RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


When will the violence end?(14 posts)

When will the violence end?EW
Jun 29, 2002 8:03 PM
See the article on the death of 2 riders in Houston:

http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/?id=2002/jun02/jun30news2

We will have to see if it was an "accident" or deliberate violence.
re: When will the violence end?filtersweep
Jun 29, 2002 8:38 PM
Doesn't read like an accident to me...

Nice for once that Texas is a death penalty state... now they just need to find the bugger!
Wonder what The Villager thinks of this? nmPseuZQ
Jun 29, 2002 10:52 PM
Well see, I sent it to them... nmspyderman
Jun 30, 2002 12:29 AM
grrrnova
Jun 30, 2002 3:48 AM
"The hit-and-run driver could face a failure to stop and render aid charge, a driving while intoxicated charge, or a more serious charge, police said."

Going to be impossible to prove that the driver was intoxicated so long after the incident. So that leaves the "failure to stop" charge - or the "more serious" charge.

I don't know much about how the courts handle these things, but as I read more about these incidents, it seems that all a driver has to do is get teary-eyed and say "I didn't see the guy on the bike, honest!" and the are absolved of responsiblity.

I wrote here earlier about a coworker who, years ago, smeared a female cyclist down the road with his car. I remember I was headed back to work after lunch, and traffic around the office was snarled. I remember that it was a flawless, beautiful day. I saw his car the next day, the hood on his Toyota Supra was caved in, and the windshield was completely shattered. (I guess he drove to work with his head sticking out the side window)

Another coworker's wife was an attending ER nurse when the cyclist was brought in, which is how I know about the extent of her injuries. And I was on a ride with a guy about a year later, who told me about HIS coworker (a fellow police officer - female) who still was on disability because she could not walk well after being hit by a Toyota Supra. Turned out to be the same incident.

This guy is a *notoriously* reckless driver. I remember him being more disraught about having the windshield replaced (glass company came to the parking lot to do the work) and finding a new hood than he was about the fact that he nearly killed someone. He has since upgraded to a Corvette, and is proud of the fact that he can do doughnuts with the thing.

He told the court that he "just didn't see her", and that was that.
grrrspeedisgood
Jun 30, 2002 7:59 AM
Seems to me drivers should be held accountable for their actions, whether they're "aware" of them or not. If I tailgate someone and end up rear-ending them, I'm responsible for that. (I guess I could try the "I didn't see 'em judge, honest!" plea.)

So what if your coworker "didn't see her"? He should still be held accountable and suffer the consequences. If nothing else, he basically admitted that he's a hazard on the road cuz he can't see cyclists riding. That should merit a license suspension (isn't that what they do in other scenarios where you can't drive safely, eg. while intoxicated?!)
"I didn't see her/him" is not an excuse ...Merckx fan
Jun 30, 2002 11:27 AM
... it's a confession to the charge of negligance.

In my opinion anyway.
That's what civil courts are forkenyee
Jun 30, 2002 5:26 PM
Same as for a negligent shooting by a legal gunowner.

If the criminal system lets you off, you're subject to a civil suit if you maim someone. You'll spend six figures defending yourself and owe money to that person for life if you lose. Doubt your insurance company would cover everything if you lose...
DUI vs Driving Like an Idiotjose_Tex_mex
Jun 30, 2002 10:58 AM
Back in the 70's people used to brag about how "f'd" up they were the other night coming home. DUI was not looked upon as a serious problem. It was hard to prosecute because of the "been there done that" attitude of people.

This changed in the 80's along with public opinion. It is my opinion that we should put more effot in to getting rid of excessive speed, careless, and reckless drivers. There's still much of that "boys will be boys" tacit approval given to idiot drivers.

As for this case it appears at best to be negligent homicide. If the guy was DWI then he probably had not come very far. This should be a solveable case. Let's pray it is.
"failure to stop and render aid" = depraved indifference to lifeoff roadie
Jul 1, 2002 8:31 AM
I think the prosecuter would do best if the guy was NOT drunk. By failing to stop and render aid, he showed depraved indifference to human life that resulted in death of two people. I mean, he HAD to know he'd hit the folks hard, even if he didn't see them. That's two counts of murder 2. If he was drunk, its a mitigating factor in his judgement, although really, it should still be murder, since drunk driving is a crime that in this case had the same result as depraved indifference.

Don't know how the legal system stands on that, I bet its a lot more forgiving. Probably the prosecuters office doesn't press for such convictions, since offering a plea bargin makes them look good (saves money, too) and doesn't piss off the car driving public that elects them.
I favor...evant
Jun 30, 2002 1:50 PM
I favor air strikes against car plants, roads with no bike lanes, drivers who are negligent.

I favor placing anti-tank mines on the interstate. remeber, it was cyclist at the turn of the century who lobbied the hardest to create the highway system. I reccomend The Imortal Class by Travis Hughs Cully for reading.

CRITICAL MASS; mass if your critical. remeber, american drivers kill more americans in 1 year than Osama Bin Laden / al-Queda has in his/organizations entire life. Dont even get me started on firearms, especilly handguns...

--Evan T
I favor...lnin0
Jun 30, 2002 6:13 PM
Do you know of someplace I can get stats on that? I am interested to see. Thanks.
I favor...cyclinseth
Jul 1, 2002 9:36 AM
check out www.cars-suck.org or www.transalt.org or do a google search for "auto-free times" or "alliance for a paving moratorium" or "car-free cities". There is a lot of info out there. The "links" section on these websites will probably eventually lead you to your goal.
As in life.... never....:( NMbic
Jun 30, 2002 7:51 PM