RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Disappearing refusenik posts(25 posts)

Disappearing refusenik postspmf1
Jun 19, 2002 9:29 AM
I notice all the annoying refusenik posts are disappearing.

A sign of cosmic justice?
Prestidigitation!AllisonHayes
Jun 19, 2002 9:41 AM
Cosmic or comic justice? anyway, poof! now you see it now you don't. thx cosmic cyber god whoever u are
Please don't confuse the Trolls / refusenickjose_Tex_mex
Jun 19, 2002 12:06 PM
Allison,
I heard that when you confuse a Troll they are likely to use black magic or a bicycle voodoo doll to hex you. It's best we do not confuse them with big words.
LOL!AllisonHayes
Jun 19, 2002 1:21 PM
I always use deerstongue(a herb) as a countermeasure against voodoo hexes from trolls. Try it, but be careful, a little goes a long way:

DEERSTONGUE: Frasera speciose, Liatris odoratissima (Wild Vanilla), Trilisa odoratissima, Carphephorus odoratissimus.
Masculine, Mars/Venus, Fire/Earth.
Origin: Native to N. America; later cultivated in Britain.
Part Used: Leaves, essential oil.
Uses: Animals, to stop gossip, love, lust, peace, psychic power, countermeasure against voodoo hexes from trolls.
Other: Ingredient in Voodoo incenses. CAUTION: Toxic.
Sounds like a wee bit o'......mlester
Jun 19, 2002 11:57 PM
wicca...do you find that other herbs may help your performance on the bike?

-ml
herbs with special powersAllisonHayes
Jun 20, 2002 4:34 AM
that Liberty uses:

Common uses to fight trolls & defend cyclists:

Edelweiss - Invisibility
Dittany of Crete - Astral Projection/Travel, Divination, Manifestations (usual 'pote)
Eyebright - Psychic Powers, Mental Powers
Feverfew - Protection, Banish unwanted influences
Ebony - Personal Power, Protection

Liberty only uses these rarely and for the most extreme trolls or mortal enemies:

Wolf Bane - Protection, Invisibility, *POISON
Belladonna - Astral Projection, Travel *CAUTION* DEADLY POISON (only used in most extreme cases)
Henbane - Only used against the deadliest enemies! *POISON*
Yew - Communicating with the dead, Calling spirits, *POISON

Liberty said she her favorites are Edelweiss and Dittany of Crete.

I hope this helps,

Allison
Allison, I need something that will make me a super genius :) nmweiwentg
Jun 20, 2002 9:05 AM
So, just being a genius isn't enough??? :)AllisonHayes
Jun 20, 2002 9:44 AM
Some people are never satisfied are they...

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?229@@.efab66c/22

<<<>>>

Diamond Mind is designed to strengthen and empower the mind. And it does exactly that -- and more. Standardized Ginkgo biloba (24% ginkgo flavoneglycosides, 6% lactone terpenes) has been demonstrated to improve blood flow in the brain and to deliver increased oxygen to brain cells, thus improving cognition.

Each of the other four herbs in this formula have been used for centuries to improve concentration, focus, memory and mental energy. Tibetan Rhodiola has been proven to increase mental focus, improve memory, and increase mental endurance. It is in fact the primary ingredient in this cutting edge brain tonic. Siberian Ginseng and Schizandra have been demonstrated to improve concentration and memory. Polygonatum has traditionally been used to restore energy to the brain after prolonged mental exertion. Combined, they make a cutting edge formulation perfectly suited to the mental strains of this new millenium.

Who Can Use This Formula?

Anyone who wishes to improve the power of their mind, both on the short term and on the long term. Improves blood flow to brain, tonifies Qi and Jing, empowers the mind .

TIBETAN RHODIOLA

Rhodiola sacra has been used for over a thousand years by Tibetan Buddhist monks to increase their mental capacity. It increases oxygen supply to the brain and enhances mental alertness. Studies indicate that people who work in front of a computer are highly benefited by using this herb since it prevents mental fatigue for many hours. It is stronger than coffee.

SIBERIAN GINSENG

Siberian Ginseng has a huge reputation as a mental tonic and even as a mental stimulant. It is considered to be faster acting than Ginseng. Many studies have proven that people are more alert after they consume Siberian Ginseng and that they have increased mental endurance.

