RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How much of what's written on this board do you believe?(61 posts)

How much of what's written on this board do you believe?Mel Erickson
Jun 27, 2002 5:23 AM
The reason I ask is that a buddy did a composite photo of another friend ogling the Colorado Cyclist gal. It was a pretty funny picture. I mentioned that she was the subject of a week long obcession on this board and that someone mentioned they either knew her or met her and she was a cyclist. None of my buddies frequents this board and thought I was the most gullible person in the world to actually believe something like that was true. Got me thinking. How much of what's written on this board do you believe? How much do you trust what people write and the posters themselves? Personally I think the board is pretty good at smoking out the pretenders but we all put a certain amount of trust in things that are difficult to prove, like that above.
re: How much of what's written on this board do you believe?Fredrico
Jun 27, 2002 5:28 AM
Don't suppose we'll ever know if that was really Phil Liggett who posted a while back, but any disinformation always seems to be exposed by the end of a long thread. That's the genius of this forum: the truth always comes out.
The board and "reality"EJC
Jun 27, 2002 5:32 AM
I treat the posters on this board the same way I treat 'reality'. Meaning:

I believe in them until they prove they deserve otherwise. I give the benfit of the doubt and just enjoy. Bad apples in the bunch? I am sure they are there, but I choose to worry about more positive things. Besides, I think most people on this board are just normal chaps and gals like most people you meet on a daily basis.

Maybe I am just naive, but screw it. Live and let live.

Cheers,

EJC
re: How much of what's written on this board do you believe?netso
Jun 27, 2002 5:44 AM
I Can't believe I am so slow!
You mean you can't average 22mph? (nm)Fredrico
Jun 27, 2002 8:33 AM
on flat ground with a tailwind maybe or draftingColnagoFE
Jun 27, 2002 9:57 AM
If you throw in any climbing then I'm lucky to average 19mph. That doesn't mean I'm not going 22+ a lot of the time, but average takes all speeds you ride into account so that trudge up a hill for 10 minutes at 11-12mph drops your average pretty quick. If your computer really says 22mph AVERAGE then you are hauling in my book. Drafting is more easily doable at 22mph average.
re: I treat most as opinions rather than facts.dzrider
Jun 27, 2002 5:52 AM
If my buddy Steve tells me that Campy shifters and derailleurs will shift fine with a Shimano cassette I will believe it because his information on matters like this has proven trustworthy over many years. I'm new enough here that nobody on the board has had time enough to earn that kind of old friend status with me. There are people whose opinions are close enough to my experience to be valued highly, but for me it takes a while to accept peoples' words as truth because they said them.
This is a predominately male board so..........Dave Hickey
Jun 27, 2002 5:55 AM
I think there is a lot of exaggeration. My average speed for a century was 25mph, I hit 60mph on a downhill, my bike weights 14lbs, etc..............

The only poster that really had me going was the original RadicalRon. I truly believed he was a real person .
Like asking "How much of television do you believe?"MXL02
Jun 27, 2002 5:59 AM
I believe I am like most of the people on this board, who are only reading this stuff because they are stuck in an office and can't go riding. It is entertainment...diversion. Believe it, don't believe it, it really doesn't matter. I helps me make it through the day.

Ride on!
The stuff on TV isn't REALITY?? - nmJL
Jun 27, 2002 6:09 AM
Only the "Osbornes"MXL02
Jun 27, 2002 6:21 AM
Hey, maybe we could do a thread here like the Osbornes, only call it "the Sloans"...
What do you think, Doug?
Like asking "How much of television do you believe?"JackDanielsFSU
Jun 27, 2002 6:11 AM
I believe your right about most people readign this stuff because they are stuck in their office. I too am one of those people. So my question is how much time do you spend on this board or other internet sites when your "working". I know when I come in the office in the morning the frist thing I do when I finaly get to my desk is to check my email and then jump on here for a few. Then I prob spend 5 to 10 min out of every hour kinda surfing the boards on here. It also helps me make it through the day.

So when your "working" how much time do you spend on this board or any other internet site?
Same for me...MXL02
Jun 27, 2002 6:18 AM
By the way, there is some factual, helpful info occasionally on this board, and that was the main reason I started scanning it...to help me with my riding. It does that, but it also provides some enterainment during my work day.
All day to some extentPhatMatt
Jun 27, 2002 7:16 AM
I do computer support via phone so between calls I just sit on this board and read posts, dream about riding and enjoy the virtual company. At home hardly ever.

