RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Felt Bikes(11 posts)

Felt Bikescabinfever
Jul 11, 2002 4:59 AM
I can't find any reviews about Felt bikes. Anyone know anything about them? The F45 is an Easton frame, full Ultegra, and Cosmic Elite wheelset for roughly $1,700. The specs are pretty nice, but I'm confused as to why there is almost nothing out there about them.
re: Felt Bikesmlester
Jul 11, 2002 5:24 AM
I have a Felt also, F75, haven't been able to find reviews either.
re: Felt BikesAztec
Jul 11, 2002 7:21 AM
Funny you ask this question. Too bad I don't have an answer either.

My LBS sells Felt and I thought they were pretty nice (the F45 and F50) but I was curious as to why there were no reviews. LBS says they are only a year old company. The head of Felt has been around for awhile and apparently worked with Easton for many years designing frames and tubing. Other than this info I've found out nothing about the company. I did see someone riding one a few days ago but didn't get a chance to talk to him.

Please buy one and give me a thorough review. Thanks!
re: Felt Bikesfracisco
Jul 11, 2002 7:22 AM
I was considering buying a Felt when I bought my bike this year. They look like they're put together well, have good components, and a great price. They're headquartered here in Southern California, and have most of their bikes built in Taiwan, except for their extremely high end bikes.

In the end I bought a close out Cannondale with similar components because I felt better about the brand.

I think that there was a Felt mini-review in Bicycling in the past 12 months.
Your thorough review on Felts.niteschaos
Jul 11, 2002 8:00 AM
I am the proud owner of an F75 (full Tiagra group minus crank and BB, that's where Felt substitutes something that is between Tiagra and 105).

Frame: The welds are smooth and constant on every joint. The tubes are shaped very similar to that of the CAAD5 frame with the large bi-ovalized double butted downtube, but the welds are much smaller, similar to the welds on a Dean bike (they are not smoothed, but then again, they don't have to be). My bike is black with red lettering. This is my first bike where all the decals are under a clearcoat. Everything lines up great and the paint is really top notch (my brother knocked it into the house and not a scratch on it). The only quality issue is the small accent decals under the clearcoat on the seat stays aren't lined up too well, but that is just a cosmetic thing.

Fork: Is stiff and light, but is also aluminum, so vibration on rough surfaces is to be expected. Didn't find any other Carbon fork options on an 800 dollar bike. On smooth surfaces though I feel like I can corner right up to the limit. I often leave my group behind on the decents around Greenville, SC.

Group: Not as smooth as the 105 I test rode on alot of bikes before settling for something more inside my budget. But it doesn't set me back too much. My extra training miles payed off when I won my group ride last tuesday.

Saddle: Selle Italia Octavia. No soreness from day one. As long as you make sure your sit bones are where they should be, you'll be fine. I am 6'2" and wieght 185 to give you an idea. Only problem is I tore the side a little bit after a crash. Only my knee and shoulder took the impact as I couldn't find as much as a scratch on my bike anywhere other than the brake hoods.

Wheels: Mavic CXP21 with Cont. 1000 Sport rubber. Seems pretty bulletproof. I've been in a fast group and hit a pothole without them going out of true or even flatting.

Overall Impression: A $600-$800 frame with wheels and group thrown in for free. I've ridden 60 miles on this bike and all I had at the end of the ride was sore legs (from hills) and sore hands (road buzz).
Oh, and one more thing...niteschaos
Jul 11, 2002 8:06 AM
I test rode the KHS 500 (Sora, but with carbon fork) and the Jamis Venture (steel instead of aluminum) and the Felt was far superior. Not only was it 4 pounds lighter at 21 pounds ready to ride (not including flat kit and pump of course) but felt so much quicker and smoother. I also road the Jamis Quest (105 steel at 20.5 pounds an $1300) but also the TCR2. The TCR2 felt quicker in the turns than the Felt F75, but it was leaps and bounds quicker in turns than my 3rd place and down bike. The only problem I really had with the TCR2 was the 1350 sticker at the shop. I walked out with pedals, shoes, helmet and pump for $1050 including bike, whereas the TCR2 would have cost me just over $1500. The TCR2 is lighter and turns quicker, but I didn't feel that it was 33% better than the Felt, as the price suggested.
A little Felt infoNessism
Jul 11, 2002 8:04 AM
Jim Felt was a pro level motorcross mechanic what wanted to branch out. He worked for Easton for awhile and helped develop the Elite tubeset that was cutting edge at the time. After leaving Easton, he started building for a living as I understand it - mid 90's time frame? At some point in the later 90's he became associated with Answer products at which point production was moved overseas on at least some models. I'm not sure what the status of the company is at this point but they do enjoy a good reputation with the tri types.

Ed
here's a review..dotkaye
Jul 11, 2002 9:03 AM
which also explains why they're not very well known. Look good to me.

http://www.slowtwitch.com/mainheadings/product2002/roadbikes/feltroad.html
Great info...thanks to everyone who replied.cabinfever
Jul 11, 2002 10:53 AM
I live in Massachusetts. Great bike shop in Williamstown if anyone wants a Felt..."The Spoke". I have nothing to do with them, I just know those guys know their stuff. A friend finally got a Felt F50 and loves it. Only had a slight problem with a broken aero spoke on the Alex wheelset. Also, the Felt took a long, long time to come in. I think it was 2 months. But, that could have been isolated. I'm still considering one, and will post a review when I ride one.
Great info...thanks to everyone who replied.Aztec
Jul 11, 2002 12:57 PM
glad to hear about your friend and the f50. That's the one I've been looking at. Another shop nearby has a slightly used trek 2300 that I'm trying to pick off for a big reduction in price since it's used. If I can't get it for $1500 or so then I will probabbly by the f50 intsead. Not quite as nice but a pretty good set up for the money.

Also glad you started this thread. I hadn't seen any mention of Felt and am now a bit more comfortable with the brand since at least a few have had positive experiences.
re: Felt BikesJoshua
Jul 11, 2002 11:58 AM
I have a felt f65, what a great bike. Its full 105 and very comfy I put a profile brc cf fork on it. cost of the upgrade was minimal I got the fork from pricepoint.com and it was 69.00 installation was 20.00 total bike cost 1020.00
with the fork.