RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Abici Bikes(12 posts)

Abici Bikesfirstrax
Jun 20, 2002 5:07 PM
Any one deal with these guys. Prices seem to good to be true. http://www.abicibikes.com/frame_kits_2.asp?kit=Dura-Ace
No, this is not spam.
I'm curious, too.fracisco
Jun 20, 2002 5:18 PM
I'm curious, too.

For kicks, I added a set of Velomax Circuit Comps, some tires, and tubes. The wheel price was LOW, as was everything else.

What is the catch?
the catch:weiwentg
Jun 20, 2002 5:40 PM
they ARE honest people, although they have messed up some orders. the owner promised to rectify the problem. their warehouse is on the other side of the country (main office in CA), so there are communications issues. the owner did get my order straightened out, although it took some doing.
same experience as weiwentg n.m.koala
Jun 20, 2002 5:46 PM
Jeez, pretty cheap for Dura Ace.cydswipe
Jun 20, 2002 5:51 PM
Maybe these folks are going against most bicycle manufacturer buiness principals. I mean, instead of selling 10 bikes for $1500. They are trying to sell 100 bikes for $1000. Still, after looking at the site, I can't but feel like I've forgot a component piece after I look at the total.
re: Abici Bikesflying
Jun 20, 2002 6:06 PM
Seems to be true.
I have spoke with them on the phone.
Nice folks.
But you do have to buy a *kit* to buy anything
else at those great prices.
I wanted to just get some bars & stem etc. but no can do ;-)
understandable though.
re: Dont forget Jenson....cyclejim
Jun 20, 2002 6:21 PM
I just ordered my build kit from them. Overall I am very satisfied, the only problems were that they didnt have everything in stock.

I got the following for $678: (all Ultegra parts are 2002 new in box)

Mavic Open Pro w/Ulterga hubs wheelset
Ultegra Crankset (double)
Ultegra brake calipers
Ultegra STI levers 6501 (all cables included)
Prima 199T bar
Kenda Koncept tires
Ultegra chain
Ultegra front der.
Ultegra rear der.
Titec X-wing seatpost (this is a mtn post!)
No name saddle

I think thats it. They didnt have an Italian thread BB, a 1 inch headset, a 12-25 cassette (wierd- they did have the Dura-Ace for more $$) and a 120 mm stem. All of that also comes with the build kit, for a normal price of $759. I got a discount for each of the items they did not have.

I got everything, and it was exactly as ordered except the tires. The build kit on the website showed Hutchy Carbon Conp tires, but they sent me Kenda Koncept instead. I did call and ask about this and they were ready to send me the Hutchinsons right away, but after reading the reviews here I decided to stick with the Kendas as they are higher rated than the Hutchys are.

They are definitely worth a try.
re: Dont forget Jenson....cyclejim
Jun 20, 2002 6:21 PM
I just ordered my build kit from them. Overall I am very satisfied, the only problems were that they didnt have everything in stock.

I got the following for $678: (all Ultegra parts are 2002 new in box)

Mavic Open Pro w/Ultegra hubs wheelset
Ultegra Crankset (double)
Ultegra brake calipers
Ultegra STI levers 6501 (all cables included)
Prima 199T bar
Kenda Koncept tires
Ultegra chain
Ultegra front der.
Ultegra rear der.
Titec X-wing seatpost (this is a mtn post!)
No name saddle

I think thats it. They didnt have an Italian thread BB, a 1 inch headset, a 12-25 cassette (wierd- they did have the Dura-Ace for more $$) and a 120 mm stem. All of that also comes with the build kit, for a normal price of $759. I got a discount for each of the items they did not have.

I got everything, and it was exactly as ordered except the tires. The build kit on the website showed Hutchy Carbon Conp tires, but they sent me Kenda Koncept instead. I did call and ask about this and they were ready to send me the Hutchinsons right away, but after reading the reviews here I decided to stick with the Kendas as they are higher rated than the Hutchys are.

They are definitely worth a try.
Jenson ships crazy fast and has cheap tubes ! :-)PeterRider
Jun 20, 2002 7:15 PM
Just ordered a derailleur and tubes with Jenson, I received it in 2 days ! I'm quite satisfied with the price for tubes, 17$ for 10 compared to the 5$ charged by my LBS...

Pierre
re: Abici Bikesmahoneyjoe
Jun 21, 2002 8:28 AM
I just completed my purchase with them and I'd have to say that I'm quite satisfied based on price, quality and availability of parts, etc.; there was some delay due to their NY supplier sending the wrong STI's, but that has been worked out fine.
I'd also note that the owner Clark is concerned enough to try to quickly resolve the problem I had and that he also has been monitoring this board, at least lately, responding to people who've had problems--I think that's a good thing for a small company.
Orbea rebranded?hulksmash
Jun 21, 2002 9:31 AM
Is it me or are the frames they sell rebranded Orbea makes? I was looking at an Xceler8 bike and these seem, strangely enough, to have the same names. Question is, are they cheaper than my deal.....
re: Abici BikesTonyR
Jun 21, 2002 11:43 AM
OK, but has anyone ridden one of the darned things?

TR