RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Repeat after me; "I love my fixie, I love my fixie!"(21 posts)

Repeat after me; "I love my fixie, I love my fixie!"look271
Jun 21, 2002 7:44 PM
Rode it to work 2x this week. What a blast. 42 X 16 gearing, spin like a fool. Here she is:
re: Repeat after me; "I love my fixie, I love my fixie!"capnjim01
Jun 22, 2002 4:28 AM
Nice! how far is you commute?
5.5 miles 1 way.look271
Jun 22, 2002 8:23 AM
Downhill to, uphill coming home. I really think that it helps me climb and push bigger gears on my geared bikes.
re: Very nice. (nm)JL
Jun 22, 2002 5:07 AM
Yep, I love my fixie!SS_MB-7
Jun 22, 2002 5:18 AM
I bought my first singlespeed road bike nearly 2 months ago - a '02 Fuji Track...this was also my first fixed-gear bike.



I've been commuting into work (one-way = 17km ~11miles) on it ever since. The first ride was a little weird, but I quickly got over the feeling of needing to coast. Now, when I ride my freewheel MTB singlespeed, it feels weird to coast.

I added a front brake and front/brake levers and ditched the stock pedals for a pair of EggBeaters -- these pedals are incredible! And, I also ditched the stock saddle for a good 'ol Sella Italia Flite.

On my commute, I take my son (20 months old) to his baby-sitters in a Chariot Carrier. The ride with him is ~4km (~2.5 miles). I drop him off along with the carrier at the sitters and continue to work. Then, rinse and repeat.

Just the other day, I was late at work so I had the wife pick-up my son. This left me plenty of time to get out and ride. I hooked up with a buddy and we headed-out on the roads. He was on a geared bike and I told him that he needed to stay in 42x14 which was equivalent to my 48x16 gearing....he couldn't do it!

We booted around the city from west to east and then back....all-in-all, I put on ~85km (50 miles) before I got home. My riding partner tried to "drop" me on several occasions, but like his shadow, he couldn't loose me ;)

When I walked in the door, my wife asked the traditional-post-ride-question: "So, how was the ride?". To which I replied: "Incredible!".

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
Yep, I love my fixie!look271
Jun 22, 2002 9:27 AM
A couple of guys that I know have Fuji track bikes, too. They're nice. I did mine the cheap way-bought the old Bianchi from a guy at work (for $75), stripped the components, got a flip-flop rear wheel on e-bay for CHEAP, new tires (it's a 27 inch wheel) and it was good to go. It now has a different saddle than the one in the pic-that was ok, but weighed a ton! I had a similar experience riding with some guys on geared bikes. 2 of us showed on our fixies and they thought they'd hurt us by doing some decent climbs. I was 1st to the top =) They know better now!
Repeat after me; I love your fixie, I love your fixie!firstrax
Jun 22, 2002 7:58 AM
re: Repeat after me; "I love my fixie, I love my fixie!"Cigar
Jun 22, 2002 2:30 PM
I gotta git one soon!
What is different about the fit of a fixed gear bike over a road bike? nmJBurton
Jun 22, 2002 2:44 PM
I just gotta ask the idiot question...Lone Gunman
Jun 22, 2002 5:02 PM
How do you stop those crazy things without killing yourself or breaking a chain or crank or losing control? I ask because I have a 1990 Schwinn Alu that is my backup bike. I now have a retro 12 speed that is becoming the backup bike, so the Schwinn is on the sidelines collecting dust. It has a triple on it now, but I have the original 170 crank and biopace chainrings. All I would need would be a set of hubs which I may have that are usable, different bb to set up the chain line and swap out the brake levers. A few more questions; How would a 42 tooth biopace work as a fixie chainring, good or bad idea? Why not a single speed where I could coast or freewheel and keep the brakeset? Still not sure I understand what a flip flop is, what is it?
Patience, grasshopper!look271
Jun 22, 2002 5:37 PM
Realize that I am fairly new to this, but here goes. You use your legs to slow down and when you get better, you can stop altogether just using leg strenghth. I'm not there yet. A 170 crank would be good, but I'd ditch the biopace. A flip-flop hub has a gear on either side. Some have a fixed gear on either side (2 different sizes if you need a higher/lower gear) or a freewheel on the other side-like mine. I had no problem with chain-line but I used spacers on the chainring bolts. You don't have to worry about the chain snapping or the cog coming off-if it can happen, it would have happened to me, and it hasn't(yet!)
I just gotta ask the idiot question...Walter
Jun 22, 2002 6:46 PM
If you build it out of a former road frame, keep the front brake. It'll help immensely with slowing you down as it'll make resisting the pedals much easier. Unless you're shedding speed on a downhill a rear brake does nothing on a fixie.

