RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Best Deal on Aluminum road bike around $1700 or so?(12 posts)

Best Deal on Aluminum road bike around $1700 or so?OK-larry
Jun 27, 2002 12:15 PM
In Tulsa selection of Road bikes are slim; so I was about to upgrade from my old Raleigh to a Trek 2300 ($1700 here). Then I just got this months Bicycling Magazine and saw the review on the Motobecane le Champion team. it seems like an insane deal to get Full dura ace for $1750 - and a frame that Bicycling really liked. Anyone here have this bike or ever ride it? It looks like a better buy than the Trek 2300 - what are your thoughts?
I saw that Motobecane review and thought the same thingfred on high
Jun 27, 2002 12:43 PM
Bicycling seemed to love the frame, ride, and little touches and the price is crazy. So where is the catch I am thinking. Maybe Motobecane is just trying to buy the market - or maybe there is something on the spec I missed. Does anyone know if the Hubs are DuraAce - I could tell that from the article.
Douglas Frame and Ultegrajose_Tex_mex
Jun 27, 2002 12:49 PM
Have you checked out the Columbus tube Douglas at ColoradoCyclist.com? It's $1500 and equipped with Ultegra.
Very Nice
Kinda like the idea of DuraAce - even if..fred on high
Jun 27, 2002 12:59 PM
even if Ultegra is great; I kinda like the idea of having DuraAce. It always seems nice to have the best; and at under $2000 - why not? But can anyone tell me if that is wrong headed - is DuraAce really better than Ultegra by much?
I would rather buy a higher quality frame......STEELYeyed
Jun 27, 2002 1:26 PM
with 105 and a set of Mavic cxp 21's. A good frame that fits you is the only non-disposable part of the bike. But thats just me.
Too many compromisesfiltersweep
Jun 27, 2002 2:38 PM
"The best" ?? Two grand for a frame alone is just beginning to hit the mid to upper end of the spectrum... Dura Ace probably is more at home on a $1000+ frame and higher.

Give me a break... there are a bunch of $2000-3000 bikes in Ultegra. DuraAce is incrementally better than Ultegra- but you pay a hefty premium. Also, it really seems to be more about WEIGHT than anything else... you could probably run cyclo-cross on whatever wheels they include on that bike.

I would shop for the frame as your number one priority, then components.

I really wish new bikes came without WHEELS and seats (and of course pedals).... of course the seats they usually come with are disposable anyway... but those items are primarily matters of taste.
for $1700rufus
Jun 27, 2002 1:39 PM
i'd get the tommasini sintesi with ultegra from colorado cyclist.
Don't know if it's the best deal, but...PdxMark
Jun 27, 2002 2:25 PM
Just got a CAAD 5 w/ Centaur for about that from GVHBikes. Frame rides well. Components are nice.
re: Best Deal on Aluminum road bike around $1700 or so?opencl
Jun 27, 2002 3:42 PM
Get the Douglas Stealth Scandium frame with Ouzo pro fork from CC for $700... Then get the DA build kit and accessories from www.abicibikes.com. I bet the total would be around 1.7k... If I have 1.7k and want a AL bike, this is what i would do....
re: Best Deal on Aluminum road bike around $1700 or so?flying
Jun 27, 2002 10:59 PM
Yeah I am also looking to try a Alum frame.
I have been wondering how I could do better than the Douglas.
In a sense it is not much different than a Merckx SC Team
and soooooo cheap at 700.
This much I know for sure...Spoke Wrench
Jun 28, 2002 7:08 AM
The WORST deal is any bike that you buy insted of the one you really wanted.
See what you can get from Felt.niteschaos
Jun 28, 2002 11:35 AM
I have a Felt F75 and this bike is great. I ride from one to two hours at a time on it. I didn't need any time to adjust to riding to its double butted Al frame. I am 6'2" 185 pounds and I had a Selle Itale Octavia saddle, so that probably smoothed it out for me, but like I said, tracks smooth and light.