RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Pinarello riders?(7 posts)

Pinarello riders?muncher
Jul 11, 2002 7:37 AM
I have been offered a deal on a Chorus Surprise, which seems to be a nice ride indeed.

Their web-site is a bit pants however. What's the deal with the range (I know the Surprise is fairly entry) - I don't need carbon forks.

What's the difference between that and the next up the range (other than intergrated headset)?

What type of AL are we taking? How does it compare to 7005 (current ride)?

Any general thoughts/comments appreciated.

Thanks.

M.
Surprise is their entry level bike I thinkColnagoFE
Jul 11, 2002 8:11 AM
at least compared to higher end like the Prince.
Brain block - I mean carbon stays, not forks. (nm).muncher
Jul 11, 2002 8:20 AM
re: Pinarello riders?jarraa
Jul 11, 2002 8:28 AM
I ride a Galileo. It is one level above the Surprise. I shall tell you this, it does not matter what Pinarello you ride, they are some wicked ass hair binding, fixed to the track roller coaster of a ride. I was looking into the surprise, but went for the Galileo (300 more) because I needed a 51cm. It is the same series (7000 series) of Alu. Ofcourse the prince will have a more plush ride and may corner a tad bit better, but nothing you can change without a good pair of tires. I say take the plunge and "Surprise" yourself
re: I have a Surprisecyclejim
Jul 11, 2002 9:01 AM
Its a very sweet bike. Its not the entry level bike, there is the Angrilu which is below it and perhaps one other bike.

Either way its a great bike and if you do a search on my name here you can find a mini review that I did a short while back.
Thanks chaps, nowmuncher
Jul 12, 2002 12:54 AM
for the interesting bit - test ride tomorrow. Nice review CJ - how's it panning out long term.

The interesting thing is I found this:-

http://www.cbike.com/surprise.htm

Which looks to me like it has to be a bargain no?

M
Absolutely a great deal.cyclejim
Jul 21, 2002 6:33 AM
I actually got my Surprise from them for $800 just about a month ago now. So...$729 is very good. Even at $800 cbike had about the best price I could find anywhere.

At this point Ive been put around 300 miles on the bike and I am very pleased with it. The bike is quite stiff, but not overly harsh by any means. I had the chance to go climbing with it yesterday and was quite pleased.

The bike tracks very well and is stable going downhill at high speeds...even for a road rookie like myself. I had little problems keeping her straight even on a 9-10% grade downhill for about a minute. (it was a little scary however!)

Anyhow, Id still highly recommend the Surprise if you are looking for a fast, raceable bike, or a bike to ride around 50-75 miles a day. If you are looking for a bike to ride a century on, or put it heavy mileage in one day, Id probably look for a frame that is a bit more compliant.