RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


bibs or shorts - - -(11 posts)

bibs or shorts - - -liv2padl
Jul 12, 2002 7:03 AM
i note that all pro riders use bibs ... i've been using shorts for years and now need a new pair. i'd like to get a pair of team shorts to match my jersey but they're all bibs. what's up with that? biggest question is how does one stop along the road to take a whiz with bibs ... have to take off the jeresey first, i guess?
Shorts. No - bibs. Er, Shorts! Yes, no - bibs! Shorts, def..muncher
Jul 12, 2002 7:17 AM
Each to his own - it's campy/shinaNO.

Most of my bibs you (i.e. I) can heave down enough to wizz without needing to take the top off - depends what size/shaps you/your bibs are I guess...
Two weeks ago...biknben
Jul 12, 2002 7:17 AM
_rt_ "Help me out....Bib shorts vs regular shorts...." 6/26/02 10:28am
re: bibs or shorts - - -JL
Jul 12, 2002 7:17 AM
Bibs can be more comfortable because they don't "slide down". They just stay put better. It seems a lot of the better padding options are in the bib styles too (at least from what I've noticed).

On the whiz part, just pull the bib leg aside and let loose. ON the other end, you'll be undressing.

Happy riding.

John
re: bibs or shorts - - -seyboro
Jul 12, 2002 7:18 AM
Cannondale make shorts to match all kinds of Saeco/Timex/Sobe/Volvo/Stage one/Chaingang(now that's a kit for the heavens!) gear. Other than that, you are probably stuck wearing bibs, which isn't all that bad. Roll 'em up on the leg and go for it out the bottom. If you're really talented, you can do that while riding, just watch the wind, the waterbottles are awfully close!!
What the?.....muncher
Jul 12, 2002 7:26 AM
There is no way my bib legs move that far anywhere.

Either you guys have got small legs and big stretchy bibs, or I have a short....

Eh-hem - you clearly all have very stretchy bibs....
What the?.....lnin0
Jul 12, 2002 8:04 AM
I guess not all of us can be hung like Steward O'Grady...
Once you go bibs, you'll never go back.GK
Jul 12, 2002 9:06 AM
As for answering calls of nature. It has been done. It can be done. Not an issue EXCEPT maybe if your bib tops are something other than one long piece of stretchable lycra. E.G. The bib shorts with the white coolmax tops might be harder to stretch down.

No offense intended, but I think riders in full road kits from one team might be overdoing it. Can't you just have one item from a pro team? Isn't top and bottom a bit much?

My only complaint with bibs is that if you have a gut (like me), you'll be reminded of this sad fact on climbs as you lean forward and you feel the fabric span your tummy. It's frustrating, but it's a good reminder that I need to be out there working it.

Comfort is king, however, and more often than not, those who wear them shun plain ole shorts.

Ride well.

GK
#1 most popular topic, bibs or shortsBreakfast
Jul 12, 2002 2:57 PM
Bibs, of course!

Pee out the side of leg after lifting it up level with the crotch and dangling your manhose free. Left or right side doesn't matter but you'll soon develop a preference.

I don't think women have it as easy and have to pull jersey off to drop bibs. Bibs make more sense for men, I think, since they tend to pull the boys up offering added support.
re: bibs or shorts - - -da cyclist
Jul 13, 2002 9:01 AM
All I've got to say about bibs is this: If you're wearing them, your friends can't come up behind you, and pull your shorts down in the back and hook them under the saddle. It's even funnier when the victim gets confused and tries to stand up... Check out www.bikejerseys.com for good deals on team bibs (I really like their plain black santini bibs for $45 - gonna cost about $70 elsewhere).
re: bibs or shorts - - -MVN
Jul 13, 2002 2:55 PM
I have Performance bibs and I just got a new pair of Volers. I LOVE the Volers - they are so much more comfortable than the Perf.'s. The Voler's are cut a little lower so it's easier to pull up the jersey, pull down the front and let it (d)rip. Try www.bikejerseys.com for team stuff. Hope that helps.