RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Geeking out & Getting ready for Le Tour! ------>(20 posts)

Geeking out & Getting ready for Le Tour! ------>EJC
Jun 26, 2002 7:04 AM
I have to admit, I haven't been this excited about something in a LONG time! I am so excited I feel like a kid on Christmas Eve!

In addition to making sure I am getting adequate distance and time on the bike, I have ordered a copy of the Tour's official guide (and luckily, I speak and read French, so I can read it!), and even ordered a new jersey, although the company the GF and I are going with give each client a jersey...I am so excited to actually see Le Tour in person!

Which brings up a segueway and personal pet peeve...people who wear copies of the Maillot Jaune and other Tour winner jerseys.

WHAT KNOBS!!! In the mini-triathlon I did on Monday night, there was a chap who was wearing a Maillot Jaune. I could not help myself from telling him that it seemed hugely inapropriate to wear such the jersey, as it showed disrespect to the men who have earned the priviledge to wear it.

What are your thoughts on the matter? Should I have kept my yap shut? Should people wear the duplicate Yellow/Green/Polka dot jersey? Or even the Maglia Rosa duplicates?

EJC
re: Geeking out & Getting ready for Le Tour! ------>warriorcharge
Jun 26, 2002 7:45 AM
i thinks its fine if your shit hot ,but they never are they're normally guys with big fat arses and huge beer guts,i actually passed a guy pushing his bike up one side of the manhattan bridge in a polka dot jersey
Understand your point but....Walter
Jun 26, 2002 7:53 AM
I probably wouldn't have said anything. Who am I to tell other people what to wear?

The bigger thing is who cheapens the accomplishment of riders more, people who buy/wear replicas or the TdF itself for licensing/selling replicas?
AgreeMe Dot Org
Jun 26, 2002 8:04 AM
A lot of people ride Colangos in Mapei colors. Is it a slap to the members of the team?

Personally I think it would be nice if people reserved the special jerseys and bikes for those who had earned them through effort. But part of the reality of paying for modern teams and races is the licensing.

I dunno...whatever rings your chime. If someone wants to buy a Lance Armstrong Action Figure at McDonalds, who am I to stop them?
Cycling Fashion Cops...sheesh, why care what someone else wears?PdxMark
Jun 26, 2002 8:10 AM
Most folks wearing TdF championship jerseys are not holding themselves out as TdF champions, they are just celebrating the TdF in a way that suits them. Why should it matter to you? It's just your opinion that there's any disrespect. Is it disrespectful to have a Mapei Colnago, USPS Trek, etc.? Folks buying those bikes didn't earn the right to ride on those teams... No, there's no disrespect.

I think you shouldn't have said anything. And if some big guy in a polka dot jersey is slogging up a hill, well good for him. If the jersey makes him want to climb, or feel better about doing... what does it matter to you? At least he's not sitting at home on the couch watching bass fishing until the TdF comes on.

We cyclists could be a bit easier on each other. There are things a bit more important in the world that the color of someone else's shirt.
Excellent Sentiment...skyfallen
Jun 26, 2002 2:50 PM
The bottom line is that no matter what you wear, or what bike you ride, what it comes down to is how fast you can move. Those of us that have ridden for any length of time know that it's the engine that differentiates, not the clothing/equipment. Spend more time worrying about your form/fitness, and less time worrying about what other people wear.

I also agree that, 'at least he's out there' excercising instead of sitting at home on his ass. People like that deserve encouragement, not scorn. The more people we get riding, the more popular our sport will become, which will benefit all of us.
Well Said!! nm..Aegis_guy
Jun 27, 2002 6:31 PM
re: Geeking out & Getting ready for Le Tour! ------>ms
Jun 26, 2002 8:11 AM
Increasingly I have developed a libertarian view of others' activities -- do whatever you want so long as it does not interfere with my doing what I want to do. Although I have problems with people blowing cigarette smoke in my face or playing music so loud that I cannot think, I take no offense at what people wear -- I can avert my eyes if someont's outfit is too offensive. That being said, I never would wear a replica Maillot Jaune or other equivalent. I have no problems wearing a team jersey -- it shows support for the team. But, wearing an honorary jersey is like wearing military medals to which you are not entitled -- you just shouldn't do it. In summary, I agree with your views regarding the propriety of wearing the Maillot Jaune, but I would not impose my views on others.
I agree with you ms...EJC
Jun 26, 2002 8:39 AM
...I probably shouldn't have said anything. I must have had one of my bouts of tired crankiness!

C'est la vie!

