RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Good cycling magazine besides Bicycling(21 posts)

Good cycling magazine besides BicyclingAztecs
Jun 19, 2002 9:21 AM
What is a good cycling magazine besides Bicycling (which I currently subcribe to). Would like something that is Road specific (training tips, reviews). Not interested in pro athletes though.

If you have any links please provide them!

Thanks
Bicycling is not a good magazine.bob_vanderhaus
Jun 19, 2002 9:33 AM
The only time I ever read this magazine is when I am at the airport and pick one up out of sheer desperation for cycling materials. Even though I only probably see 3 issues a year, they all seem identical. "Super calves in 21 days!," "Climb like Lance in 2 months," and "10 ways to make your bike last longer,". It is all just useless garbage IMHO. Go to this site for great reviews, and use books for training tips. I would recommend Arnie Baker, his Smart Cycling is a great book.
Bicycling used to be a great magazine..Miklos
Jun 19, 2002 9:41 AM
four or five years ago. Now it sucks. But I still subscribe. Because it is the only one I know that is both road and mtb. I want the old staff back.

Miklos
It did used to be a lot betterpmf1
Jun 19, 2002 10:11 AM
I remember when they reviewed exotic bikes and actually wrote something intelligent rather than the garbage they write now. I get it free occasionally with my Team Performance membership. It lasts about one bowel movement.

I used to get this mag called Road Bike Review that was great. I recall one issue there they tested differnt types of steel tubing. They had seven identical bikes made of different tubing and had the staff ride and rate them in a blind test. How cool is that? It would be useful to have side by sides on carbon or titanium bikes. Unfortunately, the magazine went under and I began getting this really pathetic POS called Bike. Hopefully thats no longer around. In one issue, they had a photo essay of some guys dressed in labcoats driving down a freeway in a pickup and tossing a bike out the back.

I subscribe to Velonews. It would be nice to have a decent cycling mag. I can't stand that British one.
I actualy foundgrandemamou
Jun 19, 2002 11:17 AM
that issue in a box along with alot of other really cool, long lost cycling stuff.
Ah, that EL-OS bike ...pmf1
Jun 19, 2002 1:01 PM
I never did get around to buying one.

I remember an article in Bicycling years ago where they tested aero wheels by timing a guy who started at the top of a hill and coasted to the bottom. There would be an interesting thing for Bicycling to try. Probably too useful and not as interesting as "Climb Like Lance in 3 Weeks".
You got that rightgrandemamou
Jun 19, 2002 2:05 PM
I think thats why I saved the issue. That Bottechia EL/OS was sweet. I remember calling CC to inquire about it and found out that they were no longer importing it. Oh well.
Non, not even Bicycling nmelviento
Jun 19, 2002 9:39 AM
Your criteria is pretty tough......Dave Hickey
Jun 19, 2002 9:57 AM
Your asking for road training, tips, and reviews but your not interested in Pro's. Here is what's fairly easy to find in the US.
1. Bicycling- you already know about it
2. ProCycling-UK based Good reviews but a lot of pro coverage
3. CycleSport-UK based again Good reviews but mostly pro coverage
4. Cycling+- UK based Closer to Bicycling's format but with a lot more detail and "meat". Downside is they cover more than the road scene. It's much better than Bicycling.

Most Borders or Barnes and Nobles carry all of the above
One more thing.Sintesi
Jun 19, 2002 11:16 AM
Cyclesport has vastly improved its Technical Review section in the last 4-5 months. A lot more gear stuff is being included than before.
Yeah, but:look271
Jun 19, 2002 12:10 PM
You have to remortgage the house to pay for the subscription =0 I've found some useful info @ http://www.roadbikerider.com Former employees of Bicycling when it was GOOD. (Fred Matheny, Ed Pavelka)
yes, this is the best source out there. -nmTig
Jun 19, 2002 12:55 PM
Your criteria is pretty tough......Miklos
Jun 19, 2002 12:37 PM
"4. Cycling" What all does the coverage include that is not road based?

Thanks,
Miklos
Your criteria is pretty tough......Dave Hickey
Jun 19, 2002 12:54 PM
It's actually called Cycling Plus. They also include touring and rec riding. If you have a Borders Books in your area, check it out. It's a very good magazine.

www.cyclingplus.co.uk
Ditto Cycling PlusMe Dot Org
Jun 19, 2002 1:03 PM
Unlike Bicycling, Cycling Plus employs writers capable of using complete sentences. They even have actual articles about things related to road cycling.

It's British, so you see certain products that are not common in the U.S. (Like Thorn). Cannondale is treated like an exotic import. C+ is expensive, but for roadies without an interest in competition, I think it's worth the $$$.
Bicisport rules!pmf1
Jun 19, 2002 1:06 PM
Even if you can't read Italian, the pictures alone are worth it. Its about 2 inches thick and has closeups of hubs and cassettes. Completely psycho. I really considered subscribing, but decided not to because of the fact that the Italian mail system send it to the U.S. I'd be getting my TDF edition in November. Then again, that wouldn't be all bad ...

Last time I was in Rome, I bought one. The street vendor got all excited and started jabbering something about Pantani. He gave me a pretty strange look when it became obvious that I don't speak Italian but was buying an Italian magazine.
Thanks! nmMiklos
Jun 19, 2002 1:24 PM
nm
no speak italianzooog
Jun 19, 2002 2:55 PM
I loved the Italy story...almost lost bladder control from laughing..thanks needed the chuckle
cycling plusmike r
Jun 19, 2002 3:01 PM
they have a forum at
www.cyclingplus.co.uk

good mix of articles, reviews etc. mainly road biking, some touring, cyclocross
VELONEWS!!!!pedaler98
Jun 19, 2002 3:46 PM
Cyclesport and free videohusker
Jun 19, 2002 3:53 PM
Good magazine, also comes with a free (older) video with subscription. Also, a very pretty magazine.