RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


OK, which part of "Don't post TDF results in topic header"r(75 posts)

OK, which part of "Don't post TDF results in topic header"rAllisonHayes
Jul 10, 2002 8:11 AM
don't people seem to understand? Why is it that everyday there is some moron who continues to do that?

Thanks, Gregg for playing the prestidigitator meister once again!
Don't you get it!Wayne
Jul 10, 2002 8:16 AM
They're (or he) is only doing it because of the response he gets from people like you! It is easy to tell the intentional ones from the ignorant ones, the last one was clearly intentional (and at least witty!)
This is getting a little ridiculous,TJeanloz
Jul 10, 2002 8:22 AM
I'm all for courtesy, and I don't think people should post spoilers on the board out of common courtesy, but how can people get so upset about it?

I'm leaning in the direction of if it's that important to you, maybe you should just stick your head completely in the sand and avoid the internet entirely.

Otherwise, why let something as retarded as this get you all worked up? Aside from the fact that bike racing is incredibly boring to watch, and the only way I can manage to do it is if the suspense of who's going to win keeps me glued to the set...
What's irritatingDougSloan
Jul 10, 2002 8:27 AM
Even if the "crime" here, posting the results, is not really that bad, that's not really the point. Some people were doing it purely to piss people off and be jerks. That's what's irritating.

For me, I look up the results as soon as they are available. I'd welcome the spoilers, actually, as I prefer the instant gratification of knowing. But, as some people don't, it's just plain rude and obnoxious to shove it in their face.

Doug
I agree,TJeanloz
Jul 10, 2002 8:35 AM
I agree that it's rude and obnoxious, but if you KNOW that you're going to be exposed to rude and obnoxious behavior if you visit the site, why visit and expose yourself?

And posts like the above practically bait people into posting spoilers.
Well you guys certainly called that one...AllisonHayes
Jul 10, 2002 8:58 AM
i And posts like the above practically bait people into posting spoilers.

You don't spit into the wind
Let sleeping dogs lie
Don't stir up a hornets nest

I guess we are dealing with the wild west here and so one shouldn't expect people to behave by any normative courtesy.

So much for Doug's RBR code of behavior...
I don't understand the mindsetDougSloan
Jul 10, 2002 9:09 AM
Some people have a mindset that is only happy if they are causing trouble for others. You know these types. They are the ones on the highway that don't want to go fast, but they don't want anyone passing them, either. The squat in the fast lanes. They blow through intersections on their bikes, in effect saying "screw you, cars" and giving us all a bad image. They let their dogs bark all night long. These are the kinds that make having rules and enforcement of them necessary, as they have no clue what "doing the right thing" means.

You're right, some people are just a-holes, and there's not a whole lot that can be done about it. All we can hope for is some sort of karma to take care of them (or they eventually grow up).

Doug
Boredomunchained
Jul 10, 2002 8:41 AM
Yes, it can get boring at times, even with the excellent analysis and commentary provided by Phil and Paul.
It is interesting however to see tactics being played out.

