RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Calfee Luna or OCLV 5500 postal?(19 posts)

Calfee Luna or OCLV 5500 postal?opencl
Jun 28, 2002 5:22 PM
Decision time for me.... which frame is better?
Do you want a "me too" frame or something different???????Dave Hickey
Jun 28, 2002 5:59 PM
The truth is neither is better. It boils down to want you like. On any given charity ride, you'll see hundreds of OCLV's and maybe 1 or 2 Calfees. Both are very well made. My choice would be the Calfee because I'd rather ride something different than the rest of the pack.
You really can't go wrong with either frame.
You said it.look271
Jun 28, 2002 6:15 PM
While I'm sure the Trek is a nice frame, I prefer something different. Buy the Calfee. Either way, you can't go wrong.
Heh heh. Charity ride.amflyer
Jun 29, 2002 6:59 AM
Where hundreds of people on 4000 dollar bikes raise hundreds of dollars for people with no food..then log on and argue about what a new bike will "say" about them.

Guilty as charged here too, but still guilty.

Ta,

Steve
does this mean you've dropped ti? (nm)loop
Jun 28, 2002 6:46 PM
does this mean you've dropped ti? (nm)opencl
Jun 29, 2002 11:43 AM
Nope, but I think Dean discontinued the XL and replaced it with that XL sci...
did they tell you that on the phone? (nm)loop
Jun 29, 2002 12:22 PM
re: Calfee Luna or OCLV 5500 postal?legs
Jun 28, 2002 7:35 PM
support small business.. buy a calfee... or a parlee..
treks are a bore...
Buy the 5500texfan
Jun 28, 2002 8:01 PM
Why? Because I have one. brought it home today. That seems to be as thoughtful as any responses given so far.

I wouldnt really worry what the rest of the charity ride peleton thinks of your bike. Get what feels good, looks good to you.

Texfan

P.S.

I have never ridden a Calfee. I am sure they are nice. But I don't own one so how good can it really be. :-)
Support big Business.

PPS
My 5500 is definitely not boring . . . its purple.
re: Calfee Luna or OCLV 5500 postal?SantaCruz
Jun 28, 2002 8:19 PM
I own a Calfee Tetra with Chorus 9 speed and have logged more than a few miles on a friend's 5500. I notice more than a subtle difference but I did have the head tube angle on my Calfee eased to 73 degrees. I'm also a Campy fan.

Ride them both, you will know which one you want. My guess is you'll prefer the feel of the Calfee.
re: Calfee Luna or OCLV 5500 postal?GEORGIADOG
Jun 29, 2002 5:55 AM
Yeah, don't ride what the best ride. Get a Calfee piece of crap, be different!
Yeah - ride what is given to you by a sponsor...MXL02
Jun 29, 2002 6:38 AM
Get an assembly line ready made frame, or get a custom made one spec'ed out by you and the frame builder...the last 5500 I saw was owned by guy riding red basketball shorts and shoes with platform pedals and reflectors in the spokes of his Bontrager wheels. Its not to say it is not a great bike, it's just passe...anybody can walk into their LBS and have one, whether they know what they are doing or not. They are both great frames, but like most of the other posters, I would much rather have something custom and unique, especially in that price range.

Wonder what Lance would ride if he had to buy his own?
re: Calfee Luna or OCLV 5500 postal?JBurton
Jun 29, 2002 6:51 AM
The Calfee just seems more...I don't know...sexy, than the 5500. I'm pretty sure that it is a bit more relaxed (European) than the Postal. I prefer the classic look of the Calfee, as well. I have a Cat 2 friend who wouldn't trade his Calfee for anything...especially not a Trek. I haven't ridden one myself, however. I do always encourage people to buy frames from smaller, independent frame builders, and I encourage you to do the same.
yeah, i love that nude finish. nmopencl
Jun 29, 2002 11:46 AM
The Trek is a nice bike.grandemamou
Jun 29, 2002 8:11 AM
But the Calfee is a cut above IMO. I have a friend who just had one built up. The fit and finish on the Calfee is much better than the Trek or my Bianchi for that matter. The paint and decals are flawless and the paint is absolutely gorgeous.

