RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


OLN'S reruns(10 posts)

OLN'S rerunsSkip
Jul 4, 2002 2:38 PM
Any guesses why OLN keeps replaying last year's TDF over & over? Are they trying to get us psyched for this year's TDF, do they anticipate a bad race this year with little audience, have they run out of bass fishing shows to fill the void in air time ?????????

With the hype of Lance's knowledge & wisdom, his insider input & annalysis of the TDF, stage by stage, I looked forward to re-watching last years stages, but, IMHO, it fell very short (that 50 cal bullet was lucky to gain enough momentum to fall from the end of the barrel), only a very superficial smattering of overview commentary before & after the re-airing of last year's stages. Nothing very earth shattering or moving - maybe a 1-2 on the Richter scale. And why re-air it over & over - for those that didn't subscribe to OLN last year? Your thoughts?
re: OLN'S rerunsRoadfrog
Jul 4, 2002 2:41 PM
I just wish I could get OLN! Damn cable company!!
re: Dump cable...Bill B
Jul 4, 2002 3:44 PM
get a dish. Better picture, more channels, movies, music and, AND THE TOUR!!!!
I love it. my wife isn't to fond of it...Ron B
Jul 4, 2002 2:44 PM
I have enjoyed getting to see the climbing stages again and it's just getting me more hyped about the tour this year.
I love it. my wife isn't to fond of it...taar44
Jul 4, 2002 3:03 PM
I have been glued to my TV allday watching the reruns. Thank you OLN!!
Oh baby! OLN's da' BOMB!spyderman
Jul 4, 2002 7:19 PM
I watched stages 12 & 13 again today... Had to be the best of '01. Granted the commentary was rather dry, but how could you make it better?

Would you rather see the bass fishing or bull ridin'?? Not I!

They had a lot of history of cycling on tonight too... Lemond, Merckx, Indurain...etc. Really great stuff!

Tomorrow 10:30pm is the preview of TdF '02. It'll be great to get an update as to where everyone is. BTW, where is Pantani? (he he he...)
Check that, 8pm OLN TdF preview... eomspyderman
Jul 4, 2002 10:41 PM
Uh, ratings?McAndrus
Jul 5, 2002 4:17 AM
At the risk of stating the obvious: each network's mission is to make money. They make money by selling advertising time. The difference between the advertising income and the program production expense equals profit (or loss).

OLN acquired the rights to the '01 Tour at a price, which they've already paid. They can rebroadcast forever, as long as they can attract enough advertising dollars to make a profit.

Besides, it was fun to see the Paris stage yesterday, which I hadn't seen before. I love the charge down the Champs.
I like it...ColnagoFE
Jul 5, 2002 6:42 AM
C'mon now...isn't watching last year's TDF better than fishing or hunting shows? I thought the stuff last night on the history of the tour. lance's training regimen and the record breakers was pretty cool.
I watched so much of it, that I dreamed all night...Cartman
Jul 5, 2002 9:36 AM
about the tour! It's like an overdose of bicycle racing. Now I know how the people who wach football must feel after the superbowl.