What I find interesting is seeing how the riders are positioned on their bikes, how they use the bars and hoods during a breakaway and climbing, their cadence, bandana, etc. Jacky Durand seems to have a great position on his bike, a flat back and not too stretched out, great bandana too. A shame that breakaway did not succeed.
Ignoring this site........Dave Hickey
Jul 10, 2002 8:53 AM
Let's face it, Consumer Reviews is in hard finacial times. The problem I see with the idiot spoiler posts is it pisses off people and drives them away from this site. The last thing Roadbike Review needs is less hits per day.
550+ views... how many click-thoughs i wonder...(nm)EpicX
Jul 10, 2002 9:31 AM
i'm just arguing for the sake of arguing. this whole topic is a big joke and makes for an entertaining read.
i suggested that in another post and was called a moron...EpicX
Jul 10, 2002 9:00 AM
so that makes 2 morons now. we will take over eventually. also was suggested i be banned 4 life. hope all this was tongue in cheek. i'd feel really sorry if being kept in the dark about the tour matters so much to someone.
No, you weren't. That appeared aimed at Justin Credible...<nm>klay
Jul 10, 2002 9:22 AM
ONCE WINS TTT!!!! USP TAKES 2nd, CSC 3rdSpecialEd
Jul 10, 2002 8:49 AM
HAHAHAHAHA! GO AHEAD!! START WHINING!!! YOUR ENTIRE DAY HAS BEEN RUINED BY THIS POST!!!! GET REAL!!!!!
Spoilers should be allowed and welcomed-nmohmk1
Jul 10, 2002 8:52 AM
Svetlana Boubnenkova wins stage 3 and leads GC!Spoiler
Jul 10, 2002 9:32 AM
As long as we're welcoming spoilers, I'm happy to be the first with todays results in Giro d'Italia Femminile.
cheers
just because you can be a jerk does not mean you should nmDougSloan
Jul 10, 2002 8:56 AM
Sorry Alison, on this one you are all wrong (IMHO)...EJC
Jul 10, 2002 8:55 AM
...I don't know what it is, but people seem to think that because they are geographically and time zone disadvantaged, they have a right to tell people NOT to post, discuss, or reveal any "secrets" about Le Tour's happenings. Nonsense and rubbish. The event is taking place, it is happening and to try and restrict discussion on it so those with lil' VCR's and an OLN hook-up can wait until they get home to see it is absoluetly selfish, silly and quite offensive.

I say POST IT ALL!!! REVEL in it!!! Talk about it NOW!!!

The world does NOT revolve around disadvantaged Americans and their tele schedules (oops, wait a minute, Americans do THINK the wolrd revolves around them, as they have either (1) saved the world (2) own the world or (3) have the money to buy the world)

EJC
EJC, save your politcal BullSh@t for non-cycling boardDave Hickey
Jul 10, 2002 9:00 AM
If you want to debate Americans vs Canadians, let's have a debate over on the non-cycling discussions. I'm getting real tired of your anti-American rhetoric.
easy boobala...EJC
Jul 10, 2002 9:02 AM
...as tired as you are Monsieur Dave, I grow tired of this nonsense about not being able to talk about the biggest race of the year because you Yanks don't get the coverage you want. Blow me Dave. Is this breaking the little code of conduct? Maybe, but the common flag to not post DOES come primarily from Yanks, and once again Davey, if you don't like it, go to www.amazon.com and buy a book. You know what books are don't you?

EJC
Gregg - BAN ECJ - nmMJ
Jul 10, 2002 9:05 AM
Uhh, that is "EJC" not "ECJ", if you are going to ban me...EJC
Jul 10, 2002 9:06 AM
...do it right genius.

EJC
sorry you're right - GREGG BAN THE FUKWIT - nmMJ
Jul 10, 2002 9:16 AM
Ban JM!- nmSpoiler
Jul 10, 2002 12:06 PM
Why that dirty little so-and-so!
cheers
No one is telling you what to do....klay
Jul 10, 2002 9:16 AM
... we are asking you to not spoil the fun.

The alternative is that we do not visit this forum and leave it to folks such as yourself.

If we do so, the owners/admins will be faced with a choice. Encourage an unfettered discussion and say goodbye to the web traffic or moderate the discussion (and ban abusers of a predetermined code of conduct perhaps) in order to maintain their customer base.

What do you think they will do?

K
Easy? Like you?djg
Jul 10, 2002 10:09 AM
What's the big deal in the request exactly? Nobody is asking you not to talk about the tour. Nobody is asking you not to talk about the tour on this board. In fact, so far as I can tell, nobody is asking you to desist from discussing TODAY'S stage on TODAY'S board. People are asking that you not post spoilers in your topic headings because:

1) Lotsa folks on the board are from the US.
2) Lotsa folks on the board who are not from the US are nonetheless from North America.
3) Lotsa the folks in groups 1 & 2 would prefer to get their information about today's stage in a different format than some topic header spoiler. In my own case, it's not so much that I don't get the coverage that I want as it is that I'm at work while the race is unfolding (taking a lunch break at the moment). Others have other reasons--I don't presume to know what they all are. Neither do I presume to know the citizenship of all those who don't like the spoilers.

