RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Knee pain. Help!(12 posts)

Knee pain. Help!SGrouts
Jun 18, 2002 11:17 AM
Yes, yes i already went to a orthopedic he took x-rays and told me a suffer from chondromalakynsis (i had fluid under the kneecap he said) and ordered rest for two weeks.
I did that one year ago and it passed. But two months ago it happened again. I went again to another doctor and he told me the same (rest) so the pain passed.
Now the pain is back!

I just want your opinion. A bikers opinion who loves road cycling as i do. Perhaps someone of you had the same problem as i do now.

The pain is in front of the left knee and under the kneecap. I dont have pain on bike but afterwards (at recovery).
Sometimes it is paired with a pain at the calf (high behind the knee).
The pain returns after a hard bike workout and it lasts about 3 days (if i rest it).
I have this problem for 6 years and i dont find a resolution (to stop riding is not an option for me...).
One orthopedic (of the 3-4 i visited to examine me) once told me that i should lose weight. That year i was 96 kg, and now i am 86kg but the pain returns.
I ride for 1000-1300 km per month. I am planning to start racing (my big dream) and i am 31 years old.

Any suggestions??

I already raised the saddle a bit and tried all the fitting tips (but the pain comes and goes always at my left knee).

Thanks in advance and sorry for my poor english.

Keep riding...

SGrouts
re: Knee pain. Help!netso
Jun 18, 2002 11:39 AM
Yours is a form of Chondromalacia. This is usually an overuse syndrome, very common with bikers. I would use Ice for 15-20 minutes, nothing for 15-20 minutes, then Ice again for 15-20 minutes. Do this after every major ride. Pain will slowly dissipate. DO NOT USE HEAT!!!! This increases blood flow to the area, which increases the fluid and the pain.
i will just try that...SGrouts
Jun 18, 2002 1:27 PM
thanks for the response

(are you a doctor or you just have experience?)

:)
re: Knee pain. Help!Woof the dog
Jun 18, 2002 5:32 PM
Is it really common among bikers?
no idea, but you may be right.

Does the original poster do any strength training and shit? What about stretching? I learned the hard way how to take care of my knees.

sincerely

Woof the dog.
I stretch for about 20 min everyday but...SGrouts
Jun 18, 2002 7:31 PM
... i dont do any weight training.
Should weights help my condition?

SGrouts.
I stretch for about 20 min everyday but...netso
Jun 19, 2002 2:50 AM
I have an MD and a Ph.d. , but mostly through experience. Weightlifting can help if done properly. I owned a gym and was a competitive bb for over 20 years and one thing I learned with knees is to be cautious. Yes, chondromalacia is common to bikers.
I stretch for about 20 min everyday but...netso
Jun 19, 2002 2:53 AM
Speedplay x2 pedals solved a lot of my problem!
re: Knee pain. Help!DINOSAUR
Jun 18, 2002 1:04 PM
One part of my 60 year old body that hasn't failed me yet is my knees. Part of it is heredity and the other part is I force myself to use that 25 gear when I am climbing. I can climb in the 21 or 23 easily (well, I wouldn't call it "easy") but following the ride my right knee will start to ache and continue for a couple of days unless I gear down. Saddle position can help; up-down, fore-aft, very small 2-3mm adjustments can make a big difference. Also make sure that your pedals have a float and that your cleats are perfectly aligned. Resistance training might help also, but pick the right exercises and don't use real heavy weight. I also found a good milage base and if I start to exceed that amount I start having problems. Sounds like an overuse problem. Try cutting back on your miles and shoot for intensity, don't be a mileage junky...I found with injuries you are kind of on your own, you have to do research and educate yourself about your injury....
The Solutionrefusenik
Jun 18, 2002 3:55 PM
Amputate.

No more pain under the knee cap in the front.

Then you get one of those carbon prosthetics.

This will work I tell you.
re: Knee pain. Help!TPC
Jun 18, 2002 7:24 PM
I'm in the same boat, only worse. My chondromalacia started almost 4 months ago. It got so bad i couldn't walk. I still can't bike for more than 5 minutes without pain. Despite almost $3000 in medical bills (MRI, physical therapy, etc.etc.) my knee is still funked up (but at least i can now walk without a limp).

My only advice is this: Absolutly no one, including doctors, therapists, etc., have a damn clue what the hell it is they are doing. There is no 'right answer' to your problem.
re: Knee pain. Help!Leisure
Jun 18, 2002 11:46 PM
"My only advice is this: Absolutly no one, including doctors, therapists, etc., have a damn clue what the hell it is they are doing. There is no 'right answer' to your problem."

Truly sad it is how often it is true.

Everyone seems to have good suggestions worth trying. Adding to that: pay close attention to anything that feels even remotely irritating when you're riding. Also, maybe more time dedicated to cooling down, pedaling about at <10 mph on level ground in your easiest gear, before and after each ride or when you're sitting around doing nothing. Ease into your workouts. Warming up muscles doesn't always warm up joints. Try it all, do what feels good.
One thing I haven't seen mentioned is to elevate the leg. I hadPaul
Jun 19, 2002 3:06 AM
a similar problem, and was told to ice it (like it was mentioned). And also to elevate the leg. I never had this problem before, and it only bothered me after a ride. I would get intense pain when sitting, and when the leg was bent. It took over three months before it went away. Some fluid buildup, and a sprain in the ligament below the knee cap.

Does this just happen in cold weather, or any time? Cold weather always bothers my knees. I put a salve that has red pepper in it to generate heat. This really helps.

Good luck, and try to take it easy when it bothers you. Pushing yourself when hurt will lessen your riding ability.