Matt
80% of what i read, and 90% of what i write...JS Haiku Shop
Jun 27, 2002 6:22 AM
just kidding.

it's just like life. take it for what it's worth. not that you believe or disbelieve, but people's perceptions are different, and expressed as such. there's also a big gap between thinking, speaking, and communicating in type for many people. experience matters, and some folks simply repeat what they've heard instead of stating from knowledge or experience. kinda like the "home improvement" sitcom where Tim Allen would get some trivia from the faceless neighbor and totally screw it up when he repeated it to his wife...

now, as for exaggerations...sure, 25 mph for a century is pushing it, but not impossible for a highly fit group working together, on a flat ride, perhaps with good conditions (but not for me!). 60 mph downhills i have zero problem accepting, having done 50 myself before employing the brakes. but, then again, i could be lying. you be the judge. or not.

some people live dull actual lives and exciting fantasy lives, the latter played out on the 'net. ya gotta use the actual knowledge fwiw, and the rest as pure entertainment.

...and as for the flames, i don't even read 'em...at least not often...
re: 60mph downhillscyclopathic
Jun 27, 2002 10:02 AM
are doable with tailwind in full aerotack on long 2-5mi straight 9-10% downhill. Truth is there aren't that many of those.
re: 60mph downhillsjp2
Jun 27, 2002 12:09 PM
around here, all you need is a half mile 15-20% downhill and to weigh about 190+ and you got it made. i have maxed out at 54 and that is plenty fast and when i weighed 10 lbs. more

long streches are not required and max speed does not last long. a tailwind does help.
You betcha!look271
Jun 28, 2002 1:03 PM
There are several hills around here that I've hit 50+ mph and 60 would be possible if there wasn't a stop sign in the middle of the friggin hill.
nah...there are plenty of those in CO...ColnagoFE
Jun 27, 2002 12:21 PM
sure...unless you tuck and have a slight tailwind you are likely to get to only the mid 50s but 60MPH is not all that unusual on most of the major passes in CO. Even faster with a draft line or a tandem.
DOS PESOS...breck
Jun 27, 2002 6:26 AM
One might remember in the original incarnation of this board anyone could post under any handle. This gave you a certain latitude to express some of your different angles or thoughts that did not seem to jive. Try this gear or that gear. Then rbr asked you settle on one handle [or bike] only and be consistant. Later we were asked to take a pledge to conform to the "rules of good etiquette and manners", etc. ...don't blow your nose in the pace line. There were a certain amount of wannabees, Old Flames (an ol Dolly Parton tune i believe :), Freds, Etc. There always is in any discipline.

Will leave some sections out, but in "general" the Racing section has the smallest number of postings and rightly so as most of us don't join a team and race. However in the sub cat of training, nutrition, diet, etc. you could log in and pile on.

The Component section has some very technical good discussions and a smattering of Mumbo Jumbo Eratta & a fair amount of postings. Shimano, Campy, Et. Al. began to "modernize" our components and by doing so left some of us in the pack behind due to lack of the new stuff not back-fit-able to the old stuff. Deep Pockets are required here to keep up.

The General Discussion is the largest by far and covers the most topics, even mixing in some of the other sections. It cycles very fast and will drop you if you don't keep up. That is, miss a few gear shifts and the pack is gone to the next Zipp code. Miss a day or two of training and you are dropped big time. Don't check the board every day and you re in the "back 50".

If you pedal with the pack long and hard enuff you know who [whom on the board] to keep the eye on or pay more attention to as the case may be. The rest come and go, ride in and out of the pack.

There is no filter yet to keep you from buying not-as-advertised components. There is no filter yet to keep out ditto posts.

Ode to a Bike:
She looked like a Good Bike,
She looked like a Could Bike.
I rode 'er a little; I rode 'er a lot.
But mostly i rode 'er in the Parking Lot. :D

Cheers all,
& lets Cheer for mah Boy from Plano, Texas in le Tour :D,
-breck
Good to see you again. nmMel Erickson
Jun 27, 2002 6:58 AM
Lovely ode! Sums up most Relationships! ;-)nmrwbadley
Jun 27, 2002 7:01 AM
Welcome backmickey-mac
Jun 27, 2002 7:03 AM
I hope you can stick around a while. How's the good life in Julian?

mike
It depends on who says itgrandemamou
Jun 27, 2002 6:28 AM
If you spend enough time on the boards you kind of get to know who is real and who is FOS. As someone else pointed out, the guys who are FOS get outed pretty quickly.

This board is a just another source of information, especialy on new products. My own cycling world is pretty small, so it's nice to be able to expand that world and get useful info on new products that no one around here has tried.
I can definitely agree with that.JL
Jun 27, 2002 6:48 AM
Having been here a while, mostly as an infrequent poster, you get to see who knows their stuff and who doesn't.