EJC
I wouldn't wear one butColnagoFE
Jun 26, 2002 8:11 AM
I certainly wouldn't get on someone for wearing one either. You see people wearing hockey and football jersies all the time with the names of their heroes so why not for cycling? i see plenty of USPS jersies and I know those people aren't on the team. Personally I just wear stuff I've earned or plain colored jersies.
Doesn't bother me...Wannabe
Jun 26, 2002 8:35 AM
Doesn't bother me what people wear, but I am just a Wannabe after all. What irked me abou the last MJ I saw was on my ride yesterday morning here come a guy wearing a MJ, I wave as I approach and he just gives me a stare and then passes. No nod, wave or "hello." What a jerk. I yelled back "Have a nice day!" and off I went. I was so bummed out about other riders after my morning ride yesterday. It was by far the worst ever for other riders not returning waves. GET OVER IT folks...

/rant

Sorry for the rant! Guess I am still jealous of you seeing the tour in person. My dream trip is to see the Giro in person... Maybe in a few years, or next year if a win the lottery! But you have to play to win though don't you?

Andy
Only Freds, and Emily Harris would wear them (nm)Paul
Jun 26, 2002 8:59 AM
I would have replied to you with a "your an idiot" ...agilis ti
Jun 26, 2002 9:14 AM
and ridden on.
Not in a raceelviento
Jun 26, 2002 10:17 AM
It's wrong to wear those jerseys in a formal race. On other occassions, no problem.

So was your mini triathlon a race?
EJC = Joan Rivers...biknben
Jun 26, 2002 10:26 AM
Oh My Gaud!!! Look what he's wearing! He looks rediculous!

Why do so many people care about this crap. Maybe the wearer is a fan of Lance or Zabel or whoever. Maybe the guy in the team jersey is a fan of the team. Maybe he wears it specifically in spite of people like yourself.

Try going to a Yankee game and telling all those in pistripes they are "KNOBS". You'll be drenched in beer and thrown from the tier before you could say "just kidding".

Why is cycling different. We wear "authentic jerseys" of our favorite players in other sports. We buy the clubs of our favorite golfers. For some reason, if I wear a race jersey everyone stops in their tracks as if I'm riding naked or something.
LOL!EJC
Jun 26, 2002 12:35 PM
I can only imagine myself as Joan...oy...

As for the jersey debate, I would say that I would wear a "Team Jersey" as well, on training or club rides, but never in a race (unless I was signed on that team!) BUT I maintain that wearing a leaders jersey, replica or not, is highly disrespectful to the effort undertaken by the winners of those jerseys.

It would be like someone buying an American Football Player's Super-bowl ring off of 'ebay' and wearing it out in public. Not appropriate. Keeping it as a collector's item or keepsake is another thing entirely. But I agree that I should have kept my yap shut and let the lad wear his jersey.

Cheers,

EJC
Worry about how you can improve, not someone else.(NM)James
Jun 26, 2002 4:45 PM
re: Yeah....I_See_Fred_People
Jun 26, 2002 5:05 PM
the race I did Saturday. Dude rolls up in a USPS Maillot Jaune. He was a good rider but still.....
Bit arrogant of you.spyderman
Jun 26, 2002 10:13 PM
Perhaps it was the only clean jersey he had?

Perhaps it was gift?

I personally don't think it cheapens the sport. He was only showing support.

It would've been better if you challenged him to a race, beat his arse, and then turned to him an said "You don't deserve to wear that jersey".

He may have been a "knob", but you were a snob.

You must be French... Just kiddin':0)

Enjoy yourself at Le Tour. You're a lucky man!
Style Man sez...GK
Jun 27, 2002 11:28 AM
I'll paraphrase a recent Style Man column in Bicycling on this topic.

>You can support the "team" all you want. But if you show up to a competition in pro gear, and you're not one of the boys, you'll get run off the road.< (or words to that effect.)

I have a couple other personal pet peeves on this topic too. No flames please. Let's keep this in good fun.

1. ONE article in support of a pro team is cool. But wearing the whole outfit from head-to-toe suggests that you just might be a bedwetter. I saw a guy in a Domo lid, jersey, and shorts two weeks ago, and I thought it was taking a step too far.

2. How do any real fans of American Cycling bring themselves to wear Cofidis after they way they dumped Lance?

3. I'm partial to the Kelme gear, but as they pose a serious threat to Lance in the TOur this year, I don't think I can wear the green in good conscience.

4. The leader's jerseys are all pretty cool, but I think the MJ is the one sacred fleece, and personally would not wear one. OTOH, the polka dots ARE REALLY cool, and I will only permit myself to wear one after I've ridden a tour climb such as Ventoux or the Alpe d'Huez, which is a long term personal goal anyway.

5. Finally -- I never thought I'd say this about Pink, but I'd consider wearing it because I thought the maglia rosa was really cool, I have a lot of respect for Telekom (and they haven't beaten Lance/USPS in 3 tries), and I'm secure in my.. well, you get the picture. That Bob Roll commercial didn't hurt either. ("Gimondi batutta Merckx...")

Happy riding!

GK