RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Giving blood & training - safe?(10 posts)

Giving blood & training - safe?tad
Jun 26, 2002 6:08 AM
Is it safe to give blood while continuing to train?
Doesn't matter--give anywaycory
Jun 26, 2002 7:30 AM
Half the members of my family are alive today because people gave blood, so my answer's easy: Unless you're going for a Tour win the next day, give the blood and don't worry about the stupid bicycle.
Physiologically, though, it's safe to do it, though you may have a few days of reduced performance. I've given regularly for more than 25 years, while running and more recently cycling pretty respectable distances. Give before an easy day, not before a race, and it won't bother you much. But even if it does, give anyway.
If it were me...amflyer
Jun 26, 2002 7:44 AM
...I would take the next day off (use it for a recovery day) and make damn sure that I was drinking enough fluids to replace the lost amount. It's even more critical when it's hot out.

As far as the loss in RBC's, yeah, you will feel that for a while but if you eat right and are healthy you should be back to normal pretty quick.

Steve
bone marrow donorgregario
Jun 26, 2002 8:08 AM
i was a bone marrow donor, which i would say was a bit more uh...intense than giving blood and I was back on my bike in the front of my training group in about two weeks. I had also given a pint of blood the week before for me to get back after surgery. As an occasional blood donor as well I would say you'll be fine after a couple of days. Just drink a lot of water, OJ, etc.
??gregario
Jun 26, 2002 8:09 AM
why the heck is my message all in italics?
re: Giving blood and training - safe?SJMatt
Jun 26, 2002 8:21 AM
I looked into this a few months ago and found a fair number of discussions of this online, although I didn't find a whole lot of hard scientific research on it.

The net of the information that I got was that there doesn't appear to be any indication that it is "bad" for the athlete to donate blood. All of them say you do want to be sure to be diligent about hydrating.

Personally, I have given blood around noon and then gone out and done a big run in the evening, and I noticed no detrimental effects either on my performance for that run, nor my recovery. I wouldn't recommend that to anyone else, of course. In the future, I will plan to donate in the morning of an "easy" training day.

But unless you are a high performance athlete and competing is part of your livelihood, I really encourage you to find a way to donate that works for you. There are now so many restrictions on who can donate that I feel that since I can, I just have to. I'm not saving lives sitting on my butt in front of a computer all day, so giving blood is one of the most important things that I do.

For your own health, there are a number of studies that indicate that giving blood on a regular basis may be very good for you. One theory is that men in particular have too much iron in their blood and that leads to a number of cardio-vascular diseases that kill us younger than woman (who naturally lose blood every month).
Bad AdviceSingleThreaded
Jun 26, 2002 7:55 PM
Promoting a rest period shorter than what most, if not all, Blood Centers recommend is just poor and irresponsible advice. One should wait at least 24 hours prior to performing any strenguous activity after donating blood.

Hydrating enhances the ability of the body to replace the blood loss but it is not immediate.
Try ApheresisChaz_cycles
Jun 26, 2002 2:06 PM
I used to give blood riding to and from the blood bank. The people there did not seem to think it was a good idea but I never had any trouble. They got used to it after a few times. All I noticed was that I was slightly more tired that day and the next. I was riding 300-400 mile weeks and working 50 hours a week at the time. I switched to doing Apheresis instead(giving Platelets and Plasma)They seperate your blood and put almost all your red blood cells back into you. They only downfall with this is that it takes up to 2 hours. It causes no feeling of being tired at all afterwards.
Not for everyone...jagiger
Jun 26, 2002 7:59 PM
my wife gives pretty regularly without a problem. Awhile back she left & was walking thru a department store & sorta passed out into a cloths rack. She wasn't totally out & she saved herself by hanging on to the rack. Luckily she wasnt't hurt & it's funny to kid her about it now, but it could have happened somewhere else or on a bike?? I don't know if I like that much.
I've done it without a problem....jagiger
Jun 26, 2002 7:54 PM
I make sure to drink plenty before since I crashed & burned on my 1st time (got light headed & nearly went down). I drink 1 1/2+/- qts 1-2 hours before I go & my times have improved (for giving blood that is).

I did it on a day off & got back the next day & took it easy. You can notice a difference the first day or so but not a big deal. I'd guess you might also try going after riding on an easy day. Good luck!