You want to turn this into an excuse for some anti-US rant for reasons that are beyond me. All I know is that:
(a) I think folks are right to ask you to take THAT discussion elsewhere; and
(b) I personally think you should likewise take your amorous requests of Dave--whoever he is--to another board.
LOL :-)Dave Hickey
Jul 10, 2002 10:26 AM
"(b) I personally think you should likewise take your amorous requests of Dave--whoever he is--to another board."

Thanks a lot. Now he's going to send me candy and flowers
nah, candy and flowers aren't my style...EJC
Jul 10, 2002 10:36 AM
...instead Davey, I'll send you Axial Pros and some Pedros "Dry-Lube"...

Anyway Dave, enjoy the race, whether we post about it here or not, life is too short...enjoy Le Tour, have fun riding and all that, sincerely.

EJC
My thoughts exactly. ..Dave Hickey
Jul 10, 2002 10:47 AM
and I hate to tell you this, I'm part Canadian.

Cheers........
I knew you were...EJC
Jul 10, 2002 10:50 AM
...part "cool"...

EJC
Sorry Alison, on this one you are all wrong (IMHO)...Ted
Jul 10, 2002 9:00 AM
If you want to go to the TDF forum THATS WHAT IT IS FOR.

Ted
thanks for the clarification Sheriff,EJC
Jul 10, 2002 9:04 AM
I am was a little unsure. I am also unsure what a "bicycle forum" is about...help me out here...is it for discussion of cycling related topics such as racing, riding etc? Or is it for NOT discussing the single most important event in the cyclling year calendar?

EJC
thanks for the clarification Sheriff,Ted
Jul 10, 2002 9:10 AM
If you read the rules ... guidelines ... ask ... or talk to Gregg, who incidentally RUNS this forum, you would understand that this forum is for everything NOT covered by the other forums.

Racing, Component talk TDF talk ETC have their own forum USE them. The only reasons not to is you are so ignorant of others that you do not have the common decency to do so. You talk about how Americans think the world revolves around them, look at your self buddy and you will find your talking about your self.

Ted
thanks for the clarification Sheriff,bikedodger
Jul 10, 2002 9:34 AM
I have not found any "rules..guidelines" listed on the site. How would a new poster know what is not allowed to be posted on the General forum? Is everyone who wants to post supposed to talk to Gregg? How do they know who Gregg is and that he is to be talked to?

Mike
no you're a moronMJ
Jul 10, 2002 9:03 AM
this doesn't have anything to do with anti-US stuff or time zones - it has to do with you (and other morons) not following the guidelines that have been clearly established by Gregg and RBR - if you don't like those guidelines then maybe you shouldn't visit the site for the next month - or maybe if you persist we could lobby Gregg to ban you from posting

it's not too much to have common courtesy of posting on the TdF board (or at least putting a spoiler notice in your subject line w/o any spoiling info.)

don't post in General - post in TdF
oh eat me.EJC
Jul 10, 2002 9:05 AM
Go ahead, try and get the "cool kids" to drop a dime and ban me. What a classic assinine response. A typical "I am going to get my ball and bat and go home, and then get my big bruddah to beat you up..."

You don't want results and spoilers, go to www.marthastewart.com

this is a cycling site, deal with it.

EJC
and cycling sitesMJ
Jul 10, 2002 9:10 AM
have guidelines - it's not too much to ask you to abide

but you're not really interested in discussing the TdF are you - you're just pissing people off - the racing discussions take place in the, wait for it,.........................

TdF/racing boards
Sounds good to me, but...mr_spin
Jul 10, 2002 9:05 AM
Do whatever you want on the TDF forum. That's what it's there for.

