RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


sent an email to oln(9 posts)

sent an email to olnrufus
Jul 7, 2002 8:49 AM
i was a little disappointed with the coverage today, as i felt that a few of the bad habits from network and espn coverage of the tour had begun to infect oln's coverage.

my primary complaints were the pre-taped segments they inserted, like the "trek flashback" and frankie's look at neutral support that i feel should be limited to the re-air in the afternoons and the highlights show at night, when they can more effectively slot them in without disrupting the live coverage. i mean, when they're doing live coverage, i want to see the racing.

secondly, because of the anbdreu thing, and then a commercial break immediately following, they pretty much missed the climb near the end that disrupted the pack, and caused a lot of havoc. i feel that the guys in the control booth should have anticipated this coming up on the course and scheduled their commercial time differently, not breaking right at the exact moment this all was happening.

lastly, and i know this is just tilting at windmills, i asked if they could do away with the third announcer, and just go straight to phil and paul after commercials, like they did during the giro.

i know they won't do anything about the third, but do hope they work to fix the first two.
picking nitsgregario
Jul 7, 2002 9:16 AM
I sent them an e-mail as well, but I thanked them for broadcasting it live. Frankly, I think here in the US we have to take what we can get. If there wasn't a popular well-known big American name expected to win I have my doubts as to whether it would be on at all. I know they do the Giro, Vuelta, Paris-Roubaix, etc, but if it wasn't for Armstrong's fame factor, even if he doesn't do those races, cycling wouldn't be as big a draw for the "average" joe-sixpack.
yeah, i knowrufus
Jul 7, 2002 9:31 AM
we should be grateful for what they do, and i really do enjoy it. maybe it won't continue, but i'm pretty sure they didn't put any of that crap in during the live morning show, and i'm just worried about a potential trend i fear coming, where the advertising and special features begin to outweigh the coverage of the race itself. i just don't want to see their excellent coverage watered down to where it's just like what abc and espn did.

think i'll send them another one to clarify and thank them.
Bobke fans should complain about his abscence. -nmTig
Jul 7, 2002 12:00 PM
I just did too.look271
Jul 7, 2002 1:11 PM
Bill Patrick is about as knowledgeable about cycling as Dennis Miller is about football. (Actually, I think Miller is at least funnier.)
I just did too.Skip
Jul 7, 2002 6:51 PM
Hey, there you go. Adrian Karstens, then Bob Varsha last year, Bill Patrick this year, and Dennis Miller next year - yeah, that's the ticket.
1 for 3lnin0
Jul 7, 2002 5:40 PM
First off, I like 'tech tips' and daily news stuff like that. On flat stages you have to admit they have a lot of time to kill when NOTHING is happening - those features can be interesting provided they are relevent to the days stage. They also give new viewers a better understanding of the sport. As long as they don't turn into ABC's 15 minute long travel guide features on the Bordoeu region I can't complain.

Yeah, it does suck that they missed the climb but for the amount of coverage we are getting I can't complain. It's not the NBA and there are no COMMERCIAL time outs so naturally the director is going to have to make some choices. Yes today's was a really bad one, hopefully he will learn from it and get his commercials someplace when you can bet the action will be dull (but nothing is 100%).

Your third point, I couldn't agree with you more. That was an ESPN throwback with that IDIOT doing the intro each time they come back from commercial. IDIOT maybe harsh but it would be comparable if they had your local sports guy do the first 5 minutes of an NFL game everytime it came back from commercial before handing it over to Madden and Summeral. Very disjointed feeling from the rest of the telecast.

And for the record - here are my other two minor complaints about OLNS outstanding TdF coverage.

The lame name and intro to their tech tip feture and pretty much anything else they do aside from the regular feed - OLN please hire someone from an american pro sports network to do your graphics, I feel like I'm watching something from the 70's everytime you take over.

And Secondly is the horrible reporting. Have someone approve Frankies stories before you air them. Frankie missed a big W as in WHY do they use those pedals? Sure, a lot of us got it right away but new viewers probably didn't. Remember the two x-riders / reporters they had last year doing interviews and both asked the dumbest questions. Phil and Paul aside, watching these other hacks try and do coverage is about as fun as listening to the Dan Dierdof and Dennis Miller do coverage. I don't mind Bob Roll when he is doing color along with Phill and Paul but now that I think about it he was one of the dorks last year asking dumb questions everytime he interviewed Lance. I think x-riders work very well for commentary but they need to round out their staff with reporters who know the sport as well as have a lot of journalism or broadcast experience. These x-riders just don't cut it when it comes to these other segments and interviews and drag everything down with them.
Didn't frankie say they used the cages becauseColnagoFE
Jul 8, 2002 7:19 AM
they couldn't carry all different types of pedals?
Didn't frankie say they used the cages becauserufus
Jul 8, 2002 9:41 AM
no, he just talked about how they were equipment from the stone age, and he'd rather stand on the side of the road and wait for his team car than ride with them.