RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


a solid first bike(21 posts)

a solid first bikeejn
Jun 25, 2002 5:41 PM
well, i have a mountain bike and would like to join the ranks of hte road riders and was looking at bikes today. I was showed Felt bikes, i was told they were good for the money. i am in college and cant afford the real expensive bikes, but need some good ideas about a bike i could get for maybe 800, 1000 max if i am in the right mood. i am not sure if i should spend the money now, or wait till later to buy a good bike. i was just looking for a few good bikes recomendations to check out.
thanks
-beep- INITIATE STANDARD NEWBIE RESPONSE #37559-09-click-whirrrrAhimsa
Jun 25, 2002 6:01 PM
-beep-

"Buying used is a great altenative for the new road rider"

-beep-

"Motobecane and Fuji both make solid bikes in your price range"

-beep-

"Cannondale makes several good models in your price range"

-beep-

"Try Ebay and the classifieds for good deals on used bikes"

-beep-

"Many stores stock last years models at significant reductions in price"

-beep-

"Spend you money on a good frame and wheelset over componentry which you can upgrade through replacement as it wears out"

-beep-

ENDING NEWBIE RESPONSE TO QUESTION #37559-09
TRANSMISSION ENDING IN____

3

2

1

ENDING TRANSMISSION

THIS HAS BEEN A COMPUTER GENERATED STANDARD RESPONSE FROM THE RBR CHAT BOARD AUTO NEWBIE RESPONSE SYSTEM

THANK YOU,
AND HAVE A NICE DAY.

-click-
Orcritmass
Jun 25, 2002 6:25 PM
Of course I need to apologize nowcritmass
Jun 25, 2002 6:26 PM
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
Be nice to newbies
chill out dudesievers11
Jun 25, 2002 8:52 PM
their post was fine, and in good humor.

(the bat picture made, me split my gut though. if you don't mind I plan to steal that for use on other sites)
So cruel...but sooooo funny!!! nmbiknben
Jun 26, 2002 5:54 AM
Consider Buying Usedjagiger
Jun 25, 2002 6:26 PM
You'll undoubtly get many suggestions for bike choices. If you are not it a hurry check into the classifieds here, check the bike reviews, Bicycle mags and ask alot of questions. I bought mine hear after similar research & I was lucky to find one within driving distance, which is definitely better since you can check it out, haggle & pick it up, eliminating the downside of purchasing used over the Net. I also saved a lot of $$$ and I got something to base my next purchase on ('01 Cannondale R2000si). Something to think about.
re: a solid first bikejtolleson
Jun 25, 2002 7:00 PM
OK, for whatever reason, we've decided that sincere questions should be met with pompous ridicule. Whatever.

Two basic options face you. The best is probably to have a knowledgable friend help you shop late-model used bikes. Then the issue is not getting fixated on one recommended model, but selecting among a few local options that FIT. Particularly in sub-$800 bikes, there is not a significant discernable difference in quality. Find a good fit.

The other option is looking at entry level bikes. There are a few you can find cheapest online if you want to take body measurements and take a chance: KHS Flite 300 or Iron Horse(www.bikeswholesale.com), Motobecane (www.bikesdirect.com), or looking for closeouts at your local bike shop on entry level models like the Bianchi Brava, Fuji Finest, Trek 1000, etc.

The difference between buying used can mean that for $800 you could get an Ultegra-equipped bike in steel, GOOD aluminum, or even titanium, vs. a Sora or Tiagra equipped aluminum bike.
Oh jeez.....relax JTAhimsa
Jun 25, 2002 7:24 PM
I just wanted to add a bit of something this board desperately needs.....levity.

First of all, I did answer his question with all of the common responses to said query.

Secondly I'd say that it was not mean spirited or pompous at all, but rather an inside joke of sorts for a board that lacks a much needed FAQ.

Thirdly, I knew that a plethora of Dudley Doright's like yourself would be more than happy to give a more in depth good samaritan version. I just wanted to give a chuckle.

Fourth, I generally help newbies. I don't see this as anything but a tongue in cheek continuance of that trend.

Fifth, I could have said nothing to the new guy like most here do.

Sixth,....I....well.....ummmmmm....I guess I have no sixth point, but if I come up with one rest assured I'll get your approval before posting it.

Cheers!