I think it is still common courtesy for a same-day post to put the word "spoiler" in your title and keep results confined to the text. Is that really such an imposition? Is it really all that hard to do?

Revel all you want, but allow others to experience the same elation you do.

It's just common courtesy.
haven't you heard? common courtesy is dead. C'est La Vie.EpicX
Jul 10, 2002 9:12 AM
i guess i just don't get it. it doesn't reduce my viewing enjoyment a bit to know the outcome in advance. Actually, i find myself getting psyched up for the good parts i know are coming. ahhhh! sweet anticipation!
I hadn'tmr_spin
Jul 10, 2002 9:30 AM
As long as you are happy, I guess. Screw everyone else.

Like I said, feel free to reduce everyone's viewing enjoyment on the TDF board. Do whatever you want there. But do it there. No one should have any expectation that there won't be spoilers on a dedicated TDF board.
To spoil or not to spoil, that is the questionAllisonHayes
Jul 10, 2002 9:07 AM
Whether 'tis nobler in the post to spoil the outcomes of outrageous fortune

Or, suffer the slings and arrows of fellow posters.

Ah, perhaps she protests too much.
ferme la bouche et feu toi...fin128
Jul 10, 2002 9:08 AM
embrasser mon fesse et manger merdeEJC
Jul 10, 2002 9:12 AM
tu est un "grand retard"

EJC
Ah bon! un intellectuelle. Entre vous!128
Jul 10, 2002 9:17 AM
what you are missingDougSloan
Jul 10, 2002 9:11 AM
The owner of the site sets the rules here. The owner has a right to do that. The owner says don't post spoilers. You are wrong. If you want to post them, you are perfectly free to do so somewhere else.

This has nothing to do with nationality. It has only to do with you being an inconsiderate jerk.

Doug
We can only ask...klay
Jul 10, 2002 9:12 AM
people seem to think that because they are geographically and time zone disadvantaged, they have a right to tell people NOT to post, discuss, or reveal any "secrets" about Le Tour's happenings.

I reserve the right to ask people not to post spoilers with out a bit of warning.

So, I'd like to ask that you help us out a bit by putting *spoiler* in the header of posts with Tdf results in them.

Thanks,

K
I COULD watch it live but I have to work then (nm)ColnagoFE
Jul 10, 2002 10:03 AM
Post your spoilers on the TdF forum, is that hard?...Djudd
Jul 10, 2002 9:08 AM
Why can't you post it there? Being adult means you can't do everything you want all the time. Compromise
Can you say courtesy?Len J
Jul 10, 2002 9:12 AM
No one is telling anyone not to discuss results, what people are asking is that if you are going to discuss, you put spoiler in the heading so that those interested in not knowing the results can avoid the discussion.

It's common courtesy to comply.

What is so hard about this?

Len
Oh the flamers/trolls/babies must be loving this. nmMB1
Jul 10, 2002 9:21 AM
Point of parlimentary proceedure...jaybird
Jul 10, 2002 9:33 AM
Since it appears that we have a quorum, I move that if someone would like to post anything that could be a spoiler for the current days race, that it be posted in the Tour de France section.

yeas?
nays?
abstentions?
That's the problem my friend..Dave Hickey
Jul 10, 2002 9:36 AM
All it takes is one person to disagree and not follow the rules. Even if it's made an offical rule, you're still going to get idiot spoilers.
already decidedDougSloan
Jul 10, 2002 9:40 AM
The administrator, Gregg, has already decided this. Post in the TdF section.

Doug
already decidedjaybird
Jul 10, 2002 9:56 AM
Just trying to bring a little levity to the situation. I do not think anything should be ruined for those with the discipline but, I can't believe that people can stand the suspense of waiting until 9pm to find out what happened.

When my boss is around I am constantly refreshing the letour site (and sometimes www.tourdefrance.com ;-) ) but when she is gone I am listening to the live audio feed.

