RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Best Ways to Track Your Training???(9 posts)

Best Ways to Track Your Training???Pirate27
Jul 2, 2002 4:10 PM
Okay...took my new Cannondale out for my first ride today. Did 15 miles, average speed of about 11mph, top speed of 24 mph... I know, not too impressive compared to the numbers many of you experienced riders put up, but keep in mind I have not been on a bike at all in over a year, have not been on a road bike in about 10 years...so it was more of a warm up and "get the feel of it" session.

I love having my little computer with all the stats and would like to start keeping track of my training info. I saw training logs in the book store for about $12-$15 but figured I can use a notebook just as easily. I understand there are certain online sites and pieces of software that also help you do this. I am wondering what the best way to keep track of my rides and stats is. Should I just write things down in a notebook or are there some cool programs that are great to use? Any special ways to set it up or organize the data?

I am sure many of you keep track of things like this to watch your progress and I was just wondering what recommendations you have...what works best for you?
Excel?Jekyll
Jul 2, 2002 4:18 PM
I used to be pretty anal about tracking everything and graphing it, etc: MS Excel is great for that and most people have it on their PC's (or at least know where to steal a copy). Really Excel is over kill for something like this but you can easily set up formulas to provide averages, totals, highs/lows. I still plug data into Excel I just don't pay all that much attention any more. I also occasionally use the software that came with my CicloSprot cyclecomputer - pretty cool but pretty useless.
I found that if I meticulously tracked everything all the time my riding became as much about the numbers as about the ride - bad situation. Many here comment that they have thrown away their computers and now enjoy the bike that much more - I'm too much of a geek to take that drastic of a steep.
Either way, congrats on your new ride and getting back out there!
VelocipedeDaveG
Jul 2, 2002 4:49 PM
I nice cycling log shareware program with a good list of features. Try it out for free, purchase if you like:
http://spiderman.novit.no/dahls/Velo/

There are several other commercial programs available including UltraCoach, PC Coach and the Athlete's Diary
It's free!Pecos
Jul 2, 2002 5:00 PM


I use this program. It tracks all of your workouts and will also keep track of your HRM.
Hmm, let's see...79-cent notebook or $799 computer?cory
Jul 3, 2002 7:30 AM
Call me a luddite, but I never saw any reason to boot up a computer and sit down and enter all the data when I can write it down in a cheap notebook in about 20 seconds. If I were training for the Tour, where 1 percent might make a difference, yeah...but I'm just trying to stay healthy enough to die of something other than a heart attack.
how did you get your 79-cent notebook to log on here?DaveG
Jul 3, 2002 8:08 AM
I think its safe to assume anyone posting here has a computer already. When people here spend hundreds of dollars on wheels, thousands and bikes and $100 on shorts/jerseys, $40 for a software program doesn't sound like a lot to me. While I can't really justify the need, I like tracking all my data in a software program that lets me chart and graph all sorts of meaningless stuff.
why keep track?FrenchPress
Jul 3, 2002 8:34 AM
Just ride. That's it. Ride. All those numbers hurt my head.

=-]
re: Best Ways to Track Your Training???Buysell
Jul 3, 2002 9:08 AM
I made a Microsoft Excel bike training log several years ago when I couldn't find anything available commercially that suited me. I have been using it since 1996, and modify it to some degree every year. It is very easy to use, and has examples included that you can delete or type over with your own information after you look at how it works.

My training log lets you track the Date, Distance, Riding Time, Average Speed, Maximum Speed, Average Heart Rate, Maximum Heart Rate, Intensity of the Ride (1-5 with 5 being maximum intensity), Subjective Rating of the Ride(1-5 with 5 being an absolutely wonderful ride), Wind Speed/Direction,
Outside Temperature, Route you took, Bike you rode, and Notes about the ride.

The spreadsheet automatically totals your Distance and Riding Time, and averages your Average and Maximum Speed; Average and Maximum Heart Rate; and Intensity and Rating.

I have also added a Bike and Mileage-to-Date area where you can track your 2000, 2001, and 2002 mileage. You can compare your 2002 mileage to your 2001 mileage month by month to see how you are doing. You can also keep an
individual record of the miles ridden on each bike for those of you who just have to ride more than one ;-)

You can down load the training log for free at:
http://www.cyclingforum.com/features/findex.htm

Scroll down to the TECH STUFF area and you will find the 2002 Training Log.

Thanks,

Frank
two ways....4bykn
Jul 3, 2002 12:56 PM
I keep a spreadsheet (Microsoft works) of my rides. I also keep the info at www.bikeprolog.com . It's free!