Some posts you read for laughs, and others trying to get another "nugget" of information. I've acquired a lot of useful information on these boards. You see a lot of repeat questions/responses, but every now and then someone will add something that I don't remember reading before.

For some of us this is one of the few places we CAN acquire some of this information.

Happy riding.

John
yeapJekyll
Jun 27, 2002 7:51 AM
There is a number of regulars here who's knowledge and input has been validated over time. Having lurked here (like most others to make work livable) for years I have a pretty good idea of who's input is relevant and who's full of shit.
All boards have a tendency to act as purveyors of rumor and knowledge by proxy. And many new posters seem to feel the need to prove themselves by answering every post regardless of their actual knowledge on the subject. These people tend to wither away and the regulars remain. And some of the regulars here are a great source of knowledge and experience.
The funny thing is that I think we all know who's information is trust worthy without having to name names.
Who would you rather trust: someone on this board or a CEO?AllisonHayes
Jun 27, 2002 6:34 AM
Most people on this board are passionate, sincere and supportive. Even the trolls and flamers on this board are heads and shoulders above the behavior and values of corporate America these days.

"Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me."

I also agree with EJC.
I will take the CEOPhatMatt
Jun 27, 2002 7:33 AM
Only if they were working for Enron or Worldcom. Just kidding ... I think most of the info on this board is valid. You learn who you can trust and who you can not.

Matt
Actually....funknuggets
Jun 27, 2002 6:35 AM
I have actually found a great deal of information on this board. Aside from the heckling and tomfooleries that occur here, there are acutually many anecdotes and tidbits of information that do come in handy. It is bizarre to see how many stories that are told here that will manifest somehow into your cycling experience.
Skeptical about claimed average speeds ...Humma Hah
Jun 27, 2002 6:43 AM
When people claim to cruise at "18 mph", and average 25 mph for a 20-mile TT, I've gotta wonder. I don't doubt it's possible, and the folks who post here are not your typical bicycle rider (folks here are "cyclists). I know there are a lot of folks who'll finish a century in 5 hours that takes me 8.

But when I go out to ride, typically registering 14-15 mph average speed, based on the autostart feature of a Cat's Eye computer, I'm rarely passed, and even then its usually by no more than about 2 mph by a shaved-leg roadie wearing a jersey and shorts that cost more than what my bike cost new, and on a bike that weighs less than half of mine.
Me too...Slowclimber
Jun 27, 2002 7:32 AM
I often wonder about the speeds that people post on this site. It makes me wonder if they really know how to calibrate their computers correctly.

When I see guys posting 25+ mph speeds for long TT's I really wonder.
Me too...jp2
Jun 27, 2002 8:15 AM
wonder what?? why you don't tt at that pace? some of the folks here do race you know. in a 40k tt i will generally do a 55 min time. "i" am in awe of the ones posting the 50-52 times at the same events. everything is relative. if you want to do it, train for it or buy your speed with equipment(it helps a ton).

btw, my wife's best 40k time is 1:01:30. she currently cruises at 18 mph and no longer races or trains, just rides. we cruise together at 19.5 avg, and i, alone, cruise at 20-21 for my 55 mile weekend rides, unless on my tt bike, in which case it is 22-23. my computer is miscalibrated slightly, but the 40k time(actual) avg speed correlates pretty closely to the speeds shown on it.
Yepgrandemamou
Jun 27, 2002 9:12 AM
An avg of 25 over a flat time trial course is not that astounding. I ride with a guy Cat 4 masters who could do it easily.

As for bike weights I'm skeptical of people that have bikes that are pretty much straight up builds claiming weights around 14 lbs. I ride a 51cm EV2 with full record and mine comes in at 16 lbs 5oz with pedals. Pretty much a straight up build. To shed another 2 lbs I would have to get very creative.
Wouldn't evenfiltersweep
Jun 27, 2002 3:58 PM
Most people wouldn't TT if they couldn't hold 25+... just as they'd stay out of a tri if they couldn't swim.

Regarding speeds, my ave. door to door average (auto)speed is often 2 mph slower than if I reset my speedometer where my course begins (I eliminate all my stops and starts), and the longer I ride, the higher the average runs. I really don't think an average speed of 20 is that high if the roads are right.
Skeptical about claimed bike weight.elviento
Jun 27, 2002 7:32 AM
So you bike is over 35lbs? Sounds a little heavy.

I would take your claimed speed with a grain of salt too. Maybe you take a different route than fast riders, maybe your computer is not well adjusted, maybe you are on a MTB...