You must be the same people that wait til december 25 to open your christmas presents...

keep the skin side up.
J.
Spoilers not only hurt RBR but also OLN.bnlkid
Jul 10, 2002 9:36 AM
I don't understand how someone can think avoiding this site is the best way to not be exposed to spoilers. How does that help RBR? The regulars here like to discuss things other that the TDF during the daytime. What's wrong with discussing the previous days results? Don't post the results that others haven't witnessed yet. If others want to know the results there are many places to visit to get those.(those are the sites that are avoided during the day). OLN also suffers in my opinion because I didn't watch last nights coverage that closely after receiving a stinking spoiler from Bicycling magazine. It made the breakaway at 6km far from exciting knowing that they were not going to be able to hold on. common courtesy is all anyone is asking here. If you are going to post a spoiler at least warn people in the topic and put the results in the message. It's that simple.
Bicycling spoiler...klay
Jul 10, 2002 9:44 AM
They sent me one late last night so I didn't see it till this AM.

I hope this was intentional and is their plan from now on...

I've already stopped going to Velonews because they have the results posted on their main page.

K
Can't we all just get along?gregg
Jul 10, 2002 9:52 AM
Wow, I just finish chopping up the number one board on MTBR due to flame wars, and I come back to this board and feel deja vu!

Everyone, I have made some changes to the top of this forum as a result of some of the comments stated in this thread.

Please try and keep the flames to a minumum. I hate having to play "board police".

-gregg
a "spoiler" is...gregg
Jul 10, 2002 9:59 AM
...when someone posts the results of a race before the majority of people have had a realistic chance to see the results themselves.

Spoilers have been around for years, and from the days I used to frequent newsgroups a lot, it was learned that you do NOT posts results in your subject lines. You may feel free to post the results in the message body, but please include the word "spoiler" somewhere in the message subject line. This way, people who want to know can find out, and those who don't want to know will remain in suspense.

Simple really.

In addition, if you feel like posting Tour de France results, please do so ONLY in the "Tour de France" message forum.

Thank you.

-gregg, Site Manager RoadbikeREVIEW.com
gkato@roadbikeREVIEW.com
Gregg, can we change your name to Rodneyk?jaybird
Jul 10, 2002 9:59 AM
sorry, I couldn't resist.

keep up the good work.
oh come on gregg...EJC
Jul 10, 2002 10:02 AM
...I understand the need for some order, but please...

First off, you try and promote a cycling site and then tell us that one of the "rules" is not to post about Le Tour unless it is in the little section that very few frequent. That is like saying "Sure, it is open mike night" and then put the microphone in a farmer's corn field where no one is around to discuss the insights.

Second, for a site that is in financial trouble, it seems to me (and this is my OPINION only) you would WANT and NEED the discussions taking place. Why would you want to scuttle people away from discussing such cycling related topics in any cycling forum on the site when you need all the hits and exposure you can get right now?

Thrid, I appreciate all the work you do here, but what happened to the old days when people were allowed to post WITHOUT someone playing "site police" (your words)?

EJC
Read. Comprehend. Post.klay
Jul 10, 2002 10:16 AM
First off, you try and promote a cycling site and then tell us that one of the "rules" is not to post about Le Tour unless it is in the little section that very few frequent.

That is not what he said. He said (scroll up if you have to), "Please do not post Tour spoilers in your subject lines". He did not say "do not post about the TdF except in the TdF board".

Second, for a site that is in financial trouble, it seems to me (and this is my OPINION only) you would WANT and NEED the discussions taking place.

Those discussion can take place, as they do else where on the web, in a manner that everyone can be happy with. You can post all the results you want. You can go on and on about today's winner that you saw on the tele today. That's right. It's easy. All you need to do is type something like "Stage 5 - My oh My..*spoiler*" in the header of you subject and tuck away the results et al in the body of your post.

You get to discuss todays results. We get to wait to tonight to find out what happened. Everybody is happy.

