RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


BEST POCKET DIGITAL CAMERA FOR CYCLING ?(10 posts)

BEST POCKET DIGITAL CAMERA FOR CYCLING ?Got-to-ride
Jun 23, 2002 6:51 AM
I'm in the market for a 3 to 4 mega pixel pocket sized digital camera to take along on a trip to Italy. I'm looking at the Canon S40/S30, Sony DSC-P5, and Olympus D-40. I would appreciate feedback from anyone out there with experience in the digital camera field - What to look for, as well as what to avoid.
re: BEST POCKET DIGITAL CAMERA FOR CYCLING ?RookieZ
Jun 23, 2002 8:24 AM
check out cnet.com; gives some great advice and the ability to compare these products side by side. I just bought my wife the D-40 2 days ago for her birthday. It seems pretty impressive, but no real life experience with it yet.
two sites to check outterry b
Jun 23, 2002 9:21 AM
These two have very good reviews and generally include the size and weight of the camera (important for jersey compatibility.)

http://www.dpreview.com/

http://www.steves-digicams.com/

My personal camera is the Canon S300 ELPH. Claimed to be the smallest of all, it's about the size of a deck of playing cards. It's 2.2mP, not 3-4 as you've described, but it takes nearly as good pix as my Casio which is 3.3mP and way too big for a pocket. The Casio is only better when I blow them up to 8x10, but even then I can't see the difference (my lovely wife claims to though.)
another Elph userJekyll
Jun 23, 2002 9:39 AM
I have a S200 Elph which works great for a "toss in the jersey" camera (which is why I got it). Like the above, its 2.1 mp but for anything under 8X10 it works great, weighs nothing (6oz) and is truley tiny. With 128mb card you can take around 80-100 high quality pictures. For anything that I am going to print at 8X10 or better I stick to my 35mm F1.
me threeTomS
Jun 23, 2002 10:49 AM
I've had mine since last fall and love it - I also have an olympus 3000, which has more features (better zoom and higher res), but it's a lot bigger so I found that I was reluctant to take it with me a lot. What's the point of a camera that's hard to carry around, unless you have a need for a *really* good camera? The canon fits in my pocket nicely...

But unfortunately, somehow the battery door came off and got lost yesterday while hiking! And it won't power on without the door, because apparently the door pushes in a little pin to let the camera know that it's closed. Still under warranty though, so hopefully it's not a big deal to replace.
Canon S30...coonass
Jun 23, 2002 6:05 PM
does EVERYTHING except Time Trials and it has better reviews than the S40....it is 'pocket-sized' but not light-weight, and that may be a deciding factor......also go to www.nextag.com and www.epinions.com....you can pick up the S30 for $385. ($699 MSRP)
re: BEST POCKET DIGITAL CAMERA FOR CYCLING ?Bike Mike
Jun 24, 2002 4:31 AM
I recommend either the D40 or (as mentioned elsewhere here) the Canon Elph. Of the three you listed the D40 is excellent, takes good images, is reasonably fast, and tends to do okay on batteries (relatively speaking). The Elph is nice too, although some men have trouble with it due to it's small size, and many don't like the small viewfinder. (I work in a photo shop every Christmas time and get a chance to play with the stuff and hear what people say about it.)

Depending on what you want to use it for and how many images you shoot each year you may want to just stick with film. You can get a good compact film camera for $100, and have a CD made with your processing for around $8.00. Unless you shoot more than 20 or 30 rolls of film a year, you'll still spend less doing that than if you bought a lower priced digital. And by this time next year there will be better quality, lower priced digitals around! Just a thought.

Say cheese!
OLYMPUS D40 Rocks! Very small, fits in your jersey...Fausto
Jun 24, 2002 9:41 AM
I pop the D40 in a little baggie ( so that it doesn't get all wet from the sweat ) and put it in the back of my jersey. it's really light, fits in the palm of my hand and takes great pictures!

PS- That's me and Bobke!
re: BEST POCKET DIGITAL CAMERA FOR CYCLING ?dahacker
Jun 24, 2002 5:00 AM
Canon, Canon, Canon, Canon. I've got their original digital elph and it is unbreakable. I always recommend Nikons unless physical abuse is involved.

If you are hard fast on getting the higher resolution, then don't skimp, go with the highest you can afford like the S40.

If you know you are not going to print bigger than 5x7, you are wasting your money going with anything higher than 2.1 megapixel.

As already mentioned www.dpreview.com and www.steves-digicams.com are the best sites and you might want to check out http://www.imaging-resource.com/CAMDB/compare_cameras.php for some image compares.

Now if only picking a road bike were this easy.
re: BEST POCKET DIGITAL CAMERA FOR CYCLING ?ridgerider
Jun 25, 2002 3:14 AM
Canon S30 is my pick. I've been taking it on road rides all summer with good results, including some "shoot on the fly" action. (example below) As you visit the various sites others have already recommended, be sure to check out the "reaction times" of the cameras you are considering. No digicam can react as quickly as a film camera, but some are speedier than others. And as you check out lenses, the "big number" may not be as important as the small one; the smaller number tells you how wide a scene the camera can capture.