Flip-flop fixed/free is the ideal way to go if you've got the hub. If your Schwinn has horizontal DOs it'll do nicely, if not use the old 12 speed as it probably does have them. Chain tensioners are ok with freewheel singlespeeds and vertical DOs but resisting the pedals on a fixie will bend it first time.
another newbie question.. err questions..zerobug
Jun 23, 2002 12:15 AM
ok. this whole fixed gear/ single speed topic caught my interest. i've been looking for a good low maintenance bike to use as a commuter and something for fun. it also sounds like it helps improve pedaling technique, so it must be a good thing!

so where can these "flip/flop" wheels/hubs be purchased and are there any brands that are better than another??

also does any one have any opinions on the bianchi pista? i figured because i don't really have any spare frames or parts that might be the way to go instead of building one up.
thanks for any help!
(first post too!)

david
An answer for everythingWalter
Jun 23, 2002 4:31 AM
http://sheldonbrown.com/harris/fixed.html

There are other sources too but not only do they have bikes/parts SB also has a number of articles about riding fixed and converting old roadbikes.

Happy reading.
Biopace and fixedjustina
Jun 23, 2002 5:46 AM
It won't work. Biopace is a slightly elliptical chainring if I remember correctly. This changes the length of chain required very slightly intra-revolution. Not a problem when you have a derailleur, but in a fixed configuration you don't have the chain slack to accomodate this. You could run single speed with a tensioner. But you don't really want to use a geared ring with it's shifting ramps anyway. As for my fixed gear experience, I love it. It forces me to climb faster since I can't drop a gear and ease up. Plus nothing is more satisfying than hearing a flock of yuppies on their Seven's and Serotta's attempting to organize a chase after I've blown by them on my $150 Frankenstein fixie. I'm currently piecing together a nice retro Italian fixed ride. Nashbar has Mavic CXP21's in 36 hole at $15, a great fixie rim in my opinion, just bought 2.
Man that chain looks pretty slack.MB1
Jun 23, 2002 8:48 AM
If it comes off on your fixte you are going to be a hurting unit.

I'd mess with the gearing until the chain was tighter.

BTW Fixtes rule!
It was.look271
Jun 23, 2002 11:53 AM
It did. Locked rear wheel. Due to my amazing bike handling abilities (or blind-stinking luck =)!)I kept upright. It's much tighter now!
Hey look271....pa rider
Jun 24, 2002 6:27 AM
Why don't you do your tuesday night ride with your fixie?

Jr and Joe take there Fuji's out on the "B" rides with us. As long as we do the flats around Boiling springs they hall ass.

Joan short took Joe over to Rossville one night and we killed him in the Apple orchards out by siddenburg road. Darn hills are too steep.

Glad to see someone intricate such a feat on their own ability. Ken Warner sometimes rides his as well. But all those guys bought their Fuji's (around $700) and never changed anything. You shocked me, because I didn't know Bianchi made a fixie.

Keep up on the bike commute, not sure if you ride to New Cumberland at 5:30am every morning.

Emory
I would, butlook271
Jun 24, 2002 1:49 PM
I work 2nd shift-330 pm to 12midnight. I Go down Spangler's Mill road through Lemoyne to work-Harrisburg Hospital. I'd love to the group rides, but I don't get the opportunity very often. I will if I'm off during the week. The Bianchi is an old geared bike that I converted-a late 70's bike. However, they do make a real fixte. Saw one in a brochure-it's called the Pista. A nice looking bike. What times are the rides from Mechanicsburg on weekends? I sometimes do the world Cup rides but they start real early (7am) and they really haul ass, especially if Rod shows up!
Saturday rides...pa rider
Jun 25, 2002 6:16 AM
I ride with rabbit and the renegades on saturday morning. We do 50 to 80 miles because of the ms 150 training.

Terry Shriver is doing a ride saturday 8am city island. We're going to the gap. I thought I saw you email on rabbits list for those rides?

We went to Gettysburg last weekend and had over 30 riders. John Yanno had us doing some major hill climbing at the begining. Gets everybody ready for the ms150. Raibbit and I did some extra miles, over whisky spring, to get 81 miles for the day.

Hope to see you saturday.

Emory
Saturday rides...look271
Jun 25, 2002 9:52 AM
Thanks. Yep, I'm on his list. Not sure that I want to ride through Hbg to get to the gap, though. Sounds like a good ride and I won't have to get up too early! Think I'll be there. (Not with the fixie, though!)
Mark