SCHIZANDRA

Schizandra is one of the major herbs almost always used in mind tonic formulations. It has a centuries? old reputation as an alertness enhancing substance. It is also one of the best tonics to the part of the mind responsible for memory. If you have a poor memory, you must remember to use Schizandra.

GINKGO BILOBA (STANDARDIZED)

Ginkgo biloba has been proven to improve blood circulation to the brain and therefore to improve brain function. Studies show that those who take Ginkgo biloba experience improved memory and ability to concentrate.

POLYGONATUM

Polygonatum sibericum is used as a Qi and Yin tonic and is said to have a specific benefit on the energy of the heart and brain. It is used to nourish the brain and strengthen the mind. Polygonatum sibericum is believed to be restorative to mental vitality, especially when the mind has been overworked, over-stressed or is in a state of exhaustion. It is not a stimulant, and thus does not have instant effects. However, taken over a relatively short period of time (a week to a month), this herb is a potent mind tonic. Its effects are long lasting. And if consumed regularly, Polygonatum can prevent mental and emotional breakdown when you are experiencing heavy mental loads. Regular use sharpens memory, concentration, wakefulness and focus.

It is a great herb for students, executives, airplane pilots, emergency room personnel, etc. Contains a full dose of Ginkgo Biloba, Rhodiola Sacra, and other powerful herbs to strengthen attention, memory, creativity and mental clarity.

Provides super oxygenation to the brain for many hours of sustained cool, calm focus. An awesome supplement for long lasting mind work.
re: Disappearing refusenik postsBradJackson
Jun 19, 2002 9:42 AM
I say good riddance. nm
i wish non-cycling posts which merely harp uponSteveO
Jun 19, 2002 9:47 AM
non-cycling posters would disappear.
"Sometimes there arent enough rocks."refusenick
Jun 19, 2002 9:49 AM
Second Chance for refusenick (nee refusenik)gregg
Jun 19, 2002 10:26 AM
I have just received an email from refusenik and I have attempted to explain what is and is not allowed on our boards. Not always a well defined item, but I should direct him to Doug's excellent post, The Forum Pact:

Dog "Forum Pact, Part II" 3/26/02 10:49am

Refusenick has asked for a clean slate, and I have obliged. And I have explained that while I don't always see all the abusive/troll posts that go on here, I do NOT single out anybody. Whenever I see, or am alerted to certain posts, I will try to keep the situation in check.

And to all the regulars here (and even the non-regulars, for that matter), please don't hesitate to email me directly at gkato@roadbikereview.com

Thanks all,

-gregg
Double standardSteveO
Jun 19, 2002 10:51 AM
I fully understand that one cannot police all posts/trolls;
however, it seems that criticism of certain individuals is accepted (if not promoted) by the 'regulars'.

Specifically, posters such as Eugene, RRP and Refusnik, who the masses tend to dislike due to differences of opinion, pertinence to cycling, or their (attempts at) humour, are continually insulted and parodied.

This type of monotonous harping provides zero benefit to the cyclist, reinforces the acceptability of off-topic posting, and violates the guidelines which you have provided (specifically: 1. Not employ personal insults, malicious attacks, name calling, foul language;
2. Speak to the issues, not attacking the person;
4. State opinions grounded in fact or reason;
6. Respect other's opinions, no matter how we disagree;
8. Not respond in kind to others not respecting the Pact)

Are there exceptions for bashing/harping on the disliked? I see no benefit to it, nor relevence to cycling.
understand your position...gregg
Jun 19, 2002 12:04 PM
...and one thing I think that you touch on that is true is that the regulars seem to have more lee-way(sp?). And I would have to agree with you. This forum is what it is BECAUSE of the people on it. And if a regular makes a request or suggestion or alert, then "yes", I will pay more attention to it. I understand that this may seem unfair to some people. But I feel that to those who contribute regularly to the board and who have established an identity and relationship with the other regulars here, they should not have to be subjected to pointless flames and snide remarks from a newbie.

Call it a double standard if you want, SteveO, but to me, it is all an attempt to strike a balance, a certain level of harmony, if you will, which is often difficult to achieve and maintain on this thing we call the internet.