I consider myself a fastidiously rational person (due to personality AND professional reasons) and an average cyclist, with legs unshaven. I average around 19mph on a typical 25 mile training ride. I get my ass kicked all the time. On a flat road and a good bike, 18mph is indeed cruising speed.

But hey, who am I to believe?
Skeptical about claimed diets as well...Bruno
Jun 27, 2002 7:53 AM
every time there is a post aboput diets everybody eats mostly fruits and vegatable that they just farmed in their back yards.
Skeptical about claimed diets as well...biknben
Jun 27, 2002 8:16 AM
I have eaten a pound of M&Ms and a gatorade today so far. I'm going to have a Slim-Fast for lunch and I'm doing Tex-Mex for dinner. Do you really want diet advice from me?

I find the diet post comical.
LOL :-) (nm)Dave Hickey
Jun 27, 2002 11:22 AM
43 pounds, actually ...Humma Hah
Jun 27, 2002 9:05 AM
... I can get it down to about 40 lbs if I pull off the fenders and lighting system. Its a singlespeed Schwinn cantilever cruiser, adapted as a proto-MTB in the 1970's, but primarily used for road riding at present. I've got a witness on this forum, MB1, who'll testify that I've ridden it 152 miles in one day, and also tell you how slow I am.

The bike is undeniably slower than a roadbike, but both my calculations and my observations of relative speed tell me that its not THAT much slower, comparable to a MTB with street slicks. I've had it cranked up to 29 mph for a few seconds at a time on a flat road or velodrome. It'll do 18 mph on a flat road, but I'll rarely hold that pace more than a mile.
It ain't that heavy, you ain't that slow.MB1
Jun 27, 2002 9:17 AM
Who are you going to believe? Me or Abe Lincoln?

Thinking about it, perhaps it is that heavy but you ride just fine.
My personal favorite = Grades of hill climbsjtolleson
Jun 27, 2002 10:35 AM
Amazing how many people online REGULARLY climb grades of 20 percent or more.

Oh yes, and while averaging well into double digit speeds. Ahem.
are there many climbs much above 15% anywhere? (nm)ColnagoFE
Jun 27, 2002 12:22 PM
Not paved ones. But lots of cyclists seem to claim otherwisenmjtolleson
Jun 27, 2002 12:42 PM
They're rare ...Humma Hah
Jun 27, 2002 1:37 PM
... I checked one Doug Sloan claims to ride, near Fresno. Topo USA shows an honest 21% or so for a half mile, with this viscious hairpin at the bottom.

Few grades are much steeper than 8%, which I figure is a target of road designers. I've encountered one short one of 15%, and a half-miler of 12%.
Well...Leisure
Jun 28, 2002 8:33 AM
There's one on Antelope Island close to where I live that's a 23 grade. The sign says so. Actually, I think that's what it maxes out at, for perhaps a hundred feet, and it probably averages 15% for somewhat under a mile. If I were to ever start doing intervals I think it would be on that hill.

I've never actually paid attention to grade before visiting this board, but I'm trying to develop more of a sense of it. It's still not easy to see. The way some roads curve or switchback on themselves, the surrounding background, or just the raw length (and my own fatigue) can fool me. I even posted about one ride with a lot of dense canyon switchbacks parts of which looked to my novice eyes like a 25-30 grade, even though I wasn't going up any slower than on some hills that *look* flatter and I knew my conditioning wasn't any better. I couldn't help but measure it later and found the grades were about half what I thought. Humbling to be sure, but educational.
average speeds are a painTig
Jun 27, 2002 9:19 AM
Thanks to lights and stop signs, etc., to get a computer average of 18 MPH means you have to spend plenty of time going 20-22 MPH. It has always amused me to read the average speed when I know full well that I've been riding much faster for the last 2 hours. In a group of 6 or so strong riders, riding at 23-25 MPH is common. Still, I look down and the damn average is way below that.

So, when I read that someone averages 18, I'm sure that is what they see almost all the time while they are cruising along. But look at the calculated autostart's average would tell a less flattering story.
average speeds are a painjp2
Jun 27, 2002 11:29 AM
just did my lunch time ride...........

