RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Butted vs. unbutted frame(8 posts)

Butted vs. unbutted frameopencl
Jun 22, 2002 2:45 AM
What are the advantages of having a frame made of butted tubing vs. a frame made of unbutted tubing?
re: Butted vs. unbutted frameJuanmoretime
Jun 22, 2002 2:55 AM
Butting saves weight, cost more and if speced right, it should be as stiff as the unbutted frame. The cost per gram is huge and unless you have very deep pockets or riding your bike puts food on your table, you have to question if it's really worth it. Especially since the weight saved is generally a couple of onces and it's static weight. I have a straight tubed ti bike and I have it down to just over 16 lbs through component selection. LoL
just curious...opencl
Jun 22, 2002 3:22 AM
what ti frame do you have? I am in the market for a ti frame too. Just wondering whether to go butted or straight... thanks.
Dont worry about butting...........firstrax
Jun 22, 2002 7:55 AM
......just buy the bike based on ride, fit and your budget. How the bike feels is a lot more important than a few grams.
just curious...Juanmoretime
Jun 22, 2002 9:29 AM
I'm riding a 2001 Litespeed Arenberg. It's not available as a frameset in 2002 from Litespeed. If you go to www.excelsports.com their Macalu ti frame is the same as a Arenberg, Litespeed makes it for them and puts their decals on it. If you want to go 1 inch headset, Excel is closing out some older frames for $798. Read the reviews on the 2002 and the older Arenberg, see will see that they have pretty good reviews. LoL
re: Butted vs. unbutted frameweiwentg
Jun 22, 2002 4:16 AM
> ...and I have it down to just over 16 lbs through component selection.

> The cost per gram is huge and unless you have very deep pockets or riding your bike puts food on your table ...

enough said ;)
Actually.............Alexx
Jun 23, 2002 5:28 AM
Double-butted tubing can actually reduce the stiffness of a frame-that is one of the advantages over straight tubing. Some (steel) DB frames can save nearly 1 lb over those with straight tubing, and yet have just as much strength at the joints (where it is really needed). TI water bolts will save you "a few grams", whereas butted tubing will save you many more.
Outside Mag "Buyer's Guide"tma
Jun 24, 2002 12:45 PM
Yeah, waiting for my sub to run out. Their writing has really gone downhill. Anyway, I got a chuckle out of them describing double butted tubing as being butted at both ends, as opposed to single butted tubing which - you guessed it - is only butted at one end.