I only rode it around the block a few times but I found the ride stable,stiff and it really smoothed over the road imperfections. I prefer the quicker handlng of my Bianchi, but if I had both, I would definitly choose the Calfee for centuries and long road races.

The only downside is that she had to wait a while for hers. Six weeks or so. I think she is fine with the wait now that she has it. My opinion may be somewhat jaded because after seeing the Calfee I have a serious case of bike lust.
re: Calfee Luna or OCLV 5500 postal?skyfallen
Jun 29, 2002 12:22 PM
The only person who can answer this question is you. You should test ride both bikes prior to purchasing and make a decision based on that.

Both bikes are excellent and will perform very well under almost all conditions. The major advantage to the Calfee is that because the frame is a filament wound carbon frame, instead of a bladder mold (like the Trek), you can have Calfee make subtle changes to the frame if you want it stiffer, or if you need custom geometry. Additionally, though the project one stuff looks great IMHO, Calfee will custom paint their bikes to your exact specifications.

When I was choosing, I was looking at the Tetra-Pro and the 5900. After extensive test-rides of both, as well as researching from word of mouth, what I could find on the net that looked like an informed opinion, and talking to Calfee Owners, I ordered the Tetra-Pro. I should have it next weekend. :)

Each bike is excellent, so good luck. :)
warrantee factor, etcseamus
Jun 30, 2002 9:02 PM
The Trek is a great, great frame, no doubt about it. BUT...the Trek warrantee is something like 5 years, although they're pretty good about honoring it beyond that, but the Calfee warrantee is a whopping 25 years. And it's designed with durability in mind.

Calfee also does custom geometry, and after two years on mine, I still love the ride over anything else I've tried.

That said, go ahead and get the Trek, like everyone else. I like being the only guy in the group ride on a Calfee, amidst a sea of US Postal Treks.
re: Calfee Luna or OCLV 5500 postal?esbike
Jun 30, 2002 9:20 PM
I'll share my story. I wanted a really nice light carbon frame. I'd narrowed down to the trek 5900 frameset or the calfee dragonfly. I went with the 5900 for the following reasons:

1. The Calfee costs more. I don't about the luna vs 5500 pricing though. Also, I believe you pay even more for custom geometry.

2. The Trek has a lifetime warranty. I don't think Calfee matches that. Also, trek will be around forever. I hope Calfee is too, but that is less certain given it is a relatively small company.

3. The OCLVs have been extensively tested for durability and have held up. There is a german website that reports repeatly stressing frames and only the cannondale, trek oclv and one other frame held up. The oclvs have been very durable for the postal team. Calfee is probably fine, but I think there is less known about it.

4. I didn't care whether it is popular or not. Some on this forum are really hung up on being individualistic with their bikes. Fine for them, but why is "best-selling" a thing to brag about for everything else, e.g. cars, books, etc. The oclvs are popular because they are an excellent value (esp the 5200).

By the way, to answer the question of what would Lance ride if he wasn't sponsered by trek, I have heard that he is very attached to the oclv and if he switched teams, would opt to repaint the oclv rather than ride a different bike.
re: Calfee Luna or OCLV 5500 postal?skyfallen
Jul 1, 2002 8:36 AM
With all due respect, I don't think warranty can be a factor on these two bikes. With the Calfee at 25 years, and the Trek having a lifetime warranty, I really don't see the warranty becoming a factor between the two. I'll have purchased at least 3 more bikes in 25 years.

I do agree however that popularity of one over the other should never be a factor in choosing between two bikes. The choice should be made on the one that rides the best to the individual making the purchase. It shouldn't matter which one is rarer, either. Riding a bike because few people have one is a stupid reason, and it's sure as hell now why I chose the Calfee.

Peace.