RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What Bike Equipt. is Required to Compete in a Brevet(8 posts)

What Bike Equipt. is Required to Compete in a BrevetScummer
Jul 3, 2002 9:01 AM
I'm contemplating my first Brevet challenge and noticed that there is an eqipment check prior to the ride. Does anyone know specifically what equipt. is Required to compete in a Brevet? Fenders? Lights?
re: Go to RUSA.org for official detailsdzrider
Jul 3, 2002 9:12 AM
For 200k rides you need only a bike. 300k and up usually require lights. I use a front light, a helmet light for backup and route sheet reading, red tail lights and tire flies. Fenders are not required, but I bring a clip on rear fender as a courtesy to riders behind me. I've only been to a 200k and two 300ks, each at a different location and my bike has yet to be inspected. My limited experience has been wonderful and I hope to complete a 600k in Boston next week.
alsocyclopathic
Jul 3, 2002 9:40 AM
reflective vest and ankle bands.

I am surprized you avoided inspection, it would not fly in DC series; must have been Boston or NJ. When I rode 400 and 600km in Boston last year they didn't check my bike; they wouldn't care if it had a motor.

THere was a guy on BMB last year who was penalized for skipping bike inspection, and I heard French are strict about it.
You're right, thanks about the reflective stuff, thans nmdzrider
Jul 3, 2002 11:28 AM
blinkiesDougSloan
Jul 3, 2002 11:45 AM
some require the rear light to be constant on, rather than blinking, too; the blinkies annoy some people

Doug
I think it is an ACP rulecyclopathic
Jul 3, 2002 12:03 PM
in some euro countries it is illegal to use blinkies. (Germany? France?) anyways it was never enforced in brevets or BMB. I turn blinking light because it is more noticeable to drunk weekend night drivers
here, tooDougSloan
Jul 3, 2002 12:10 PM
some of the ones around here (California) have adopted the rule of no blinking; use only in flashing mode if you need assistance
Tire Flies? What are they?Scummer
Jul 3, 2002 12:34 PM