown!Take cover men, there- behind that metaphor!128
Jul 12, 2002 11:19 AM
this could be worse than the unmasking of Ahimsa's secret super-cyclist identity the other day! have you people no comic book morality! Must...save...identity....if I can just....one more...UNNNNHHHH!!!!
You're all too uptight! Go home and ride!!!!! ;-)Kristin
Jul 12, 2002 11:51 AM
Take a weekend. Chill. Ride. Drink. Drink lots. Laugh. Eat an expensive dinner. Go see a movie ('cept for Spirito). Take a walk in the park. Buy a puppy. Have a baby. Have a cow if you want. But please, please don't take the internet so seriously. The internet is dumb. And so is galaga. Gyrus rules!!!
The voice of reason.. Thanks........nmDave Hickey
Jul 12, 2002 12:00 PM
Agreed. Except the puppy part!Pleas never take a puppy on a whim128
Jul 12, 2002 12:10 PM
And remember:
"Control the animal population. Have your pets neutered and spayed!" -Bob Barker

(wow, the irony of his last name and his tag line just added up to me...hmmm)
anyone that wears adidas shoes ....Spirito
Jul 12, 2002 12:11 PM
should be respected for their advice. so now im gonna feed the birds in the park.

im probably showing my age but whats gyrus .. sounds like a little known greek god of self-pleasure .. or sumtin'

ciao
Doh! Don't make fun of my shoes man!Kristin
Jul 12, 2002 1:03 PM
Its hard to find Red and Grey cycling shoes. Those puppies are one of a kind! Hey, were you the one who gave me those??? If so, how do I get the friggin' SPD plate out of the shoe. The insoles are glued down, and they plate won't slide out the thru the bottom of the shoe. Now that I have road cleats I cling and clang when I ride. What would you call that? Engine knock?
compliment actually. i would have called them pink and greySpirito
Jul 12, 2002 1:16 PM
but maybe the light is different round your parts.

dunno bout them spd plates. spose you takes the look cleats off and just put a bolt and washer on the spd plates to keep them fram clacking around. or if you know you wont use the spd pedals ever again get a dremel and cut them up and toss them. a little ball of electrical tape? im sure someone here would have better ideas than me with regard to that.

the ex who had them had spd pedals so it wasnt something i had to endure listenting to on her 4 rides before she gave up the gig (maybe thats why she got the boot...or was it me?).

anyway enjoy ... i just thought id play with you a little. i still wish i could get a pair for me in that color combo - it just looks so cool with them white adidas stripes which i just drool over.

ciao