RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Carrying bikes in the back of a pickup truck(21 posts)

Carrying bikes in the back of a pickup truckfracisco
Jul 10, 2002 12:21 PM
Currently I'm only occasionally carrying around my bike in the bed of my truck, and I have an old comforter laid down to prevent the bike from sliding around back there.

Any recommendations for a rack/system for the bed of a pickup truck?
re: Carrying bikes in the back of a pickup truckjromack
Jul 10, 2002 12:23 PM
If you own a bike rack, some can be attached to the tailgate. My Allen rack does.

But I use the comforter method myself and it works just fine.
Wife and kids in the back, bike in the cab.Dave Hickey
Jul 10, 2002 12:26 PM
Seriously, A fork mount attached to the front of the bed works great.
re: Carrying bikes in the back of a pickup truckklay
Jul 10, 2002 12:43 PM
You can pick up a bracket that accepts a front fork (like in a roof rack) that you can bolt to a 2x6, 2x8, plywood etc... Lay this across the truck bed.

I've also seen a system that is basically a bar that expands to reach from one side of the bed to the other.

Pretty sure both of these are in the Performancebike.com catalog...

K
Performance bike in bed 'rack'fracisco
Jul 10, 2002 1:16 PM
I've seen it on their website, and I was fishing here to see if anybody actually had one (or one like it), and see if works; if there are any pitfalls.

It seems like a low price.
You want mine? I'll GIVE 'em to you!Humma Hah
Jul 10, 2002 2:24 PM
I retired mine, went back to motorcycle tie-down straps. Only problem is the ugly holes where the screws went into the front rail of the truck bed.
re: Carrying bikes in the back of a pickup truckALBikeGuy
Jul 10, 2002 1:08 PM
My truck has a bedliner and it has slots for 4x6's ( I guess for stacking stuff), I cut a 4X6 to length and attached a couple of Bike Tights on it. I can take it out whenever I want need to.
re: Carrying bikes in the back of a pickup truckfracisco
Jul 10, 2002 1:13 PM
The fit is snug enough on the piece of wood that the bike is stable in the bed? Do you need any additional straps to keep it upright?
Our solutiontheBreeze
Jul 10, 2002 3:32 PM
We just set up my husband's Ford Ranger to carry bikes in the bed. Bought some fork mounts from Perf. Bike and screwed them to a 2x4. The bed walls have slots to fit a 2x4 (yes, it's for stacking stuff over the wheel wells). We thought the wood might bounce around too much so he cut a couple pieces the correct size to wedge between the top surface of the 2x4 and the underside of the truck bed sides. Is that clear, or too confusing? It worked like a charm on our last trip. No shifting of the bikes at all. We now have 4 mounts on it and can carry 2 full size mtn bikes, my daughter's kid bike and my road bike all at the same time.
What about the back ends....klay
Jul 11, 2002 7:07 AM
I was thinking the same thing for my Ranger. (As of now, I need to steal my wife's Volvo which has the bike racks ;-))

Did the back ends of the bikes flop around at all?

K
NopetheBreeze
Jul 11, 2002 3:10 PM
You know, I thought they would too, but no problems at all.
re: Carrying bikes in the back of a pickup truckALBikeGuy
Jul 11, 2002 4:31 AM
What I did was get some velcro tape and put on the board and in the slots. I also put some paddings, like furniture skid pads on the ends. That makes it very snug.

I really thought that it wouldn't hold that long, but that was almost 3 years ago. It's very stable, it fact I (still) have to fight it a little to get it out.
re: Carrying bikes in the back of a pickup truckpkompath
Jul 10, 2002 1:26 PM
Check ebay-sporting goods-cycling-car racks-do a search for truck/pickup and it'll give you the options. Both Nashbar and performancebike have racks for pickups. Mtbreview.com has reviews for the performancebike rack-poor ratings.

You can do it cheap or expensive. The cheap way is to get a pressure treated board and the fork mount brackets (usually $20 each) and bolt them on the board. Cut the board to securely fit in the bed. The expensive way-Graber Kool Rack for $160.
Motorcycle tie-down straps!Humma Hah
Jul 10, 2002 2:22 PM
I've tried some gadgets with a QR skewer system to hold the fork to the front end of the loadbed -- a waste of time and I pulled them off.

My old motorcycle tie-down straps work great. A pair of straps hold a bike very securely, no need to remove the front wheel or use any kind of rack. I can carry at least three bikes at once, probably 5 if I try.
Motorcycle tie-down straps!fracisco
Jul 10, 2002 3:08 PM
Hey, that sounds like a great idea. I mean if a 500 lb. motorcycle can stand in the bed of truck on its own wheels with a strap, why not a bicycle?

I'll look into that, too. I really don't want to drill into the truck's sheetmetal, and the other best low budget option seems to be fork mount on wood. I have a fork mount, just don't have the wood.
They're also very handy for cargo hauling ...Humma Hah
Jul 10, 2002 3:18 PM
I got rid of the motorcycles years ago, but not the straps. No pickup truck should be without a nice set of Ancra tie-downs, preferably several sets. They're incredibly handy for tying down all sorts of cargo.

I've known people to tow cars with the darned things.
Wow...I own some and didn't even know it...klay
Jul 11, 2002 7:04 AM
I was having trouble figuring out what exactly a motocycle tie-down strap was. I looked up the Ancra tie downs on Google. Looks like I've had a set in the truck for years. When I bought them , they were just called cargo straps (or something like that) at Home Depot.

How many do you use per bike? 4? One to each corner of the bed maybe?

K
Expensive option:4bykn
Jul 10, 2002 3:14 PM
I have a hard fiberglass lid on the bed of my truck, with a roof rack mounted on top. Keeps everything inside clean, secure and dry, and easy to load/unload the bike.
You can see one at www.4are.com
re: I love the Yakima Block Head...yfoiler
Jul 10, 2002 4:21 PM
The Yakima Block Head is pretty cool.
You just bolt it to the front of your pickup truck bed.
It's a locking fork clamp. No big bars going across the bed, etc. And when your bike isn't there it's hardly noticeable.
I have a ridged bed liner so I don't even have to tie down the rear of the bike. It just sits in the grooves. Otherwise you might want to bungie the rear wheel.

Here's the link to the item at Yakima:
http://www.yakima.com/products/dynamic/8001118_2.html
Another expensive option...NJRoad
Jul 10, 2002 6:36 PM
There are brackets sold by Thule and Yakima that you can attach to the bedrails that will allow you to use a roof rack intended for mounting on rain gutters. You can then use any of the roof rack accesories with the setup. Its not cheap but it looks cool and still allows you the bed for your gear or to carry other stuff in the bed w/o removing the rack.
re: Carrying bikes in the back of a pickup truckclintb
Jul 15, 2002 12:20 PM
I use the Yakima locking blockhead and a Delta fork mount. Mount both to a 2x4 that's just slightly longer than the bed is wide by like 1/16th. My Tundra has the support slots and I just use them. Put one side down in the slot and the other side should "snugly" press into the other.

I'm getting ready to cut a new piece to length, then prime and paint it for longevity. Total cost was about $60 or so.

One word of caution on the motorcycle tie downs. Don't go too tight! Sice our bikes don't have the weight nor the suspension, your back end will tend to bounce around if they're tightened too much.