Hope this helps.

K
Your first mistake isgrandemamou
Jul 10, 2002 10:37 AM
to try to reason with a troll. They do not respond to reason. They are not trying to have a reasonable discussion among adults. They thrive on childish banter. Do you belive that anyone could be this stupid? If they figured out how to get here they can't be. The only answer is that they are just looking for an arguement.

They can offer nothing of value so they must resort to childish BS to get noticed. Refuse to respond and they magically disapear.
thanks for the support, klay...gregg
Jul 10, 2002 10:52 AM
...and your explanation of how to post a spoiler and not piss people off is the same as mine!

EJC, I think klay answered your #1 pretty good for me. I never said not to post about the TdF in General. But we created a forum specifically for the TdF because of the high volume of posts about Le Tour.

#2 What's the saying? Publicity sells, bad publicity sells more (or something like that). I am in no way trying to stop "discussions" at all. Healthy debates are fine, flame wars and name calling are not. Yes, flame wars create more traffic, but it's not the kind of traffic I want on my site. And I would hope any prospective buyers would agree.

#3 Doug is correct, the "police" have always been around, it just seems to be needed a whole lot more 'round here lately. And Doug will vouch for my leniency on what to allow and what not to.

-g
you're wrongDougSloan
Jul 10, 2002 10:34 AM
Discussions will continue to take place. There is nothing wrong with discussion Tour topics in it's own forum. I don't think that will reduce traffic on the site one bit (unless it's yours, then ok). Further, the Tour page is nothing like out in some field. That's not a good analogy.

"Site police" were always around, but seldom needed. If people had any common decency and respect for others they would not be needed at all. Sort of a stupid argument to make, don't you think, which is essentially this-- "we don't need rules or police, as I just want to do what I want."

Doug
well, "wrong" isn't the proper vernacular...EJC
Jul 10, 2002 10:42 AM
...in regards to rules etc...

No, Dopug, I don't believe it is a stupid argument to make. There was a time when there wasn't such a loud and dedicated group of posters trying to regulate the content on the site. Yes, people would get a tad out of control and there would be some flaming, but most people knew there was some sort of lienenecy vis-a-vis the flames. Now, it has become "I haven't seen results yet so don't dare post about them until I see them" attitude. It is most assuredly a lowest common denomiator attitude/politburo mentality.

Many here want to say it is rude and insonsiderate to post before all get a chance to watch, but I say that is inverted. It is those who wish to have everyone on their level who are rude and inconsiderate.

Anyway, the debate will go on, nothing will be resolved and the "site police" will cencor posts. I guess this is the way of the world...

EJC
Spoiler.spankdoggie
Jul 10, 2002 11:02 AM
That is all you have to do EJC. Type spoiler in the heading and tell every secret to your heart's content.

Are you against putting the word spoiler in the topic heading? Why, considering you can then tell all the results below in the message?

I agree with you EJC on a few points, but can you provide the argument that would justify not putting the word "spoiler" in the topic heading when giving early race results?
well, I agree with both you and EJCET
Jul 10, 2002 11:30 AM
Gregg makes a reasonable request, honorable men and women will honor that request. Not sure EJC accepts even the request. I have no problem with the request (but I do wonder whether posters will be banned for being spoilers).

That said, on just about everything else, to me, EJC sounds more reasonable (if a bit brash in his language). I just don't get this thing about being a spoiler (does one punch co-workers cuz they spilled the beans before he gets to see the tape?), nor the time zone thing. People can access any sports site to get the results instantly. And if one wants to wait till after the tour to watch the whole thing in its entirety, do we have to wait the three weeks to talk about it? Not sure what a decent time interval is either. Three hour delay for the West Coast? Till the Wast Coast gets home from work to view their tape delays? Don't want to spoil it for someone who wants to wait till just before next year's Tour to see this one. I mean, from the tone here, a "spoiler" (even inadvertent) is viewed as worse than the detestable TV networks projecting a presidential winner before the west coast has voted. I mean, hey, it's not the same thing. It happened, it's very public news. And by the very nature of internet sites, there's a free flow of information. To put a ban here (even though alternatives are provided) on discussing the hottest cycling topic around just seems awkward and counterproductive.

