RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Are Colnagos measured c-c or c-t?(17 posts)

Are Colnagos measured c-c or c-t?greg n
Jun 27, 2002 6:09 AM
Their new web site is very boiled down and incomplete in my opinion. There are no geometry specs listed anywhere. Only a little pop-up window that lists seat tube sized, but doesn't indicate c-c or c-t.
CTPecos
Jun 27, 2002 6:12 AM
Go to this sitePecos
Jun 27, 2002 6:14 AM
Thanks. That was what I was looking for. nmgreg n
Jun 27, 2002 8:11 AM
So whatcha thinkin' about gettin"?Pecos
Jun 27, 2002 6:18 AM
Have you tried the FondriestsPack Meat
Jun 27, 2002 6:35 AM
I have nothing personal against the Nags but after riding the colnago and the fondriest, I can't in good conscience allow anybody to blindly purchase a colnago without first looking at and riding the fondriest.
I have been considering the Status Carb. Which one ..Pecos
Jun 27, 2002 7:09 AM
are you talking about?
I have been considering the Status Carb. Which one ..Pack Meat
Jun 27, 2002 9:22 AM
I ride the Carb Level, it's great, super stiff where it needs to be and comfy, darn near plush, where it needs to be. I rode a CT-1 and it was the oppisite, the BB seemed flexy and the rear end seemed to rigid and seemed to transfer the shock from every little bump in the road.
Well that may have just knocked the CT-1 out of ...Pecos
Jun 27, 2002 10:51 AM
the box. That was my other choice. I am not interested in an all CF frame nor an all Ti frame, but the combination of materials can and should only yield better results. Ti and CF seem natural together as they are both "modern" materials. However I think I may want good old steel as part of the combination which is what the Status Carb is - Dedacciai Optimal EOM 16.50 steel. Should be light and stiff where needed yet compliant in just the right spots.
Well, whatever, but seems like pretty much everyone whodjg
Jun 27, 2002 11:08 AM
has a CT1 disagrees. There's nothing definitive about my opinion, but I actually have a CT1 and I think it's solid in the bb and rear triangle and pretty damn comfortable besides. Everyone I've talked to who has one (I guess you can check out the reviews), seems to think the same. Obviously, the ideal is to try one for yourself, although that may be hard to do.

As for the measurement, Colnago measures from the center of the bottom bracket to the bottom of the seat tube collar. So strictly speaking, it's neither c-t nor c-c. My 56 cm Colnago measures almost exactly 55 cm from the bb to the top of the top tube (and again very close to 55 cm on the top tube length).

All materials are modern in the configuration used in modern bicycle tubes--I'm not really sure what that has to do with anything. Ti and Carbon in their elemental forms are pretty damn ancient. Steel, not so much.
Are you kidding?Pack Meat
Jun 27, 2002 12:00 PM
If you're spending that kind of dough on a bike you better test ride it first.

Again, what I stated above is my opinion, and as we know from this board, opinions are like a-holes, everybody has one.
Um, kidding about what?djg
Jun 27, 2002 4:02 PM
I don't question your ability to have an opinion. Or to have an opinion different from my own. I was just surprised to see somebody apparently writing off a generally popular frame on the opinion of one stranger, especially when it's clear from this board that lots of folks (lots more strangers) who have experience with the bike in question have opinions contrary to yours.

The fact is, it's hard to get a test ride at all on lots of things. And with all due respect to the recent "everything fits" fine school of thought, it's often harder to get a test ride with the bike set up just as you'd like. And short test rides--say, anything short of two weeks--can be pretty misleading. So lots of folks--especially folks buying high-end bikes--take something of a flier when they place their orders. Clearly, that's taking something of a chance. Whether that's crazy depends on your assessment of the level of risk that you'll be disappointed and your ability to cope--emotionally, financially, whatever--in case you should be disappointed. I took a flier on my CT1--bought it at about half the US retail by mail from England. I would have been disappointed if I hadn't liked it, but I wouldn't have been crushed or ruined, I just would have sold it. Turned out I wasn't disappointed at all. That's just how it went.

I wasn't kidding about the Colnago sizing, I'm pretty sure I'm right about that.

Kind of kidding about the materials stuff, although it's all true.
I guess I should restate my position. I haven't totally ...Pecos
Jun 28, 2002 7:00 AM
written it off. It is juat that I found I have some sizing issues that may not be able to be addressed with the configuration of Colnago geometry. I own a 54mm Colnago and have found that though the general parameters are fine ie, TT, standover etc., the seat tube angle may not be optimal for me. Evidently I have a longer than normal femur (sp) than most for someone of my height - 5"'8". The CT1 in my size has a 74deg seat tube algle while the Fondriest has a shallower angle at 73deg. This will put my seat and as a result, my knees in a more efficient position. The CT1 was at the top of the list. Even over a C40 which I have given strong consideration to. I don't think I have enough confidence in CF to purchase full CF frame. THanks for your input. That is why this board is so valuable.
Bill
Well, you need to be comfortable anddjg
Jun 28, 2002 10:02 AM
there are certainly other options, including custom.

Personally, I use a Look Ergopost for extra setback but some folks don't like them.
I'm considering a used Tecnos for my wife...greg n
Jun 27, 2002 7:16 AM
if the price is right. Can't justify spending too much on a road bike for her that will initially get minimal use at best.

Although the Fondriests are beautiful bikes too. Never ridden one. Only seen them.
re: Are Colnagos measured c-c or c-t?legs
Jun 27, 2002 6:37 AM
Colnago notoriously does not list accurate frame measurements..(in fact most companies don't)
That can be deceiving tooColnagoFE
Jun 27, 2002 6:48 AM
Bigger frames are made with what they call "freuhler" construction where the headtube and seattube are extended up past the top tube.