RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Know anything about Waterford?(15 posts)

Know anything about Waterford?collinsc
Jul 1, 2002 12:59 PM
I've read quite many varied comments about this builder. Seems to be very storied and experienced, but I've heard a few comments about harsh riding frames. Can anyone shed some light?

thx
re: Know anything about Waterford?HBPat
Jul 1, 2002 1:16 PM
They are very nice frames. The ones I've seen are custom steel lugged and remind me a lot of Serrotta. I think he used to build all the custom Paramount frames for Schwinn back in the day. I haven't found them to be harsh at all, they are a little heavy (at least the steel one I rode) when compared to a newer Alu frame but they are nice.
re: Know anything about Waterford?theBreeze
Jul 1, 2002 1:22 PM
Classic, lugged steel frames. Generally a bike you buy to last a long time. Relatively standard geometry, not too racy, not too laid back. I have a Gunnar(Roadie); made by Waterford but TIG welded instead of lugged. I love it. I haven't noticed an overly harsh ride, and I ride some pretty rough roads. Of course I'm 5'1" and 120 lbs.
I have a carbon fork and Mavic Open Pro wheels. I think fork and wheel selection can affect ride quality nearly as much as frame build and material. I tried out a Lemond when I was looking to buy and thought the Gunnar rode more smoothly and was less "twitchy".
BTW, founded by Richard SchwinntheBreeze
Jul 1, 2002 1:27 PM
And "Gunnar" is named after his chocolate lab. When I emailed them to ask about touch-up paint (after I lost it on a corner and put a good scratch on a seat stay) I got an email answer back from Richard himself.
I got a Roadie too.Leisure
Jul 1, 2002 11:25 PM
My feeling about the frame is similar. Also felt like the welding was better aligned than the Lemonds- seemed to track a titch better, turn in just a bit more smoothly (not that the Lemonds are crummy or anything). I love the thing. I would imagine the full Waterford treatment would be welded straighter still.
CliffO, you out there? (nm)gregg
Jul 1, 2002 1:27 PM
Yeah, Cliff, where are you?mickey-mac
Jul 1, 2002 1:41 PM
I saw a Waterford when I was out riding this a.m. and it got me wondering where Cliff O has been and how the wrist is doing.
re: Know anything about Waterford?yeah right
Jul 1, 2002 1:42 PM
I have a 2200, i've put 1300 miles or so on it, really like the frame, not super stiff, not super harsh, of course i'm 6'4" 235 so that colors my opinions, although it was fine when I was even heavier.

My dad has an RS-22 with 3500 miles, no problems as well. He went full custom and got a 67 with a pretty long top tube.

In all, great classic frame, I like 853 steel so that's a plus, they've been durable. They aren't cheap, but I got mine used, so that helps. No complaints, and you can have the bike built with a lot a variations with tubing and what not. The only thing I'd trade it for would be an high quality ti bike, and only then for rust resistance. Great bike in my opinion, but I haven't been on a lot of other high quality rides.
Good stuff if you like steel. I love steel.....MB1
Jul 1, 2002 1:43 PM
Beautiful frames. Ride great. If you want a lifetime frame Waterford is a great way to go. If you want a frame for a season get something cheaper.
Love 'emcoonass
Jul 1, 2002 3:18 PM
I've got two Waterford 2200; one w/DA (Jet black w/off-silver pin stripes) & the other (Metalic Emerald Green w/burnished gold pin-stripes)w/Record 10...and Brooks Swift saddles on both....absolutely beautiful bikes....I've NEVER been on a ride without someone complimenting me on the frame or workmanship, or paintjob, or just sheer praise...the ride is fantastic on ANY road surface, even gravel (hold on !!!!) I recently added Ksyrium SL wheels to the black....fantastic ride and looks...the lugs are absolutely beautiful and I challenge anyone to beat the craftsmanship or paint job..(do I sound like a happy owner; you bet your sweet @ss) Yep, Richard Schwinn (of the Schwinn Bike Family) will respond to your emails...
One of the very best buildersseamus
Jul 1, 2002 4:42 PM
After years of playing with all sorts of bikes, I settled on two Waterfords, a custom 2200 w/stainless lugs for road, and a custom x22 for cyclocross. They really treat their customers great and do a very thorough interview for a custom bike, and they get it right. Craftsmanship is as good as it gets---I've never seen a cleaner, more elegantly built frame. Absolutely no flaws or blems.

Ride puts the other steel bikes (I won't name names, but other good custom stuff) to shame.

I GUARANTEE you won't be disappointed with a Waterford.
funny you should askbianchi boy
Jul 1, 2002 5:25 PM
My brother and I were bike touring in Wisconsin last week, and we dropped in at the Waterford plant on our way back home. It was Friday afternoon, and the plant manager took us on a tour of the whole facility. I was really impressed by the whole facility, although it's the only bike plant I have ever been in. We got to see them making frames at all stages of the construction process, from assembling the tubes to painting.

Waterford is one of the last American companies making classic steel lugged frames, although they use the lastest steel alloys. Their frames with the stainless steel lugs and fork crowns are the epitome of bike craftsmanship to me, but they are expensive. One of the interesting things I found out on the plant tour is that Waterford also makes Salsa frames and stems. I knew they made Gunnar tig frames. They also make mtn bike frames but I forget the brand name, not being a mtn biker.
funny you should askrufus
Jul 1, 2002 6:10 PM
mountain bikes are also under the gunnar name, and they used to make lugged steel mountain bikes under the waterford name, maybe they still do.

they also used to make the rivendell frames until they began making full custom with a couple of their own framebuilders.
re: Know anything about Waterford?JohnG
Jul 1, 2002 6:30 PM
My brother had an older (mid 90's) Waterford and according to him it rode like sh!t. Very harsh and ugly feeling bike. That frame was made with 753 steel so it may be that the newer frames feel better.

YMMV
JohnG
re: Know anything about Waterford?kg1
Jul 2, 2002 11:04 AM
I just got the Gunnar Roadie. It is a wonderful bike IMHO. However, I am a novice, and haven't ridden a lot of other bikes and so don't have a lot of other rides to compare it to.

I got the custom paint job. I've heard people complain that Gunnar's paint doesn't have a clear coat but it comes with the custom paint. In addition, I've heard people complain about the decals. I told the LBS that I didn't want the "Roadie" decal on the bike and they didn't put in on there. I think they've changed the graphics of the decals as well to make it a better looking bike than it was in prior years.

The whole set-up, with full ultegra, Mavic Open Pros, and the custom paint job, came in around $1750. I thought long and hard about the Lemond Zurich, but the LBSs around here wanted $2000+ for one. Interestingly enough, the geometry for a 62cm Gunnar is almost identical to a 59cm Lemond.

As for the ride, it is at least as comfortable as my Cannodale hybrid which has shocks in the seatpost and in the front fork.