I wouldn't mind discussing the quality of bikes used in the Tour, using the various stage results as evidence. Do I have to wait weeks to discuss that?

I think EJC's argument about one not looking on this site till he gets his results or sees his tape is a good one. This thing leaves me with a bad feeling about what will be banned next.
No, you can discuss results all you want...klay
Jul 10, 2002 11:56 AM
You can talk about them as soon as they happen. You can do it on this site as well. Go do it right now. Just one thing we ask - type the word *spoiler* in the header and leave the results in the body of the message.

If the onerous courtesy of the "*spoiler*, no results in the header" practice is too much to keep up, then the day after a stage might be an OK time to drop it. However, I'm thinking that you will find that it is sooo easy to do (and not awkward and counterproductive) that you will find yourself doing it out of habit.

K
for the sake of "domestique" harmony (double entendre intended!)EJC
Jul 10, 2002 12:08 PM
I will endevour to include "spoiler" in any Tour heading. F***, this is LE TOUR and we are spending all this time on DUMB SHITE like this instead of talkin' Tour!!!

I am as guilty as the next person and I will TRY to stay on better behaviour and topic!

On with Le Tour!!!

EJC
No I can't and I agree with you!EJC
Jul 10, 2002 12:03 PM
Good post and points well taken!

EJC
this is very simpleDougSloan
Jul 10, 2002 11:39 AM
If you want to post results, all you have to do is not put them in the topic line, and typs "spoiler" or "results" in the topic. Then, you can put anything you want in the body. That is a trifling inconvenience, and then everyone is respected and happy.

On the other hand, putting results in the topic line ruins it for those who don't want to know yet, and the only way to avoid it is to avoid the site entirely. If you compare the two approaches, the former appears to be much more reasonable, don't you think?

This really only got to be an issue because that "Spoiler" jerk was intentionally doing it to make people mad. I don't care what the substantive arguments are one way or the other (as I said, it doesn't bother me at all), doing something just to piss people off, showing no respect for others, is wrong.

Doug
I don't understand the "quot;r" part.JustinCredable
Jul 10, 2002 10:30 AM
DUHHHHHHHH!
I don't understand the "quot;r" part. Please explain.JustinCredable
Jul 10, 2002 11:00 AM
Enquiring spoilers want to know.
huggs and kisses greg
just go to Tourdefrance.com and.............CARBON110
Jul 10, 2002 2:51 PM
rub one out before entering RBR...... just kidding........

EJC keep the Love :)

Although I tend to be more along the mentality of DougSloan, but I enjoy reading the flaming taking place. Whats the saying...arguing on the net is like competing in the special olympics....even if you win your still retarded. Anyway, I laugh more on this site than on onion.com all due to mostly good wit and humor. There are those who don't know when to draw the line but we who have been here for 12months + know what to expect from eachother for the most part.
In anycase, no need to be so serious, life is pretty short and EJC, as much as I like you man, canadians have just as many issues as Americans and less pride Babe...have a kick ass time at Le Tour!
I don't understand the "quot;r" part. Please explain.AllisonHayes
Jul 10, 2002 5:37 PM
dunno, kinda looks like the work of a cybertroll to me. Whaddya think greg?
This whole thread is a flame war! Warning, stay away!spankdoggie
Jul 10, 2002 6:33 PM
you are all a bunch of jackasses. Kiss my ass.

Allison Hayes, you are a true jackass.

I remember some words my first professor told me and our class on our first day (I received one of the two A grades)...

"Don't think that you are dumber than me....
Don't think that you are smarter than me...

Assume that you have "exactly" the same intelligence as me. Think about that before you start this class..."

Think about it Allison... You jackass.