RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Be Very Afraid(19 posts)

Be Very Afraidjromack
Jun 27, 2002 1:09 PM
Now the ebay thieves are selling bikes...not just any bike...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1839474492

Go ahead, mail them a cashier's check
Better use Paypal and a credit card ;-) [nm]Leroy
Jun 27, 2002 1:15 PM
Better use Paypal and a credit card ;-) [nm]filtersweep
Jun 27, 2002 5:43 PM
http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efa655e

They don't take Paypal:

"A Money order or cashier check is the prefered form of payment.
We do not accept COD, cash or personal checks.
If you wish to pay with a MasterCard, Visa, American Express or Discover then you can use Bid Pay.
Bid pay is a secure online payment. Its easy and reliable.
In some cases we will accept Paypal, but you must ask us before bidding
wether we will accept this way of payment before bidding.
The reason is that the small margin on most of the products we sell on auction makes it impossible for us to pay an extra 2.9% to Paypal. Our choice is to offer you the best prices you can get!!"

I inquired about PayPal, and they responded AFTER the auction ended.
They must believe : "Never give a sucker an even break" nmMXL02
Jun 27, 2002 1:55 PM
fun exerciseterry b
Jun 27, 2002 3:12 PM
did a reverse look up for their phone number when I was wondering where my stuff was.

result - an Acupressure place in Fullerton, CA.

it instantly put all my concerns to rest!
Um, you want to clue a newbie in? (nm)Kellum1969
Jun 27, 2002 3:23 PM
There are no refunds, no exchanges, no credits and no returns.filtersweep
Jun 27, 2002 3:31 PM
They "lost" my check when I made a purchase... sent me a "dead beat bidder" email AFTER they cashed it (I called my bank). Thank god it was only tires. It has been weeks, and I'm still waiting....
re: Be Very AfraidAegis_guy
Jun 27, 2002 5:33 PM
What does anyone know about these guys? I bought some pedals (look cx7's) for $159.00 and wa pretty happy about it. I know have some shorts and two jerseys on the way. Does anybody know more about these guys they can share? Thanks
not guys...filtersweep
Jun 27, 2002 5:39 PM
They are actually two women (that I know of)... I have first names and a contact phone number.

They reputedly lost their PayPal and Billpoint accounts, so they use that awful Western Union "online" payment system where you give your CC# and Western Union snail mails a check to them, then they reputedly seek shipment from their supplier, then ship to you. Reputedly they lost their accounts because they do not actually stock the auction items, which is an ebay no-no.

I'm wondering if they buy from european grey markets....?

They really are NOT worth the hassle. Pay a bit more even out of principle to send a message. I can't imagine buying Ksyrium SSCs from them! With a money order no less...?
I'm with youterry b
Jun 27, 2002 5:46 PM
although I actually did receive my goods, as advertised, the entire process was a pain.

-the day my auction closes, eBay de-certifies them and they stop answering email
-they could not relate my snail mail sent money order to my crystal clear email instuctions, sending me a snail mail message telling me they could not ship until I contacted them via phone
-the whole transaction took more than two weeks which leads me to agree with your contention - they get the money and then buy the items (which is the source of the little snail mail ruse described above)

Not worth the 30 bucks I saved and I don't want to stretch my luck. Their feedback is interesting - tons of positives but the neutrals and negatives are scary, "ordered Castelli shorts, got last year's discontinued model." Doesn't sound like an "oops" to me.

Clearly "buyer beware" maybe you'll be a lucky one, maybe not.
Maybe someone with first hand experiencespeedisgood
Jun 27, 2002 6:00 PM
should warn the dude who's bidding on the bike.
The Many Faces of "yourbikesource" & their recent historyunchained
Jun 27, 2002 8:11 PM
Apparantly they started life as a paintball seller on eBay, then branched out. Sorry, I cannot reminder their paintball ID, and it was suspended a few months ago.

Please read the following links, and the links contain within them. They have a nasty way of dealing with people who for legitimate reasons as provided by eBay, are excused from an auction contract.

unchained "Ebay Seller Yourbikesource" 6/23/02 9:56pm

MXL02 "Ebay Seller Yourbikesource" 6/24/02 8:22am
calling "unchained"...airbrushbikes
Jun 28, 2002 1:05 AM
sorry, don't recall dealing with you before? would you like to contact me and clear the air?

info@airbrushbikes.com

Regards
Splattercurlybike
Jun 28, 2002 5:25 AM
Looks like you got splattered by drippings from a real wide paintbrush wielded by unchained, eh?
airbrushed bikesunchained
Jun 28, 2002 7:06 AM
"airbrushed bikes" is on one of the link titles (only because they had posted in that thread), that was copied from roadbikereview.com. This was not intentional on my part, I just copied the link provided to me by roadbikerview.com after a search was done.

They are not affiliated with "yourbikesource"
How lucky can a guy get??John445
Jun 28, 2002 5:29 AM
I have always been leary of buying from Ebay. On June 24, I broke down and bid on a set of Look pedals. Lucky me, I won. I paid for my pedals using Bid pay and got a confirmation email from, you guessed it, Yourbikesource. Am I going to get screwed? Why would I stumble on this thread 4 days after this incident. Lucky me, I guess.

What can I expect? and what is my recourse? Any help appreciated, this is my first and probably last Ebay purchase.

John
there are good ebay sellers!TomS
Jun 28, 2002 6:05 AM
I've heard pretty mixed reviews about "yourbikesource", I was about to order look pedals (and maybe a wheelset) from them too but chickened out. I ended up ordering from "euromike" on ebay, who looks like another dealer, and got them within two days (paid on monday, received them on wednesday).

Anyway it sounds like most "yourbikesource" customers get things straightened out in the end, it just takes a long time and is a bit of a hassle.
How lucky can a guy get??LC
Jun 28, 2002 9:03 AM
I ordered a set of Pro Race tires from the same people 28 days ago. After 28 days of worry I finally got an email that they were just shipped, but I have not got them yet. Paid $52 for the tires + $5 for the bidpay money order plus $7 shipping so $64 total. I could have order the same tires from SuperGo for $35 a piece and the shipping would have been spread out some since I would have ordered other stuff too. I don't think the extra couple of dollars I saved was worth it.
probably coulda gotten em overseas for around $20 apiece (nm)ColnagoFE
Jun 28, 2002 10:12 AM