A.
Good one!Crankist
Jun 25, 2002 8:34 PM
Well A, gotta agree, not a malicious word in your (text) body. Your efforts weren't wasted here!
M.
Hardy-har-harStarliner
Jun 25, 2002 9:40 PM
Well I thought it was a creatively entertaining way to offer up the information. This board needs some freshening up from time to time, and you've done just that without being malicious about tit.
I'm fully relaxedjtolleson
Jun 26, 2002 6:00 AM
but I think we should be careful when using new riders with sincere questions as our levity source (which I agree we need!). No need to scare folks away.

I thought I made my point gently, so don't take so much umbrage. And my comment was broader than just you (imagine that).
I have to agree with Julie...Spinchick
Jun 26, 2002 7:09 AM
an inside joke to the rest of us could embarrass a newbie enough to send him/her packing. I'm all for levity and joking around but a brand new poster may not "get" the joke and feel like he/she is being mocked.

Just my $.02
pluses and minusesStarliner
Jun 26, 2002 8:26 AM
Your point was good, even though I would say that your usage of the word "pompous" was unnecessary and judgemental.

I have faith that there are enough caring people on this board, you included, who will always be there to jump in and make up for the posts that tickle the fringes of propriety, so I think newbies will always receive the welcome that they seek.
I resemble that remark!critmass
Jun 25, 2002 11:26 PM
And I wrote "be nice to newbies" a few times for penance! or rather copied and pasted them.
Anyway, I know that there will always be those who give all sincere questions a good answer. Much like you have here. Pompous? You have misread my intentions. I think Ahimsa found humor in a way to reply to an endless question, I was just adding a photographic touch.

Peace :)
Peace, to you to bro!jtolleson
Jun 26, 2002 6:02 AM
I just remember what it was like to have the newbie questions, and there's usually enough insecurity there to ... well, dunno. Nevermind. PMS. Whatever.
re: a solid first bikesievers11
Jun 25, 2002 8:46 PM
check out a fuji robuaix, 105, light solid bike. they run like 1100, but you should be able to find some on sale this time of year for like 950 if you shop around.

just an idea.

but seriously, don't do anything less than 105 in my opinion. It is worth it to save your pennies, if you can't find a deal.
re: a solid first bikemlester
Jun 26, 2002 4:30 AM
I just got a new Felt F75 a few months ago. I am very happy with my purchase. It has Tiagra shifters with a 105 rear derailler, and I haven't had any problems with it yet. I even found it on sale for less than 800. It was the only bike I could find with the components that I was looking for. Bottom line: good bike.
"-beep- INITIATE STANDARD NEWBIE WELCOME #47589-01B-click-whirrrr"AllisonHayes
Jun 26, 2002 5:16 AM
-beep- -beep- -beep- -beep- -beep- -beep-

"The RBR wishes to extend a warm welcome to all newbies (Note: there are those who prefer noobies so be careful it's like a secret handshake, flashing the wrong signal could result in a drive by flaming.)"

-beep-

"The RBR is a strange and exciting place and you will be thoroughly indoctrinated."

-beep-

"Indoctrination only occurs after you have passed muster and a complete initiation."

-beep-

"Once you have passed initiation and indoctrination you need to matriculate."

-beep-

"Matriculation is completed by completing Who's Who."

-beep-

"After matriculation you will be subjected to a usual group of trolls."

-beep-

"This is your most critical period as a potential RBR member. If you are able to demonstrate reasonable restraint from TROLL BAITING you will become a noviate and you will be well on your way to learning the Way Of The Roadie.

-beep- -beep- -beep- -beep- -beep- -beep- -beep-

ENDING INITIATE STANDARD WELCOME #47589-01B
TRANSMISSION ENDING IN____

3

2

1

ENDING TRANSMISSION

THIS HAS BEEN A COMPUTER GENERATED STANDARD RESPONSE FROM THE RBR CHAT BOARD AUTO NEWBIE RESPONSE SYSTEM

THANK YOU,
AND HAVE A NICE LIFE A NICE LIFE A NICE LIFE A NICE LIFE A NICE LIFE A NICE LIFE A NICE LIFE A NICE LIFE A NICE LIFE A NICE LIFE A NICE LIFE A NICE LIFE A NICE LIFE A NICE LIFE @#$@#%@% ERROR 78649-32b (*&%(#_#@SYSTEM LOCK

SHUT DOWN SEQUENCE BEGUN @!#$@#%@%@^% GREGG GREGG GREGG GRE........$.

-silence-
RRP is the Master Baiter......mlester
Jun 26, 2002 5:30 AM
as in "troll baiting".....
Imitation is the sincerest form of flatulence...nmamflyer
Jun 26, 2002 7:38 AM