-gregg
wanted to add....gregg
Jun 19, 2002 12:08 PM
...that just because I don't delete ALL insults etc...does NOT mean that I condone them. I DO realize though, that in any arena for public interaction, there will be differences of opinion and yes, sometimes, arguments and insults.

Also, regular poster or not, there are still certain things that are not tolerated from anybody.

-g
I think you did the right thingpmf1
Jun 19, 2002 12:15 PM
This guy was really going out of his way to be annoying and not adding anything about cycling. RRP and other "trolls" did have some cycling contant in many of their posts. I did not see that here. You got the guy's attention and gave him a second chance, something everyone deserves.

Insults and minor flame wars are part of this board and often entertaining.

Who doesn't like to see grzy get the bazooka out?
understandSteveO
Jun 19, 2002 12:26 PM
the intention of my post was to cite the hypocricy of some regulars, not your monitoring of the board.

Having said that, it would be nice to see only cycling/bike related posts, despite tenure.

peaceout,

steveo
I think we confuse "regular" with "popular"terry b
Jun 19, 2002 12:35 PM
What is exactly a "regular?" I've been on this forum since the olden days - almost 4 years yet I doubt I would be considered a "regular" since I don't feel compelled to answer every little thing and I could care less about developing internet "friends." So you may be making a leap in thinking that adjusting someone's behavior satisfies anybody more than a precious few.

Many of those "regulars" routinely fill up this space with meaningless crap and I wonder if a "non-regular" complained that there would be any deletion or threats of removal. When a "regular" posts junk, insults others or whatever and someone calls them on it they generally get told "if you don't like it, ignore it." That's the funny thing about double standards like this, they're not often implemented to satisfy the "regulars," they're implemented to satisfy the "popular."
What is exactly a "regular?"...answer:gregg
Jun 20, 2002 8:08 AM
anybody who posts on a regular basis. While I personally may not post a lot on these boards (mainly due to time constraints) myself, I do lurk quite a bit. And it doesn't take long to realize who the "regulars" are. Even over the years. And there are plenty of regulars that come and go and sometimes come back again and again. This is what I perceive to be a regular. Yes, I'm sure there are "regulars" that I am not familiar with, but I know the majority and I maintain email contact with about 5 of the "regulars" here.

And I would have to disagree with you strongly about "regular"="popular". There are plenty of "regulars" on this board who are VERY "unpopular". I won't name names, but if you have been following this board in the last month or so, there are 2 high profile "regulars" I can think of off the top of my head.

Again, to restate, regardless of whether a person is a "regular" or not, there are certain things that are not allowed by anyone. And if a regular crosses the line with a post, that post will be removed the same as a non-regular.

'Tis often a fine line between allowing a free-speech environment and a flame war.

-gregg
Your board your rulesgrandemamou
Jun 19, 2002 11:29 AM
I've got no problem with it. It got so out of hand with RRP that I stopped logging on for a while. The decent posts slid down to the bottom too fast.

It would be nice to think we could police ourselves but thats probably impossible. The Giro spoilers is a prime example. There are just too many casual people dropping in and inadvertantly feeding the trolls.
ctrl - alt - delete refusenick - Forgive it and now forget it.jose_Tex_mex
Jun 19, 2002 12:04 PM
Wouldn't it be great if we could just ctrl-alt-delete the ignorant postings of trolls like refusenick that hang our computers and time?

I say we all forgive and forget refusenick.
Thanks, gregg. nmrideslikeagirl
Jun 19, 2002 12:31 PM
Good job, Gregg , Thanks nmLeroy
Jun 20, 2002 4:38 AM
Somehow, my post was deleted as well, did I miss something?Lone Gunman
Jun 20, 2002 5:35 AM
All I asked was if we had a heckler in the crowd, no profanity, did that question start off a fire fight? It was in the thread about the CC model and pft!! gone.
usually when a post is deleted...gregg
Jun 20, 2002 7:56 AM
...I will delete any responses to that post, since it may be a non-sequitor without the original post.

I remember your post, and it was in response to one of the refusenik posts that I deleted. That's all.

-g