RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Campagnolo group question, and What bike to buy...(9 posts)

Campagnolo group question, and What bike to buy...TheWanderer
Jun 19, 2002 2:54 PM
Howdy all. I'm looking to upgrade my current starter road bike, which was a used GT with a mix of Shimano 105 and Ultegra 600 parts. It's developed cracks on the head tube, so it's time to be put to sleep.
Anyway, I'm presently considering a Univega Modo Volare. It's got a Campy Daytona 10 speed group on it. However, I can't find any info on Daytona.
1.) Where does it fall in the Campy lineup?
2.) Which Shimano group is more comparable?

Also, it's either the Modo Volare (Columbus Thron, Daytona) for $850 or that EPX 303 Carbon fiber with Tiagra for $750. I'm leaning towards the Volare.
re: Campagnolo group question, and What bike to buy...mwood
Jun 19, 2002 3:28 PM
Daytona is now named Centaur. It falls below Record and Chorus in the Campy lineup. As far as Shimano comps, I've heard that Centaur/Daytona is the equivalent of Ultegra, basically. I just had a Colnago Asso built up with Centaur and like it very much, better than the Ultegra/600 group on my prior bike.
I don't know that I would even consider a CF bike at $750, much less one with Tiagra, but that's my personal opinion.
re: Campagnolo group question, and What bike to buy...Walter
Jun 19, 2002 3:45 PM
I've got the Univega below yours. It's my #3 bike but I do enjoy riding it. If the Centaur is better than my Mirage/Veloce mix (which works quite well) and I'm sure it is you'll have yourself a real nice ride that should last just about forever.

Go with the Campy bike, don't mess with the Tiagra.
re: Campagnolo group question, and What bike to buy...Leroy
Jun 19, 2002 5:03 PM
I've got one, too. That's a big a-men. The Univega is the way to go - a good deal. Besides the Daytona components, I like the way the frame rides.
re: Campagnolo group question, and What bike to buy...PdxMark
Jun 19, 2002 3:47 PM
The power of advertising... I can still remember the jingo from the car commercials for Volares...

Anyway, previous post is right, Daytona is now called Centaur and is #3 in Campy line-up.

Some Shimano folks might say Daytona equals 105, but having had 105 and Centaur, I think Centaur is at least between 105 & Ultegra, and maybe as good as Ultegra. Certainly miles above Tiagra. But that said, focus seriously on which bike fits you better... Even great components on a bad fitting bike equals a bad bike.
re: Campagnolo group question, and What bike to buy...SnowBlind
Jun 19, 2002 8:27 PM
I have one bike with Veloce and one with Chorus/Record. Have tested Daytona. Definitely better than Veloce, not as crisp as Chorus. Material finish is not as nice either. Down side is Campy 10s chains are expensive and don;t last as long as 9s. Oh well.
Daytona is lighter compared to Tiagra, and it *IS* Campy. =)
Most campy parts are interchangable, so you could upgrade part by part.
re: Campagnolo group question, and What bike to buy...scruffyduncan
Jun 20, 2002 2:35 AM
I have daytona 10 speed on my bike, it's been great. Weight/costwise it equates to ultegra but has that extra gear.
re: Campagnolo group question, and What bike to buy...tarwheel
Jun 20, 2002 4:44 AM
As others stated, Campy Daytona is the same as Centaur and is comparable to Shimano Ultegra. Daytona/Centaur is a very good group and I wouldn't hesitate to put it on any frame; it is a much better group that Tiagra.

I've got Campy Chorus on one bike and Ultegra on another. Chorus is higher quality and performance than Ultegra, in my view, and comparable to Dura-Ace although slightly heavier. The main difference between comparable Campy/Shimano groups is the ergonomics and feel. Personally, I like the feel and function of Campy better, but others prefer Shimano. The Campy shifters and brakes just fit my hands better and are easier to use. My Ultegra seems to shift a little smoother and quietly, but the Chorus is more bulletproof and reliable. The Chorus never mis-shifts or gets out of adjustment, but my Ultegra does quirky things like throwing the chain and rubbing the chain ring in lots of gear combinations. Campy gear is more expensive to maintain, but some claim the parts last longer. A new Campy chain or cassette will cost 25-50% more than a comparable Shimano product.
re: Campagnolo group question, and What bike to buy...TomS
Jun 20, 2002 6:30 AM
Well, everyone else pretty much has it covered, but I just wanted to throw in my 2 cents; I have a Modo Volare with 9speed daytona (the year before 10sp daytona came out) and a triple in front. It's kinda heavy, but fit me best out of all the bikes I test rode (tried some comparably priced bianchi, specialized, and trek bikes). The steel frame and carbon fork are really comfy. If I start racing I might upgrade to a lighter bike, but for recreational riding, even some climbing and fast rides, it's been just fine. I'm considering upgrading the wheels to campy protons or nucleons, but that's about it.

The daytona group has been great, no problems at all. I've replaced the cassette and chain, and put on a steel chorus cassette and a sram pc-98 chain and they're working just fine (although the sram chain is a little noisier than the campy chain was).

My only complaint, besides the weight, is that the stickers on the fork are peeling off :(

btw, $850 is a great deal! (assuming it's new)