34.2 miles in 1:30:00 flat, elapsed time on bike computer and hr monitor. no stops involved, just 2 feet down hit the light and one u-turn. basically flat, total elev gain(eyeballed from riding) maybe 300 feet, probably less.

oh yeah, i was doing intervals so avg. was down, but on the tt bike. you can't make up the lost speed during the rest portions with the faster speed of the intervals. oh well
average speeds are a painLeisure
Jun 28, 2002 9:27 AM
Slowing down to 3mph for the twenty feet leading up to a stop sign really lops on a lot of time on your clock. And of course riding primarily hills throws down your time as well.
I don't pay much attention to rider speed estimates because there are so many variables that factor into it. I did one ride where I averaged 18 mph, and on those stretches of flats no wind, no draft, I was generally going about 23. A few days ago I averaged 11.7 despite spending half the ride (ie-the return descent) between 35-40 mph. Most of the climb I was between 6-8 mph. So what speed of rider am I? Hell if I know. Somewhere between 11.7 and 23 I figger. Pick any number, I don't think it matters. When you throw in hills, stops, drafting, fitness level at that time of the year, bike weight, dirty chain, sleep the night before, eating, effort, and selective memory you can toss out any number you want.
me too!dzrider
Jun 27, 2002 9:19 AM
Here in Connecticut people seem to confuse flat land speed and average speed. I won't bore you with arithmentic but they damned sure ain't the same on our rolling terrain. Every golfer believes he's really as good as his best drive.
I feel better nowLeroy
Jun 27, 2002 9:49 AM
I'd always wondered about that,too. My average is always less than what I read about here. My cateye computer registers like yours - maybe it's my autostart!

Dave Loving
50/50DINOSAUR
Jun 27, 2002 7:34 AM
Most of what I know is based on personal experience. Some of the technical stuff can really get confusing. This sport must be mind boggling for newcomers. But I did hook up with a fellow board member who walked me through how to buy a bike that fits, geometry being the important factor and it worked. Lots of knowledge here, I've asked questions and gotten answers within a couple of hours. Saves lot of reading and money wasted...usually folks who have been here for awhile and avoid the personal insults and flames..a few over post and I tend to avoid them...(sort of like a car ride with my mother in-law, in one ear-out the other)...I've also asked before if this board is really about cycling or about a bunch of folks goofing off at work, as it's dead on the weekends and holidays....I can say that because I'm retired and have all day to goof off......
i only believe in the existence of swiss banks.colker
Jun 27, 2002 7:59 AM
everything else is suspicious, vague, dubious... mostly propaganda.
The Web...GeekRoadie
Jun 27, 2002 8:34 AM
Well, like most resources on the web (forums, FAQ's, KB's, newsgroups and even webpages) you have to keep in mind that just about anybody can contribute. I'll have to admit that it is painful at times to filter out the stuff that is either irrelevant or just plain incorrect. I'm certain that most folks who contribute to boards like this do it because they feel comfortable in our "community". I don't think most NORMAL people post crap just to post crap.

As with other stuff on the web, you have to use discretion with stuff that you believe.
The advice is free--You pay for it when you take it (NM)duckstrap
Jun 27, 2002 8:39 AM
I believe what I want to believe and nothing else.MB1
Jun 27, 2002 9:11 AM
Tales of average speed, bike weight, epic rides, haiku, spouses and weather are judged by the quality of the writing.

I always appreciate a well witten post/story.

Entertainment, it is all about entertainment.

Quote "A picture is worth a 1,000 lies."
re: Canonizing RBR..jrm
Jun 27, 2002 10:03 AM
Now thats a riot.

PS: Oh by the way i've got a bridge for sale...
The Web...GeekRoadie
Jun 27, 2002 11:00 AM
Well, like most resources on the web (forums, FAQ's, KB's, newsgroups and even webpages) you have to keep in mind that just about anybody can contribute. I'll have to admit that it is painful at times to filter out the stuff that is either irrelevant or just plain incorrect. I'm certain that most folks who contribute to boards like this do it because they feel comfortable in our "community". I don't think most NORMAL people post crap just to post crap.

As with other stuff on the web, you have to use discretion with stuff that you believe.
what's the use in asking if you don't know if we're lying? :)nmET
Jun 27, 2002 11:47 AM
.
Ahh, an existentialist.Mel Erickson
Jun 27, 2002 1:04 PM
re: How much of what's written on this board do you believe?peloton
Jun 27, 2002 6:46 PM
I've been checking this board out since it was just a forum at MTBR.com. Over the years I have found that there are certain people who you can always look to for entertainment or information. Hanging around for a while and reading I think makes it pretty easy to tell who is worth listening to. I think the regulars know who the reliable and entertaining posters are without even really discussing it. Of course there is a lot here though that I wouldn't believe for a second though. The good regulars don't seem to post if they don't know what the answer is though. FWIW

It's entertaining, and at least worth the cost of admission.
believe 90%; agree 60% nmDougSloan
Jun 28, 2002 5:40 AM