RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anybody here at the Flying Wheels today? (nm)(8 posts)

Anybody here at the Flying Wheels today? (nm)collinsc
Jun 22, 2002 3:11 PM
I wanted to...klay
Jun 22, 2002 3:57 PM
....but my bike is at Samamish Cyles this week. (bought a new frame and I'm having them swap my Chorus from the Surly to the new frame...)

How was it? Nice morning weather wise...

Next year!

K
too badcollinsc
Jun 22, 2002 6:57 PM
was a pretty good ride, nice weather today, not nearly as hot as yesterday. The 100 mile route could use some retouching in some spots, but it was mostly pretty good. quite a few good hills (gimme your email and ill send you a copy of the route if you want to check it out), all in all a good ride.

I'm thinking I need to draft a more brutal hill climbing version, though we hit the main ones, we skipped a lot of good ones.

I deifnitely plan on doing it again tho. Good ride, good rest stops (as good as bananas, peanut butter and jelly, bagels and cold water gets) and good people.
I was there...k7-wave
Jun 22, 2002 11:11 PM
I rode the 70-mile route--just right for me (2-day STP rider). This was my 6th Flying Wheels and the one I enjoyed the most. Perfect weather, challenging hills, thrilling descents, good rest stops. The people were great, as was the scenery! The track racing at the velodrome after the ride was a nice touch. All in all a good time today.
re: Anybody here at the Flying Wheels today? (nm)Wise
Jun 23, 2002 9:19 AM
yep
I was there (100m) (nm)OperaLover
Jun 23, 2002 12:46 PM
Im guessing you were on an Operacollinsc
Jun 23, 2002 4:26 PM
And if you were, I'm pretty sure I saw you pass me while I was waiting for a friend to finish taking a leak.
Tougher than 1-day STPTypeOne
Jun 24, 2002 11:21 AM
The 100-mile route was tough! The 100-mile leg had a looong distance between rest stops, and it was the hottest part of the ride. I had two empty water bottles by the time I reached Snohomish. But that's my only complaint. It was a great ride. They call it an STP training ride?
From my past experience and listening to the opinions of many others, riding this hilly century ride is more difficult than riding the flat, 200-mile Seattle to Portland ride.